• Fiona McIntosh: Voyager Author of the Month

    Fiona McIntosh was born and raised in Sussex in the UK, but also spent early childhood years in West Africa. She left a PR career in London to travel and settled in Australia in 1980. She has since roamed the world working for her own travel publishing company, which she runs with her husband. She lives in Adelaide with her husband and twin sons. Her website is at www.fionamcintosh.com.

    Her latest book, The Scrivener's Tale, is a stand-alone and takes us back to the world of Morgravia from her very first series, The Quickening:


    About The Scrivener's Tale:

    In the bookshops and cafes of present-day Paris, ex-psychologist Gabe Figaret is trying to put his shattered life back together. When another doctor, Reynard, asks him to help with a delusional female patient, Gabe is reluctant... until he meets her. At first Gabe thinks the woman, Angelina, is merely terrified of Reynard, but he quickly discovers she is not quite what she seems.

    As his relationship with Angelina deepens, Gabe's life in Paris becomes increasingly unstable. He senses a presence watching and following every move he makes, and yet he finds Angelina increasingly irresistible.

    When Angelina tells Gabe he must kill her and flee to a place she calls Morgravia, he is horrified. But then Angelina shows him that the cathedral he has dreamt about since childhood is real and exists in Morgravia.

    A special 10th Anniversary edition of her first fantasy book, Myrren's Gift, will be released in December!

     

     

The Way of the Sword – Kim Falconer blogs

Strong narrative flows naturally when a writer sticks to what they know. For example, how can an author discuss the psycho-sexual history of the Bay of Pigs if they have no qualifications? But fantasy is different. The very word implies a certain creative license, or so I thought.

The Spell of Rosette

The new book from Kim Falconer

Five years ago, when The Spell of Rosette was in her infancy, I showed some chapters to an author friend. I felt so nervous, hoping she would love it yet bracing for a critique. She’s very analytical. She’s also a sensei in a Japanese sword tradition, Hokushin Shinoh Ryu Iaido. A few weeks after handing over the pages, she came back with a single comment. ‘Brilliant story Kim but you don’t know shit about the sword.’

Her response shocked me. I thought I knew plenty about the sword. I’d watched ‘Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon’ at least ten times and saw Kill Bill on the big screen twice. Could my sword scenes really be that bad? She assured me they were. She also invited me to train with her and I had the privilege of learning a most remarkable and deadly art form from a master. Iaido (ee-I-doe) is the way of the peaceful warrior, the ancient Japanese art of drawing the sword and cutting in a single movement. Don’t be fooled by peaceful. It refers only to the warrior’s state of mind. Iaido was created hundreds of years ago for the physical and mental discipline of the Samurai before battle. As her student I was taught techniques against single and multiple attackers, against spears and armour. I learned the same traditional ‘wazas’ that have been handed down for centuries among the samurai.

I now train on my own, usually at the beach though I have broken a few lamps on rainy days. The cats quietly leave the room when I get out my Hakama (traditionally clothing) and don my sword to choreograph scenes for the Quantum Enchantment series. (BTW, Tim Miller has a good point when he says the twirling sword fighter who flourishes her blade often ends up dead at the feet of the experienced fighter, but in my worlds we also flow energy into the blade turning it into a conduit for magic.) I will admit some of my character’s moves are extraordinary but I promise, I’ve done every one of them myself.

Kim Falconer practising for her next book!

Kim Falconer practising for her next book!

My reward for following the way of the sword, besides empowerment, came when Stephanie Smith and I discussed my manuscript for the first time. She said, ‘Kim, your sword fighting is very authentic.’ I beamed! It really does pay to write what you know! Questions and comments most welcome.

Kim Falconer is the author of The Spell of Rosette, which comes out in just eight days! Kim’s new website is also up and running, so make sure you take a look. And Traci Harding fans take note:

‘At last — a writer who is right up my alley. This debut novel from Kim Falconer is a magnum opus of originality and insight into Earth’s technological future and occult past. This intricate and intriguing tale perfectly blends the physical, quantum, cyber and spiritual realms into one of the best fantasy books I’ve read in ages!’ Traci Harding, author of The Ancient Future