• Fiona McIntosh: Voyager Author of the Month

    Fiona McIntosh was born and raised in Sussex in the UK, but also spent early childhood years in West Africa. She left a PR career in London to travel and settled in Australia in 1980. She has since roamed the world working for her own travel publishing company, which she runs with her husband. She lives in Adelaide with her husband and twin sons. Her website is at www.fionamcintosh.com.

    Her latest book, The Scrivener's Tale, is a stand-alone and takes us back to the world of Morgravia from her very first series, The Quickening:


    About The Scrivener's Tale:

    In the bookshops and cafes of present-day Paris, ex-psychologist Gabe Figaret is trying to put his shattered life back together. When another doctor, Reynard, asks him to help with a delusional female patient, Gabe is reluctant... until he meets her. At first Gabe thinks the woman, Angelina, is merely terrified of Reynard, but he quickly discovers she is not quite what she seems.

    As his relationship with Angelina deepens, Gabe's life in Paris becomes increasingly unstable. He senses a presence watching and following every move he makes, and yet he finds Angelina increasingly irresistible.

    When Angelina tells Gabe he must kill her and flee to a place she calls Morgravia, he is horrified. But then Angelina shows him that the cathedral he has dreamt about since childhood is real and exists in Morgravia.

    A special 10th Anniversary edition of her first fantasy book, Myrren's Gift, will be released in December!

     

     

How to Save a Planet

 

Journey By Night

 Journey by Night – A fast-paced story of fantasy and occult adventure, astrology and martial arts…
Comment to win!

Kreshkali and Nell have only one task – to save the planet. Of course, I am not making it easy for them. With the September 1st launch of Journey by Night the theme of saving the planet certainly comes to the forefront.

Both Quantum E. series focus on magic, intimacy, shape-shifting, witchcraft and martial arts with all the action playing against the backdrop of two worlds – Gaela, a magical hegemony where energy is derived from thought, and a future Earth where environmental disaster, geo-engineering, totalitarian governments and tectonic plate shifts have taken things to a horrific extreme. Journey by Night concludes a six book saga begun with The Spell of Rosette, wrapping up every thread. (If you can think of anything I left out, email me!)

I’m not going to say how it ends for Earth or Gaela, but I can assert that ten years of research into worst case scenarios has brought me to some terrible, as well as enlightening, conclusions. It has been quite a journey into the current state of our environment and where we can find ways to reverse the global threats hanging over us. Some ideas are embedded in my books but I’ll give you my short list here.

Steps to Saving the Planet

1) Awareness –Ritual magic, witchcraft, deliberate creation, prayer, chanting, evoking, shamanism … these are all words that describe a state of being—a state of awareness. We get what we are and the witch, shaman, devotee or the ‘regular Joe’ can practice deliberately the art of awareness. This is the #1 key to making a difference in the world. It’s called know thyself.

2) Intention – Setting an intention is the next step. You might start with saying I am making a difference. I am going to accomplish  . . . I am discovering . . . I am grateful for . . .  Just start by saying, ‘I am . . .’ and follow with your heart.

3) Meditation – We do not emphasis the stillness and listening aspect of being in our culture but the benefits for the entire planet are well documented. Over 500 studies have been completed on the physiological, psychological, and sociological effects of TM meditation, making it perhaps the most intensively studied technique in the field of human development. Who’s tried it?

4) Contribution – From an evolutionary biologist’s point of view, human beings are hardwired to connect to 150 others. That’s right, 150 people/beings that we know intimately and care for and relate to. Given this, it’s easy to see why so many people feel like something’s missing. (It accounts for why we LOVE the characters in books, celebrities and public figures. They become ‘our people’.) By making a contribution of energy, time, intention, support, we extend our connections to others while participating in the evolution of our planet.

Which of these four steps do you like the most? Post a comment and be in the hat to win a Kim Falconer book of your choice. Most interesting comment wins! We’ll choose a winner by the end of the week ( 26th Aug ).

Quantum Encryption Series

Kim Falconer’s latest book, Journey by Night is out September 1st.  It is #3 in the Quantum Encryption Series. As well as her author website, she runs an astrology and law of attraction forum, trains with a sword and is completing a Masters degree. Her novel writing is done early every morning. Currently she’s working on a whole new series.

33 Responses

  1. Hmm. The funniest comment wins, huh? Hmm.

    Some say the glass is half empty. Some say it’s half full. I say…

    …it’s too big!

