• Fiona McIntosh: Voyager Author of the Month

    Fiona McIntosh was born and raised in Sussex in the UK, but also spent early childhood years in West Africa. She left a PR career in London to travel and settled in Australia in 1980. She has since roamed the world working for her own travel publishing company, which she runs with her husband. She lives in Adelaide with her husband and twin sons. Her website is at www.fionamcintosh.com.

    Her latest book, The Scrivener's Tale, is a stand-alone and takes us back to the world of Morgravia from her very first series, The Quickening:

    About The Scrivener's Tale:

    In the bookshops and cafes of present-day Paris, ex-psychologist Gabe Figaret is trying to put his shattered life back together. When another doctor, Reynard, asks him to help with a delusional female patient, Gabe is reluctant... until he meets her. At first Gabe thinks the woman, Angelina, is merely terrified of Reynard, but he quickly discovers she is not quite what she seems.

    As his relationship with Angelina deepens, Gabe's life in Paris becomes increasingly unstable. He senses a presence watching and following every move he makes, and yet he finds Angelina increasingly irresistible.

    When Angelina tells Gabe he must kill her and flee to a place she calls Morgravia, he is horrified. But then Angelina shows him that the cathedral he has dreamt about since childhood is real and exists in Morgravia.

    A special 10th Anniversary edition of her first fantasy book, Myrren's Gift, will be released in December!



2010: the year of amazing sequels

Here’s a list of some of the glorious sequels we’re expecting in 2010:

The Risen Queen by Duncan Lay – out now!
Sequel to: The Wounded Guardian (The Dragon Sword Histories)

Earth to Hell by Kylie Chan – out now!
First book in the Journey to Wudang trilogy, following the Dark Heavens trilogy

At the Gates of Darkness by Raymond E Feist – out now!
Sequel to: Rides a Dread Legion (Demonwar Saga)


Griffin’s Flight by K J Taylor
Sequel to: The Dark Griffin (The Fallen Moon trilogy)

Strange Attractors by Kim Falconer
Completing the Quantum Enchantment trilogy and following Arrows of Time 

Wizard Squared by K E Mills
Last book of the Rogue Agent trilogy, following Witches Incorporated


Stormlord Rising by Glenda Larke
Sequel to The Last Stormlord (Watergivers trilogy)

Dragon Haven by Robin Hobb
Sequel to The Dragon Keeper (The Rain Wild Chronicles)

The Desert Spear by Peter V Brett
Sequel to The Painted Man (The Demon Cycle)


Shalador’s Lady by Anne Bishop
The follow up to The Shadow Queen


The Infinity Gate by Sara Douglass
Completing the Darkglass Mountain trilogy and following Twisted Citadel


The Reluctant Mage by Karen Miller
Sequel to The Prodigal Mage (Fisherman’s Children series)

We’ll have a list of our upcoming debut novels this year coming soon, in the mean time, we hope you’ve got plenty to look forward to!


The Shadow Queen

Anne Bishop returns to the world of The Black Jewels with her best story yet, The Shadow Queen. Already on the New York Times bestseller list, The Shadow Queen is a gripping story of history and family secrets from an author at the top of her form, writing in one of the most popular worlds in fantasy fiction.

Voyager is giving you the chance to win one of 3 Anne Bishop packs including The Shadow Queen, Dreams Made Flesh, Tangled Webs and The Invisible Ring. Just answer the following question in 25 words or less:

Who is your favourite character in the Black Jewels world and why? Email your answer to voyager @ harpercollins.com.au

*Remember to include your name and address details.

The competition is only open to Australian residents.

Click for competition terms and conditions

Lighting the dark: Anne Bishop on The Shadow Queen


Can she rise above the disappointed expectations of others?

Can Cassidy rise above the disappointed expectations of others to be a true Queen?

I have no clever explanation for how a place like the Realms came to be, or how a beautiful shell named Daemon Sadi took on the weight of personality and personal history to become a living, breathing man on the page. That’s magic, a kind of alchemy that happens when the mind and the Muse meet in the land of Story.

It’s a slow magic. Sometimes it takes months, even years, for a shell to become more than a name vaguely connected to a story idea.

Take Theran and Cassidy. Their shells have been around since I wrote *The Invisible Ring.* Then, all I knew about them was that Theran was a descendant of Jared and Lia, and Cassidy had red hair and hazel eyes.

That’s all I knew about them for years. So I explored other worlds, wrote other stories. I circled back to them from time to time, and each time I had a sense of them gaining a little weight, a little substance. And then one day they were ready to have their story told.

But I didn’t know them. We were acquaintances at that point. I knew the wants and needs that compelled them to take this journey, but I didn’t *know* them until I met them on the page and began to tell their story. That’s when I learned that they weren’t who I thought they were, and the story I was telling was so much more than the simple idea I’d started with years ago.

When I begin a story, I promise the characters that I will tell their story without judgment–that I will let them be who and what they really are. I record their struggles, their failures and, hopefully, their triumphs. As I meet them on the page day after day, they become more than the list of details that had shaped the initial shell. They become people who make me laugh, make me cry, make me angry, make me cheer. They take me outside of myself, and by doing so, let me explore another facet of the heart.

And isn’t that what Story is all about?

So here are Theran and Cassidy–shells who came to life on the page. May they walk through your heart as they walk through mine.

Anne Bishop

The Shadow Queen
by Anne Bishop is now out across Australia.

Anne Bishop is the author of the Black Jewels trilogy, the Ephemera duology and the Tir Alainn trilogy, as well as numerous books set in the world of the Black Jewels.