• Fiona McIntosh: Voyager Author of the Month

    Fiona McIntosh was born and raised in Sussex in the UK, but also spent early childhood years in West Africa. She left a PR career in London to travel and settled in Australia in 1980. She has since roamed the world working for her own travel publishing company, which she runs with her husband. She lives in Adelaide with her husband and twin sons. Her website is at www.fionamcintosh.com.

    Her latest book, The Scrivener's Tale, is a stand-alone and takes us back to the world of Morgravia from her very first series, The Quickening:


    About The Scrivener's Tale:

    In the bookshops and cafes of present-day Paris, ex-psychologist Gabe Figaret is trying to put his shattered life back together. When another doctor, Reynard, asks him to help with a delusional female patient, Gabe is reluctant... until he meets her. At first Gabe thinks the woman, Angelina, is merely terrified of Reynard, but he quickly discovers she is not quite what she seems.

    As his relationship with Angelina deepens, Gabe's life in Paris becomes increasingly unstable. He senses a presence watching and following every move he makes, and yet he finds Angelina increasingly irresistible.

    When Angelina tells Gabe he must kill her and flee to a place she calls Morgravia, he is horrified. But then Angelina shows him that the cathedral he has dreamt about since childhood is real and exists in Morgravia.

    A special 10th Anniversary edition of her first fantasy book, Myrren's Gift, will be released in December!

     

     

Farewell Stephanie Smith

It is with much sadness that we have to tell you our wonderful Voyager Associate Publisher Stephanie Smith is resigning. During her 20 years working at HarperCollins, Steph has been instrumental in growing the Voyager imprint into the leading Australian speculative fiction list, publishing such bestselling authors as Sara Douglass, Fiona McIntosh, Kylie Chan, Traci Harding and Jennifer Fallon. She has also played a vital role in establishing the Global Voyager list, and has been closely involved in the success of key brand authors such as George RR Martin, Raymond E Feist and Peter V Brett.

Her brilliant editorial skills, respect and support for her authors and understanding of the speculative fiction genre have stood Steph apart from her publishing peers around the world. She has worked outside her brief many times, including nurturing developing writers via the Varuna Program.

Steph’s “tree change” will take her to Tasmania where she will be closer to her family. She has been a dream to work with and we will miss her very much.

We are thrilled, therefore, that Deonie Fiford will be taking over when Steph leaves us at the end of the week. Deonie has over 15 years publishing experience, having worked both in-house and freelance as an editor for Hachette (where she helped to establish the Orbit list), Simon and Schuster and HarperCollins. She is very well respected in the speculative fiction community and has been on the judging panel of the Aurealis Awards.

Upon hearing of Deonie’s appointment, Steph had this to say: “Great choice! Deonie loves sff and has good connections in the genre community already. She has the talent and people skills to take Voyager’s premier position into the future.”

Farewell Stephanie! You are truly the Voyager Queen and we wouldn’t be where we are without you.

25 Responses

  1. *sniff* Bye Steph, you will be much missed.

    And hello Deonie! Looking forward to seeing your vision for Voyager 🙂

  2. I am so sad to be losing Stephanie. She took a chance on me and brought my works out into the world. When we met I had half a manuscript and a great big vision. Within four years Steph turned that into two series comprising of six books publishing two a year form 2009 – 2011. And there is more to come!

    Thank you Stephanie. You have been the greatest inspiration and mentor in my career.

    And as Nicole says, Welcome Deonie! I love that you LOVE spec fic!

    🙂

  3. Farewell! wherever you fare Steph. It’s been an honour and a joy working with you… and Tasmania sounds like a suitable spot for an eyrie. 🙂

    And welcome, Deonie. We’re all mad here but in a *good* way, I promise.

  4. Farewell, Stephanie and welcome Deonie!

  5. 😦

    🙂

  6. Congratulations on a job well done, Stephanie. I’ve read and enjoyed many books you’ve edited. Thanks you very much!

    Deonie – best of luck in your new job!

    • I would LOVE to see a post of all the covers that Steph published through Voyager! That would be amazing. (send me a list, Captain, and I’ll create the image 🙂

  7. So sad to see a great editor leave.

    Steph, I owe you my publishing career and I will be forever grateful. You took a chance on me when no one else would, and now when I see every success I have, I know it might never have happened if you hadn’t had that faith in me.

    All the best in your new endeavours.

    Glenda

  8. At its simplest, I doubt I’d have a writing career without Stephanie. Her encouragement, patience and sage advice opened so many doors – and not just for me. There are very few Oz spec fic writers publishing today who can’t point to Stephanie and say — it’s thanks to that woman over there. Humble, gracious and gifted, always prepared to give her time and energy to eager prospective novelists, Stephanie is the benchmark by which all editors will be measured.

    I wish her every bit of good luck going, and great joy in her seachange as she explores new frontiers.

    • I’ve been trying to post here, but WordPress hates me. Anyway, I’m trying again because I really want to add my praise too. Quite simply, if Stephanie hadn’t had faith in my writing, I may never have had the success I have today. Her guidance, her support was crucial. And she’s just so darned nice too…

      Welcome, Deonie. You have big shoes to fill, but you also have some friendly authors to help you along!

      • Your posts have come up, Glenda, and I am in total agreement. Steph’s guidance has made all the difference in the world to so many of us. (We’re all saying things like, ‘she took a chance on me’. I love it!

        Crucial in our careers? Yes! And ‘so darned nice’. I remember when something came up in one of my books she said, ‘How would you like to change this?’ It was so empowering, and that’s one of her gifts. She’s empowered us while getting the most out of our creative flow so we can make real contributions to Aus spec fic, and worldwide.

