• Fiona McIntosh: Voyager Author of the Month

    Fiona McIntosh was born and raised in Sussex in the UK, but also spent early childhood years in West Africa. She left a PR career in London to travel and settled in Australia in 1980. She has since roamed the world working for her own travel publishing company, which she runs with her husband. She lives in Adelaide with her husband and twin sons. Her website is at www.fionamcintosh.com.

    Her latest book, The Scrivener's Tale, is a stand-alone and takes us back to the world of Morgravia from her very first series, The Quickening:


    About The Scrivener's Tale:

    In the bookshops and cafes of present-day Paris, ex-psychologist Gabe Figaret is trying to put his shattered life back together. When another doctor, Reynard, asks him to help with a delusional female patient, Gabe is reluctant... until he meets her. At first Gabe thinks the woman, Angelina, is merely terrified of Reynard, but he quickly discovers she is not quite what she seems.

    As his relationship with Angelina deepens, Gabe's life in Paris becomes increasingly unstable. He senses a presence watching and following every move he makes, and yet he finds Angelina increasingly irresistible.

    When Angelina tells Gabe he must kill her and flee to a place she calls Morgravia, he is horrified. But then Angelina shows him that the cathedral he has dreamt about since childhood is real and exists in Morgravia.

    A special 10th Anniversary edition of her first fantasy book, Myrren's Gift, will be released in December!

     

     

  • Advertisements

The David Gemmell Awards – Vote now!

There are Voyager authors listed in every division of the David Gemmell Awards, so please get your vote on and show them some support!

The Ravenheart Award

Frank Victoria for the cover art of Tymon’s Flight by Mary Victoria

Olof Erla Einarsdottir – for the cover of Power & Majesty by Tansy Rayner Roberts

Vote

 

The Legend Award

The Desert Spear by Peter V Brett

Vote

The Morningstar Award

Mary Victoria for Tymon’s Flight

Blake Charlton for Spellwright

Vote

 

Advertisements

Win a Voyager Christmas Gift Pack worth over $200!

It’s nearly Christmas and Voyager has the most fabulous present to put under the tree.  We’re celebrating the year that was with this awesome prize pack of some of our best and brightest stars of 2010. Begin a new adventure with the following books that are sure to keep you occupied all summer long:

Secret Ones by Nicole Murphy
Diamond Eyes By AA Bell
Path of the Stray by Kim Falconer
Unholy Ghosts by Stacia Kane
Tymon’s Flight by Mary Victoria
Spellwright by Blake Charlton
Slave of Sondelle by Bevan McGuiness
Pilgrims by Will Elliott
Power and Majesty by Tansy Rayner Roberts
Being of the Field by Traci Harding

One lucky winner will win them all while 4 runners will receive the book of their choice from this collection.  To win answer the following question in 25 words or less:

What book are you most looking forward to reading in 2011 and why?

Email your answers to promotions@harpercollins.com.au by 5:00pm on Friday 17th December!

Need some inspiration? Check out some 2011 sneak peeks here

The Devil’s Diadem by Sara Douglass
Heaven to Wudang by Kylie Chan
Hounded by Kevin Hearne
Power Unbound by Nicole Murphy
Road to the Soul by Kim Falconer
Samiha’s Song by Mary Victoria
Seventh Wave by Paul Garrety
Shattered City by Tansy Rayner Roberts
Twilight’s Dawn by Anne Bishop
Undivided by Jennifer Fallon

Competition terms and conditions

  1. Information on how to enter forms part of the terms and conditions of entry. Promoter is HarperCollins Publishers Pty Limited ABN 36 009 913 517, 25 Ryde Road, Pymble NSW 2073, Australia.
  2. Competition closes at 5pm Friday 17th December 2010 (AEST).
  3. Entry is open to Australian & New Zealand residents only.
  4. Entry is closed to employees (and their immediate families), agencies or trade customers of HarperCollins Publishers Pty Ltd and its associated companies.
  5. All entries are via e-mail only. The competition requires entrants to answer a question.
  6. Entries close 5pm Friday 17th December 2010 (AEST) and entrants may enter one (1) time only.
  7. This is a game of skill in which chance plays no part.
  8. The judge’s decision in relation to any aspect of this competition is final and no correspondence will be entered into.
  9. First prize consists of a copy of Secret Ones, Diamond Eyes, Path of the Stray, Unholy Ghosts, Tymon’s Flight, Spellwright, Slave of Sondelle, Pilgrims, Power and Majesty, Being of the Field. Four runners up will receive a copy of a book of their choice from the above list.
  10. Prize is not transferable or redeemable for cash.
  11. All prizes will be awarded. The prize will be awarded the business day following the competition closing date, 5pm Friday 17th December 2010 (AEST) at 25 Ryde Road, Pymble NSW 2073.
  12. The cost of entering the competition is limited to the cost of individuals telephone charges and Internet access rates.
  13. The promoter shall not be liable for any loss or damage whatsoever suffered (including but not limited to direct or consequential loss) or personal injury suffered or sustained in relation to use of this prize.
  14. All entries received remain the property of HarperCollins Pty Ltd and may be used for additional promotions.

