• Fiona McIntosh: Voyager Author of the Month

    Fiona McIntosh was born and raised in Sussex in the UK, but also spent early childhood years in West Africa. She left a PR career in London to travel and settled in Australia in 1980. She has since roamed the world working for her own travel publishing company, which she runs with her husband. She lives in Adelaide with her husband and twin sons. Her website is at www.fionamcintosh.com.

    Her latest book, The Scrivener's Tale, is a stand-alone and takes us back to the world of Morgravia from her very first series, The Quickening:


    About The Scrivener's Tale:

    In the bookshops and cafes of present-day Paris, ex-psychologist Gabe Figaret is trying to put his shattered life back together. When another doctor, Reynard, asks him to help with a delusional female patient, Gabe is reluctant... until he meets her. At first Gabe thinks the woman, Angelina, is merely terrified of Reynard, but he quickly discovers she is not quite what she seems.

    As his relationship with Angelina deepens, Gabe's life in Paris becomes increasingly unstable. He senses a presence watching and following every move he makes, and yet he finds Angelina increasingly irresistible.

    When Angelina tells Gabe he must kill her and flee to a place she calls Morgravia, he is horrified. But then Angelina shows him that the cathedral he has dreamt about since childhood is real and exists in Morgravia.

    A special 10th Anniversary edition of her first fantasy book, Myrren's Gift, will be released in December!

     

     

Reviews & Media

Welcome to the Reviews & Media page on the Voyager blog, with links to online reviews, and quotes from soft copy reviews.

The Wounded Guardian by Duncan Lay

MX had an article on Duncan and his train-writing on Thursday 22 July. Full story reproduced at Duncan’s blog here.

The Sunday Telegraph wrote an article on Duncan, also on his writing on trains – the 7:33am from Gosford, full story here.

Chris Hook of The Daily Telegraph talks about how Duncan met Raymond E Feist … ‘IT WAS a coffee with one of the world’s top fantasy writers that fired Duncan Lay’s creative spirit. The Sydney writer was editing a local paper in 2002 and Raymond E. Feist, author of novels such as the Conclave Of Shadows was touring the area. Lay grabbed him for an interview.’ Read full article.

The Gene Thieves by Maria Quinn

A fantastic review of The Gene Thieves by Maria Quinn appeared in the Spectrum section of the SMH on April 25: ‘The plot of this gripping and well-crafted futuristic novel is driven by the possibilities and ethical dilemmas of reproductive technology … Quinn uses her plot, her setting and especially her vividly drawn characters to explore ideas about reproduction, sexuality, surrogacy …’

‘Although The Gene Thieves does has a very compelling story to tell, for me the book’s greatest strength is the cast of memorable characters that made me want to delay finishing the book for as long as possible, for I knew I would miss them all when I turned the last page – and this has certainly been the case.’ — Deborah Robinson, Australian Women Online, March 12, 2009

‘The story never gets boring, the science is clearly explained where necessary, the characters are skilfully drawn and believable.’ Bob Estreich, Volume 2 No.2 (2009) of Synergy Magazine.

The Gene Thieves is engaging and thought provoking.’ — Lawyers Weekly (and who knew they had a weekly? Not me) have given Maria Quinn’s debut novel The Gene Thieves a warm reception.

The Nile (click for full review) have a dream review up for The Gene Thieves: ‘This is a chronicle of where science, malice, heroism and passion may one day take us. Recommended unreservedly.’

‘Something for everyone here: part science fiction, part family drama, part mystery, part geo-political thriller … [Maria Quinn] weaves each element together seamlessly, all the while never losing sight of the endearingly normal humans at the core of her tale … science fiction at its most engaging’ aurealisXpress on The Gene Thieves by Maria Quinn (March 09)

The Accidental Sorcerer by K E Mills

‘Gerald Dunwoody, the Accidental Sorcerer, is back in another hilarious escapade. Replete with imagination and intelligently dry humour, Witches Incorporated, the second Rogue Agent novel, is another irreverent, adventure filled yarn … The result is that Witches Incorporated is entertaining, wise, lovingly crafted, and has everything to recommend it as a thoroughly enjoyable read’ wrote Independent Weekly on Witches Incorporated by K E Mills.

Niki Bruce’s review of Witches Incorporated, beautifully entitled Wands at 20 paces says: ‘ … a joyful story of friendship, romance and adventure. It’s beautifully written with action from start to finish and endearing characters.’