        Yep, big shoes . . . and what Glenda said, Deonie. We’re friendly and here to help!

      • Glenda, my post took an age too. I so second what Kim said, and everyone here. I couldn’t see for tears when I blogged so, sorry for any errors 😉 Where’s MY EDITOR! LOL

  9. Oh no – I am soooo sad to see you go. While work is with the New York office – you have gone out of your way to make me feel part of the voyager family here in Australia. I will miss you greatly.

    Thank you for all the work you have done and I Hope you have a lovely ‘tree-change’ and enjoy being nearer to your family.

    Deonie – welcome and looking forward to working with you.

    • Gah – I really wish I hadn’t rushed that post with missed word and stuff. I meant to say I am really sad to see you go Stephanie. It’s been lovely.

  10. *sniffle*

    At the risk of sounding like I’m just parroting everyone else here, I also owe my career to Stephanie, and naturally I will also miss her!

    *cue violin music*

    I’ll never forget the first time I met her. I was about 18 years old, and attending my very first Conflux. Rather astonishingly given that and the fact that I only had one book published (through Scholastic), they put me on a panel with Jackie French. For some unfathomable reason, they made me the panel chair as well! I still have no idea why.

    Jackie (who I’d met before as a kid, about ten years previously) was lovely. She bought me lunch and taught me all sorts of things about “the biz”, which I’ve never forgotten, eight years later (dear gods, has it really been that long?).

    I told her that though my one published work was a humourous book for kids, I really wanted to write “serious” fantasy. So Jackie said “Stephanie Smith is here at the con. Go see her, and tell her I sent you.”

    So I did! I nabbed her coming out of a panel and introduced myself, and I still remember what she said. She gave me her card and said “if you write something for adults, send it to me”. Years later The Dark Griffin came along, and I still had that card taped to my desk. And the rest is history.

    And now that era has come to an end, as all things must (verily, it is so!).

    I admit I was a bit worried about who might replace Stephanie – what if it was someone mean who doesn’t like griffins?? So this latest news is a big relief! (I admit it; I’m paranoid. But even so!). So here’s me saying welcome Deonie, and I look forward to working with you!

  11. Thank you so much, Stephanie, for all the hard work and support over the years. Visiting the Voyager offices felt like visiting family, and I always knew I and my fellow authors were in good hands. I wish you the best in all your endeavors.

  12. Stephanie took a chance on me when I’d produced something that didn’t fit into any of the existing literary boxes. She saw the potential and helped my career right from the start. Her grace, good humour and kindness will be sorely missed. It isn’t a spec fic event without Stephanie along sparking it up with her dry wit, and I’m glad she’ll still be around as a freelancer, the community needs her!

  13. This is a very sad day! I had such fun working with Stephanie, and I guess I always hoped we’d work together again one day. Alas! Still, she totally deserves a break from we mad writerly types. More power to her!

  14. […] Stephanie Smith has stepped down from her role at HarperCollins Voyager, where as editor and publisher she has overseen the growth of Australia’s fantasy industry, Bookseller+Publisher reports. She’s quite the icon on the local scene and will be missed. Her replacement is respected editor Deonie Fiford, starting on April 2. OMG that’s Monday! Where has the year gone? Voyager’s farewell message is here. […]

  15. It’s been lovely reading everyone’s comments. I’m another Voyager author whose current career is down to Stephanie. I am so glad I got a chance to work with you and to bring the Creature Court trilogy into the Voyager family! Thanks so much for everything, Steph.

    And Deonie, I look forward to meeting you (I hope) at the Aurealis Awards. I am sure the future of Voyager is in great hands.

  16. Stephanie, my ROCK, after 16 years together and all you’ve taught me, I still cannot find the words to adequately describe what your guidance, friendship and support has meant to me. I’ve had some pretty out there ideas in my time, and you’ve never failed to just let me go for it. You never pushed through the tough books and always had faith that I’d get there, and with a lot for help from you, and the team at Harper, we always did. It’s been one hell of a ride – thanks for taking with me.

    Welcome Deonie, I’m really looking forward to meeting you, and WARNING I have another wild ride coming your way 🙂

  17. Good grief! This is the end of an era! Please, Stephanie, keep on coming to the Cons!

    Stephanie is a great editor. She makes every writer feel special, and that their work is important.

    Good luck in Tasmania!

    Simon

  18. Stephanie, even though I make my living from words, it is impossible to find the right ones to fully describe what having you as my publisher has meant.
    Five years ago you took a chance on me and I shall forever be grateful.
    Quite simply, you helped me achieve a dream.
    It has been both a pleasure and a privilege to work with you.
    You were, are and always will be fantastic and I anticipate you will also become the most hotly-demanded freelance editor in HarperCollins’ history!

  19. We’ve all dealt with people who could wither prickly pear at a glance but Stephanie is one of those precious people who enable those around her to flourish.

    So let me add my thanks to the many heartfelt testimonies to both Steph’s professional excellence and her generosity of spirit. Yep she also took a chance on me as well, then guided me through the first three books in the Timestalker series with an astute but encouraging hand… And yep, she also distributed those ‘Stephanie Smith trademark’ words of wisdom when I hit a couple of pot holes along the way.

    It’s been such a great pleasure to know you, Steph! Bon Voyage (just for the moment) – I can’t wait for the sequel to unfold!

    Deonie, welcome aboard and I’ll look forward to meeting you very soon.

    May the Year of the Water Dragon bring you both all you hope for and need.

    All the very best
    Rhonda

Leave a Reply