    (Credit: George Carlin)

  2. Funny, interesting AND a tip to save the planet would probably trump just about anything, though I do love a good quote! 🙂

  3. Of course I could win by default if no one else comments! But I RT’d to give others notice. Okay, that was not funny, not interesting, but isn’t RTing reducing, reusing, and recycling?

  4. I LIKE ALL FOUR. With No 1 awareness being my favorite. When we become self aware and love ourself first then we can have a big impact on the world by example.

    Amazing I still have to read one of your books 🙂 This one looks great

    • I agree, Suzie. It’s like the engraving at the oracle of Delphi says, ‘Know thyself.’ It’s a good place to begin!

      🙂 Thanks for dropping by! Good luck!

  5. I like step no 2 intention

    I am going to discover how fantastic Journey by Night is, when I win this book (for which i will be ever grateful) and i will discover how drinking a cup of earl grey at the same time as reading will make a perfect reading experience!

  6. Awareness and Contribution are tied for me: You can raise awareness by contributing towards saving the planet with things like planting a tree, using recycled paper in the office/home/school, change light bulbs to more energy saver friendly ones, and walk places that are close by.
    Ie. Walk to the shops if able;
    1. It’ll do wonders for your figure!
    2. You can use those re-usable shopping bags that are now available which means there’ll be no spilled milk on the way home because of flimsy plastic bags.

    Not my best but it was better than what I originally had planned to put up and I do believe I am hopeless at making funny comments after reading back over this.

    Kate

    • Thank you, Kate. Good points. Walking, or biking, is so good for us too, health wise. And, it’s the little things that really add up to make a difference. Just imagine if everyone planted a tree a year. Millions more trees springing up!

  7. Brilliant author, great post 🙂 Looking forward to reading the final book

    • These affirmations work too 🙂

      lol, I’m doing the 21 day meditation challenge with the Deepak Chopra Centre and it’s taking my thoughts to more metaphysical realms. Next giveaway questions are going to something like ‘Who’s your favourite hero in the last five books you’ve read. Mine would be Rónán in Jennifer Fallon’s The Undivided. 🙂

  8. Which of the four steps do I like the monst? Number 3, Meditation, is the most pertinent to me at the moment – although I think they do all link together beautifully (another great allegory of how everything is interconnected?). I am also taking part in the 21 day meditation challenge (thanks for the link Kim – and also for participating in social media! Very cool to think social media may be helping us to pick our 150 people and how life-changing it is to be able to listen to the people we most admire). I have recently been studying/practicing meditation in the Tibetan Buddhist tradition through the books and audio tapes of Pema Chodron and have found it very beneficial. The idea of “mind training” seemed akin to brain-washing or encouraging delusion or something as equally scary! But by working on the notion that we are all inherently the same and following ‘tips’ on how to still the mind, not becoming (or staying) hooked by ego, very strong emotion and the like, I feel I have taken some real steps towards being present and living in the moment. (Important to note, I think, that meditation is an ongoing process and i wont be ‘cured’ of a busy mind unless I’m cured of my human condition – which I’m not quite ready for yet!). So practicing meditation definately helps with my Awareness and knowing myself more deeply, and I feel when I am in the present moment I am more receptive to others and am able to give of myself more freely.

    • Yay for the 21 day meditation challenge! It’s great knowing you are doing it too. (How beautiful was #10?)

      You’re right that mediation is an ongoing process. I’ve been meditating since I was 11, and doing TM since 17 and new levels and insights come up all the time. (still keen on my human condition too – I have more novels to write for one thing!)

      Thank you for dropping in with your comments. (I’m glad I’m not the one trying to choose winners!)

      🙂

  9. I especially like #1 and including all those things as “states of being!” But I would add “allowance,” because that is the thing that is hardest for me. Because I am right all the time, of course! 🙂

    • lol Who is it that says, I’d rather be happy than right?’ Ha. I agree, unless I am emotionally attached to the ‘rightness’ of it all.

      Allowance, the art of allowing, would be a wonderful career. I would like to major in it!

      Thank you, Cate, for dropping in!

  10. I think Contribution suits me best. There’s a saying “roller derby saved my soul” and so many derby girls (I’m one myself) have said this. Perhaps this is because each and every derby girl contributes to her league in some form or another and there are so many like-minded people around her they feel like that ‘something’s missing’ bit has been found or filled.
    Usually contributing to your league turns into contributing to your community and that’s how my league rolls. We donate to community organisations as our league is a not for profit organisation.
    If humans are hardwired to connect with 150 others, then I’m sure I’ve gone over my quota. There’s nearly 100 people in my league, and easily 100 in my family. Not counting friends and work colleagues…

    I definitely don’t have ‘something missing’ anymore!

  11. Jess, what a wonderful network of connection! All those like-minded others. I can see how you wouldn’t feel like ‘something’s missing.’ Thanks for giving us a glimpse into the life of a ‘derby girl.’ (I’m thinking there are stories there that would make a fabulous Aussie novel!)

    Glad to see you dropping in!

    🙂 Kim

    • If only I was a writer! I really am not. I’ve tried, but I am very much in the ‘prefer to read rather than write’ camp.
      The network really is wonderful, not only in your own league, but there’s great collaboration between leagues as well.

      If anyone is interested in watching roller derby, quite possibly there is a local league near you. 😉

      • It looks like an amazing spectator sport as well as participator. I just googled around and geeze, it’s full on. You must be amazingly fit!

        I think the collaboration and support is fantastic. I’ll have to see if they have such a thing around my haunts.

  12. I’d have to say Awareness…for me Awareness encompasses all other points (2-4) – at least in parts…

    For the majority of humankind everything is about themselves. Being self-centered and not really caring about others isn’t helping anyone. People have to reach out to each other and try to connect…(Contribution)
    Agreed – trying to connect isn’t always easy. There are two individuals – and each one is busy living his/her life and dealing with stuff.
    So when two individuals meet (be it as friends or total strangers), most of the time there is something that is bothering us about the other (be it because they used the wrong tone of voice when speaking to us – or they ignore us,… etc.)
    Instead of letting the ego take over (= making a snide remark; shout; insult; pout; etc.) and thus entering a confrontation (which will drain both parties of an enormous amount of energy), we should open ourselves to this other person and try to imagine what reasons there could be for those actions/behaviour.
    Which means we ‘take a step back’ before reacting and take a couple of seconds to reflect how we want to handle the situation (which could be interpreted as some form of meditation; calming yourself down by closing your eyes and taking deep breaths).

    At this point we have a choice to either give in to our ego or reach out and connect (could be soothing words or a smile). And hopefully our “counterpart” connects with us, too and thus manages to come back to the Now and just ‘be’ (instead of being ‘driven’ by thoughts of the past or the future).

    The overall ‘intention’ of all of this, of our behaviour towards others should be love. And with love comes compassion, peace and happiness; – IMO the key ingredients to a fulfilling life and a tiny speck in making the world a better place to live in for all of us.

    So my contribution on how to save a planet is, that I try to become a better and more enlightened being and trying to apply awareness work in my every day life.
    It’s a challenge – because the process is ongoing and we get confronted with so many situations everyday that tempt us to fall back into an old pattern/behaviour.
    But it truly works – it can change your life and enable you to see how beautiful life really is!

    ….
    Christine

    (PS: just in case: Journey by Night for Kindle if possible… *grins*, Thank you).

    • Christine, that’s so well put. And it is an ongoing process to pivot away from those old habit patterns and relate in new, more enlightened ways.

      Thank you!

      🙂 KIm

  13. Definitely step 2) intention for me. I think it’s so important to know in your mind exactly what your goal is which is of course directly related to your intent. This is an important step for me, I like it the most 🙂

    Ps: I have read books 1-3, have every intention of owning all 6 and finishing the series as soon as I can 🙂

    • Intention, and goal setting, is a big one for me too. It’s certainly helped me keep to my publishing deadlines, as well as write the books I’ve been wanting to!

      Thank you for dropping and posting! 🙂

  14. These books sound amazing and right up my alley 🙂 Hard to find a writer who knows what she is talking about metaphysically! And a fellow Aussie too YAY!

  15. Thank you, Carmel. That makes me smile!

  16. Hi everyone,

    Thank you all for your fabulous responses!

    Our captain asked me to choose the winner after all and it wasn’t easy. But the task was made a little lighter when I was told we could have more than one winner.

    I enjoyed reading all of your posts and I so appreciate that you dropped in to chat and support the launch of Journey by Night, Nell and Kreshkali’s story.

    Here are the winners!

    Suzie Cheel
    Kate
    Shannon Eslick
    Christine

    Thank you again, everyone, and please stay in touch.

    Best wishes,
    Kim 🙂

  17. Congrats ladies on winning and all the awesome responses! I loved reading this.

Leave a Reply

