• Fiona McIntosh: Voyager Author of the Month

    Fiona McIntosh was born and raised in Sussex in the UK, but also spent early childhood years in West Africa. She left a PR career in London to travel and settled in Australia in 1980. She has since roamed the world working for her own travel publishing company, which she runs with her husband. She lives in Adelaide with her husband and twin sons. Her website is at www.fionamcintosh.com.

    Her latest book, The Scrivener's Tale, is a stand-alone and takes us back to the world of Morgravia from her very first series, The Quickening:


    About The Scrivener's Tale:

    In the bookshops and cafes of present-day Paris, ex-psychologist Gabe Figaret is trying to put his shattered life back together. When another doctor, Reynard, asks him to help with a delusional female patient, Gabe is reluctant... until he meets her. At first Gabe thinks the woman, Angelina, is merely terrified of Reynard, but he quickly discovers she is not quite what she seems.

    As his relationship with Angelina deepens, Gabe's life in Paris becomes increasingly unstable. He senses a presence watching and following every move he makes, and yet he finds Angelina increasingly irresistible.

    When Angelina tells Gabe he must kill her and flee to a place she calls Morgravia, he is horrified. But then Angelina shows him that the cathedral he has dreamt about since childhood is real and exists in Morgravia.

    A special 10th Anniversary edition of her first fantasy book, Myrren's Gift, will be released in December!

     

     

The Beginning of the End

With Journey by Night in bookstores this month, I’m starting to get emails and posts from readers who have already finished the book. They’re sending a lot of support and enthusiasm, which is wonderful. They’re also all asking the same question, each and every one. It comes phrased in a few different ways but all are saying, ‘It’s not the end, is it?’

 The answer is yes and no. Journey by Night is the last book I’ll write in the worlds of Earth and Gaela, at least for the next five years. I have two new series planed: The first one is well under way and the second I’ll write straight after. Both are envisioned as trilogies and set in very different worlds/premises. However, Journey by Night is not the whole story and it looks like the ‘missing chapters’ will be released soon. I can’t tell you how happy this makes me!

 What missing chapters? A year ago, when I first submitted book #3 in the Quantum Encryption series, the manuscript was over the word count. I knew there were sections that needed shortening but I hadn’t thought it would be the first six chapters. They were the bedrock of the story, to me, the life and times of Kreshkali and Nell growing up in the underground. The deleted chapters take place on Earth and answer questions about the origins of these two powerful witches—their intentions and what drives them. I felt more than a little attached.

 But I also trust my publisher completely and was open to her idea. She wanted me to try starting with chapter seven—one of the most intense and dark scenes in the book—and feather in important elements from the early chapters as memory. It took me a few days to get my head around the rewrite but once I did, I went to work and a month later I resubmitted the MS. Bingo. My publisher was happy and my editor (who never saw the original version) was thrilled.

 Meanwhile, those first six chapters sat in a bottom drawer and that didn’t feel right. I find it hard enough to leave a series and say goodbye to characters I’ve been ‘with’ for the past six or seven year but to know those early chapters would never be read hit hard. In the back of my mind I pondered ways this part of the story could be told. Fortunately, my publisher was pondering as well. After tossing around a few ideas, we came up with a great plan.

 ‘Kreshkali and Nell – the early years’(under a much better title) is going to be turned into an ebook with plans for an audio download as well. Both will be either free or at the most the price of a lollipop. So for those who have devoured the series and are mourning its end, there is a thirty-some-thousand word novella on the way!

If anyone has a brilliant idea for a title, please feel free to comment. The elements in this story are 24th century post-apocalyptic earth where the only currency is drinking water. Two girls grow up in the underground, learn magic in secret and stay alive any way they can. I wanted to call it ‘Childhood’s End’ but we know Arthur C. Clarke grabbed that one years ago. Suggestions welcome. Thanks!

18 Responses

  1. I think ‘Kreshkali and Nell’ sounds good as a title, to me. Leave out ‘the early years’ because readers will know anyway; if they read all your novels will know that. After all, you know about the early years and I am sure you will show it in the story by the story’s elements you posted here.

    Kim, I think the novella will compliment the Quantum Encryption as a whole series. Also, no matter what you end up calling the novella, the title will still make the series, enjopyable for the reader.

    My food for thought.

    • Oh thank you! That’s very good advice, and readers will get it instantly – Kreshkali and Nell. There have been questions about those two, mainly HOW? So the growing up years answers that big time and I do think it will compliment the series, as you say.

      Good food for though!

      :)Kim

      • Glad to help. May be one day in the near future, I’ll be in a same position as you and hope someone could help me. I can only hope. I am building up to my goal; slowly and proudly as a writer.

      • I like that goal! The more you ‘see’ yourself as a writer, and treat it like a job, even before it tangibly is one, the better. No matter what, think of yourself as a write and keep writing. That’s what gets you to your goals. It’s like a magic formula. So simple, but true 🙂

  2. Cool! I have the opposite problem to you – my books keep coming in too short!

    I’d suggest a title, but I suck at those. Good luck, though!

  3. Congratulations on the release of Journey by Night Kim! And the new series sound very exciting!

  4. Kim
    Suggested titles:
    Either “Before the —” (—- being: Journey or Awakening)
    or “Under the —-” (—- being something like: Crust, Curse or Spell)
    x
    Richard

    • This interests me, Richard 🙂 Can you hear the wheels turning?

      I’ll certainly let you know if I use any of these. I like, ‘Before the Journey’ and ‘Under the Spell’ . . . Actually ‘Under the Spell’ fits the story perfectly . . . hmmmm

      Thank you!

  5. How about Vortex H2O

  6. I like “Bridge Between Worlds” or something like that…or a title with the word “Mirror” in it – Nell and Kreshkali are the one and the same and at the end of Journey by Night it becomes obvious (I won’t spoil anything by saying why here in case someone hasn’t quite finished). I’ve just finished the series and have loved every moment of them. Can’t wait to read about Nell and Kali’s beginnings.

  7. I have two suggestions. One serious and one not so.

    The not so serious one is “The Book of Kali” seeing that it’s set in a post-apopolyptic world where safe water is the most important thing.

    The more genuine suggestion is “Soul of the Underground”. It sounds like the underground can be a pretty soulless place and that Kali and Nell are rather a contrast to that. It fits them both, but maybe Nell more so?

    • Suzanne, I like these! ‘Soul of the Underground’ quite fits but also the first one does too. Thank you for suggesting them. I’m also thinking, ‘Child of the Underground’ now that I read yours.

      Will let you all know what is agreed upon (it’s always a committee decision when it comes to title!)

      Cheers for dropping by! 🙂

Leave a Reply