More on Karen:

A review of The Riven Kingdom was published in the latest Hub Magazine. ‘The strength of the characters and writing are excellent and never waver. This is an anjoyable read …’ Go to the Hub Magazine Issue#84 for the full review.

Hammer of God…in 60 Seconds – an interview with Karen Miller about the Godspeaker trilogy, over at Tor.com – with extremely interesting insights into the themes of the book: ‘The basic idea of the trilogy arose out of Miller’s interest in religion, and the impact of religion on ordinary people, and how it can be used as a terrible weapon or a gift of solace in hard times.’

The Immortal Prince by Jennifer Fallon

This book is awesome! Character driven, an elegantly complex plot and a unique concept – learning about immortals. You couldn’t ask for more! Jennifer Fallon is one of the greatest fantasy authors of this age. — All Books Great And Small on The Immortal Prince by Jennifer Fallon.

An early review of Jennifer Fallon‘s The Chaos Crystal shows that the final book in the Tide Lords series will not disappoint: ‘The Chaos Crystal is the perfect ending to this bestselling series. Short of a miracle, no one will be able to predict what happens in this thrilling and totally un-put-downable read.’ Click here for the full review.

The Spell of Rosette by Kim Falconer

Kim Falconer has given an interview with California Reiki — a beautiful meditation on the practice of Iaido, the development of hara, The Spell of Rosette and more.

A review of The Spell of Rosette by Kim Falconer says ‘Discussions of quantum computing and the hole in the ozone layer sit alongside astrology, telepathy and witchcraft. The author manages to carry off this unlikely combination remarkably well … a promising first book (in a projected series) that will appeal to fans of both Sara Douglass and Sean Williams.’ – Australian Bookseller & Publisher

‘At last — a writer who is right up my alley. This debut novel from Kim Falconer is a magnum opus of originality and insight into Earth’s technological future and occult past. This intricate and intriguing tale perfectly blends the physical, quantum, cyber and spiritual realms into one of the best fantasy books I’ve read in ages!’ Traci Harding, author of The Ancient Future

More reviews & media on Voyager authors

New release overseas: Russell Kirkpatrick’s Across the Face of the World has debuted strongly in the US, which is great for Russell’s worldwide fans.

A review of The Game Players of Titan by Philip K Dick appeared on the Reader’s Plus blog.

On Little Brother by Cory Doctorow ‘Thought-provoking … [Little Brother] might just encourage readers to be more politically savvy and engaged’ – Sydney Morning Herald

‘A story well worth reading’ – Courier Mail

On Empire of Ivory by Naomi Novik: ‘It isn’t easy to come up with something new in dragon fiction, but Novik certainly has. Her inventiveness, strong characterisation and the clarity and precision of her storytelling look set to make this series a fantasy classic’ – The Age, January 2009

There’s a great interview with Angela Slatter here, talking about the Aurealis Awards and Dreaming Again.

A review of Royal Exile by Fiona McIntosh appears online at theage.com.au – Click here to go to the review.

The Sydney Writers’ Centre has a podcast interview with Fiona McIntosh. Click here for the podcast.

Kim Westwood‘s The Daughters of Moab has been reviewed by several papers and online sites:

‘Westwood is a stylist, with a line in lyricism and a nice sense of humour … The Daughters of Moab is a richly peopled landscape …’ – The Age

Listen to a podcast interview with Kim from Terra Incognita

Click here for The Courier Mail review

Click here for The Cairns Post review

Click here for the A Boy Goes On A Journey review

Click here for the Grey Door Books review

More to come!

Advertisements

2 Responses

  1. I am trying to reach a Real Person to request a review copy of A Dance with Dragons, if any are available for The Specusphere. Perhaps you’ve had a huge staff turnover, or maybe the mail system is down, but three different addresses have bounced so far!

    Can you please pass this message on to the correct publicity officer? satimaflavell at optusnet dot com dot au

    • Hi Satima,
      I tried replying to your email address ( satimaflavell@optusnet.com.au ), but it doesn’t seem to work..? Unfortunately Dance With Dragons is embargoed and we can’t send out reading copies for now. If I haven’t got your email address correct, please let me know and I can ensure our publicity team know to get in contact with you if we do receive reading copies.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: