• Fiona McIntosh: Voyager Author of the Month

    Fiona McIntosh was born and raised in Sussex in the UK, but also spent early childhood years in West Africa. She left a PR career in London to travel and settled in Australia in 1980. She has since roamed the world working for her own travel publishing company, which she runs with her husband. She lives in Adelaide with her husband and twin sons. Her website is at www.fionamcintosh.com.

    Her latest book, The Scrivener's Tale, is a stand-alone and takes us back to the world of Morgravia from her very first series, The Quickening:


    About The Scrivener's Tale:

    In the bookshops and cafes of present-day Paris, ex-psychologist Gabe Figaret is trying to put his shattered life back together. When another doctor, Reynard, asks him to help with a delusional female patient, Gabe is reluctant... until he meets her. At first Gabe thinks the woman, Angelina, is merely terrified of Reynard, but he quickly discovers she is not quite what she seems.

    As his relationship with Angelina deepens, Gabe's life in Paris becomes increasingly unstable. He senses a presence watching and following every move he makes, and yet he finds Angelina increasingly irresistible.

    When Angelina tells Gabe he must kill her and flee to a place she calls Morgravia, he is horrified. But then Angelina shows him that the cathedral he has dreamt about since childhood is real and exists in Morgravia.

    A special 10th Anniversary edition of her first fantasy book, Myrren's Gift, will be released in December!

     

     

Win a series set signed by Sara Douglass

Which of Sara’s series is your favourite? The original Axis trilogy? The Troy Game? To help celebrate Sara’s body of work and her enormous impact and influence on Australian spec-fiction we’re offering to giveway a special signed set of your favourite series!

To enter, simply tell us about your favourite Sara Douglass series and why it means so much to you. We’ll choose a winner next Friday, so you’ve got whole week to decide. Sorry guys, we can only send prizes inside Australia, so you’ll have to have an Australian address to win.

12 Responses

  1. BattleAxe (followed by the rest of the Axis trilogy) was my first and favourite. I had only recently got into fantasy as a 19/20 year old, and was searching for a new author after devouring Feist, Eddings and McCaffrey. I found Sara Douglass on the bookshop shelf and was terribly impressed to see that Australians (and WESTERN Australians, no less!) wrote this sort of thing too! I was young, gimme a break 🙂 Sara’s work led me to so many more wonderful Australian authors, many of whom I now know and have published myself (in short form). She was a pioneer for Aussie writers, particularly Aussie FEMALE writers, and could tell a great yarn.

  2. I have loved them all and the choice is tough! But I would have to say the troy game, I have read it multiple times and the character development is phenomenal and the conflict it causes the reader over how to react to each person, who is good and who is bad is amazing! Completely captured me every time I have read it!

  3. My favourite would have to be The Crucible. It has everything! Fantasy, science fiction, historical fiction! The unconventional choice of protagonist and the way she approached everything has made it stay in my mind for years, and probably will so for many, many more years to come. Though I do love her other work just as much, this series has lasted with me in a different way.

    Sara Douglass is the reason I started reading fantasy ravenously, as a friend gave me BattleAxe to read and it was really the first epic fantasy series I had ever read. From there I devoured most of the current Australian fantasy we have to offer, and began going to conventions (to meet said authors), and wrote my own books even more furiously. And became a judge for the Aurealis Awards. And started reviewing for publishers in Australia and overseas.

    I could go on, but basically, it’s all thanks to Sara that I am who I am today – I’m still devastated I never got the chance to tell her that.

  4. Without a doubt her last big fantasy novel, The Devil’s Diadem.
    All her fans knew that she was dying from ovarian cancer as she wrote this wonderful tale and you can tell Sara was drawing on her on her own and her mother’s cancer experiences. The death scene of the heroine Maeb as she lays dying is so raw, so real, so unbearable and heart wrenching and laced with personal insights.
    I came to know Sara many years ago from her blogs where I read but was too shy to join in.
    Her books had held a place of honour in our house for many years as I bought them for my teenage boys, never managing to find the time to read them myself.
    Later thru FaceBook we established a contact and it developed into a friendship. As a secondary Humanities teacher she was very interested in my students and how/what they were learning.
    One class in particular bonded and write to her, sending her drawings and gifts as she got sicker.
    Many took up reading her novels and as we are a poor school I hunted down second hand book shops to provide the library with her novels.
    To win a set of her novels would be a dream come true and I could give up my own to the school library to complete the set.
    The Devil’s Diadem has all Sara’s superior writing skills. You just couldnt put it down as she pulled you in to her magic world laced with history and fantasy.
    So seemless and believable was her style that you forgot it was even a novel dealing with magic and falloways and the like, it all seemed perfectly normal.
    Her historical research about the plague and the upheaval it had on medieval society was thorough and exposed her readers to learning history in a exciting and informative way. The depth of her characters made bonding with them an easy task
    There is no other writer that comes close to her talent.
    Her characters literally became so alive they leapt out of the pages at you.
    She was a Renaissance woman, many things to everyone and they broke the mold when she was born.
    The final reason why DD is a standout is that her best friend Karen Brooks read out a passage from this book at her cremation in the grounds of her lovely garden in Hobart on the 29.9.2011(page 511).
    We toasted her passing yesterday and will mourn her loss to eternity.