How JRR Tolkien’s Modern English Helped Inspire Blake Charlton’s Spellwright

When language holds extraordinary power ... you want to get your spelling right!

Most fantasy readers know that Tolkien invented his own languages, drawing from his knowledge of Old English, Old Norse, Finnish, and Welsh. Fewer readers realize that he dreamt up his stories of Middle-earth for his languages, not the other way around.

The invention of languages is the foundation. The ‘stories’ were made rather to provide a world for the languages than the reverse. To me a name comes first and the story follows. (Letters p.219)

When I first discovered this, it made me queasy. I’d found Tolkien’s untranslated passages of Quenya or Sindarin to be beautiful, certainly. They commanded my admiration for their intricacy, beautiful calligraphy, and linguistic viability. But I loved Tolkien’s work, not for his use of invented languages, but for his use of English. It was the characters and stories as told in modern English that touched me. And yet here I had discovered that Tolkien felt that they were derivative from—and therefore seemingly less important than—his synthesized languages. That’s not to say I thought he disregarded characters or story; clearly he had a masterful control and appreciation of both. But still, that he should exalt synthetic language over character upset me. Tolkien is the Homer of our literary tradition. Would Homer have honored another language above his Greek? The more I thought about this, the more it bothered me. Continue reading

Writing spells with Blake Charlton

The Specusphere’s Astrid Cooper has interviewed author Blake Charlton on Spellwright, which hits bookshops in Australia this week.
Click here to read the interview.

“Nicodemus Weal is a protagonist that all of us can identify with. SPELLWRIGHT features a unique system of magic and characters that are genuine inhabitants of that world. SPELLWRIGHT is a letter-perfect story: an absorbing read and recommended.” Robin Hobb


Browse Inside this book
Get this for your site

Listen to a reading from Spellwright

When language holds extraordinary power ... you want to get your spelling right!

Click the link below to listen to Blake Charlton read from the Prologue and first four chapters of Spellwright, which will be available in April from Voyager.

Spellwright Audio Sample from Blake Charlton on Vimeo.

Profisize to winn a kopi ov Spellwright!

In February one of the most hotly anticipated new stars of fantasy delivers his first novel: Spellwright.

Blake Charlton has already attracted praise from some of the biggest names in fantasy fiction including Tad Williams, Robin Hobb and Kevin J. Anderson, for his highly original and engaging debut.

Set in a fantasy world where language holds extraordinary power, this book is perfect for fans of Robin Hobb and Tad Williams.

When language holds extraordinary power ... you want to get your spelling right!

In a world where words can come to life, an inability to spell can be a dangerous thing. And no one knows this better than apprentice wizard Nicodemus Weal.

Nicodemus is a cacographer, unable to reproduce even simple magical texts without ‘misspelling’ – a mistake which can have deadly consequences. He was supposed to be the Halcyon, a magic-user of unsurpassed power, destined to save the world; instead he is restricted to menial tasks, and mocked for his failure to live up to the prophecy.

But not everyone interprets prophecy in the same way. There are some factions who believe a cacographer such as Nicodemus could hold great power – power that might be used as easily for evil as for good. And when two of the wizards closest to Nicodemus are found dead, it becomes clear that some of those factions will stop at nothing to find the apprentice and bend him to their will…

’Nicodemus Weal is a protagonist that all of us can identify with. SPELLWRIGHT is a letter-perfect story: an absorbing read and recommended.’ Robin Hobb

Voyager is giving readers the chance to win one of five copies. For your chance to win simply answer the following question in 25 words or less:

What is your prophecy for 2010 and why? You can either email your answer to voyager@harpercollins.com.au (putting ‘Spellwright’ in the subject) or post a comment here.

Terms and conditions are here. The competition is only open to Australian residents.