  5. Troy Game., followed very closely by The Crucible. I love the history combined with fantasy. I have just started reading the Hall of Lost Footsteps as I haven’t been able to face it up till now. Many bubbles were drunk to celebrate the wonderful person she was & how deeply she is missed.

  6. When the first page of a series grabs you how can you decide which book you like the best. Page 1 of Battleaxe grabbed me and I was hooked on every book she wrote after that. Partial to DarkGlass Mountain and also The Devil’s Diadem. Sadly have just finished The Hall of Lost Footsteps. Sad because it is the last book of a wonderful author.

  7. The Troy Game. It was my first series by Sara and remains my favourite by her, and my favourite series of books overall. It was my first foray into adult fantasy when I was 12, when I saw the big just-published hardcover of God’s Concubine as I wandered into the fantasy section of Dymocks. And when I read the back of Hades’ Daughter, I wanted to read it, and from the first page about Ariadne, I knew I loved it.

    To me, the Troy Game represents everything I love about Sara and her books and has the most memories. The intricacy, the amazing writing, the raw emotions, the characters that you love and hate and want to reach into the books to shake some sense into and swear at, and the passion for writing that you can just sense as you read her words. And the amazing thing where you think you understand everything and you know where it’s going… and then you realise that you’ve just been led by the nose by Sara for the first three quarters of the book and you have to go back and reread the first three quarters and realise just how skillfully she planned and wrote /everything/ and wonder how you were such an idiot to fall for her trickery time and time again.

    The Troy Game made me really realise my love for historical fantasy and even years on now, still inspires me when I read it. My copies of The Troy Game are… in an interesting state, with tear stains from when I’ve gotten caught up in everything Sara’s written, random creases from where I’ve gripped the pages so hard and scuffing and tears on the hard covers and dust jackets, from being carted to and from and around school, to be read at every spare moment I could find during the day (even if they were big hardcovers). And maybe a few teeth marks from being so absolutely frustrated and emotionally invested in everything that I’ve literally bitten the corner of the book. No other series or single books have done that for me.

    I’ve loved, and still love every second of these books. From the first paperback copy of Hades’ Daughter to the newly published hard cover Druid’s Sword that I actually squealed over in the store when I saw it and spent $50 of my hard-saved money on as a jobless 14 year old. And I’ve had no regrets about diving into the world of Sara and everything it’s brought me. From the inspiration to the tears and the appreciation of a lot more. And eight years on from that first discovery of Sara and her world, it still has the same magic and emotional impact for me as it did the first time around.

  8. Certainly The Axis Trilogy is my all time best, followed by the Redemption. These marvelous series were the ones which started my love of epic fantasy. So far I have re-read both of them three times and continue to do so. Sara’s characters and creations became so real to me, as too her wonderful world and it’s storyline which is full of action, love, adversity and wonder.

    May she soar high and walk in her fields of flowers.

    Miss you Sara.

  9. Honestly? I have never actually read her work, at all. But I am very keen to.

  10. I love everything Sara has written, and I would have said the Crubicle series … until Darklass Mountain was written. The way the last series pulled together so many plots and characters from so many different books – the Axis/Wayfarer trilogies, and both the individual novels of Threshold and Beyond the Hanging Wall – was nothing short of pure visionary genius and passion!
    It is heartbreaking that we will never see further into these special and favorite worlds that Sara created (well, apart from our own imaginations), but I am so grateful that we were able to experience so much of them …

  11. I love everything Sara has written, and I would have said the Crucible series …. until Darkglass Mountain was written. The way plots and characters from previous books – including not only the Axis/Wayfarer trilogies but both the individual novels of Threshold and Beyond the Hanging Wall – were united was nothing short of pure visionary genius and passion!
    It is heartbreaking that we will never know more about these special and most favorite worlds that Sara created, but I am so grateful that we were able to enjoy, experience and learn from them over so many wonderful years …

  12. The Troy Game- hands down. The way she weaves the different times, places and universes together is astounding. Everytime I pass the Gog and Magog statues in the Royal Arcade in Melbourne and I hear them strike the hour, I think of Sara and I saw a quiet thank you for her books.

Leave a Reply

