• Fiona McIntosh: Voyager Author of the Month

    Fiona McIntosh was born and raised in Sussex in the UK, but also spent early childhood years in West Africa. She left a PR career in London to travel and settled in Australia in 1980. She has since roamed the world working for her own travel publishing company, which she runs with her husband. She lives in Adelaide with her husband and twin sons. Her website is at www.fionamcintosh.com.

    Her latest book, The Scrivener's Tale, is a stand-alone and takes us back to the world of Morgravia from her very first series, The Quickening:


    About The Scrivener's Tale:

    In the bookshops and cafes of present-day Paris, ex-psychologist Gabe Figaret is trying to put his shattered life back together. When another doctor, Reynard, asks him to help with a delusional female patient, Gabe is reluctant... until he meets her. At first Gabe thinks the woman, Angelina, is merely terrified of Reynard, but he quickly discovers she is not quite what she seems.

    As his relationship with Angelina deepens, Gabe's life in Paris becomes increasingly unstable. He senses a presence watching and following every move he makes, and yet he finds Angelina increasingly irresistible.

    When Angelina tells Gabe he must kill her and flee to a place she calls Morgravia, he is horrified. But then Angelina shows him that the cathedral he has dreamt about since childhood is real and exists in Morgravia.

    A special 10th Anniversary edition of her first fantasy book, Myrren's Gift, will be released in December!

     

     

Here, have some books!

It’s Thursday, which means it’s nearly Friday and we’re in a good mood!

Nominate which book you’d like from the list below and tell us about the most exciting book purchase you’ve ever made – and why it was exciting.

The most interesting answer for each book will result in the commenter getting said book mailed out to them. This competition is only open to Australian residents. Closes midday Friday 6 May.

A Blight of Mages by Karen Miller

Son of a Witch by Gregory Maguire (signed hardback)

Empire of Ivory by Naomi Novik

At the Gates of Darkness by Raymond Feist

 

23 Responses

  1. Son of a Witch by Gregory Maguire (signed hardback)

    The most exciting book purchase I made was getting a leatherbound, hardback copy of Brayan’s Gold by Peter V Brett, they are limited to 750 signed copies. It takes pride of place on my bookshelf.

  2. Son of a Witch – Gregory Maguire

    Isobelle Carmody’s The Keeping Place. I’d been re-reading the first three Obernewtyn books for years by the time it came out, first in the school library and then my own copies that recently had to be replaced by ones where the covers weren’t falling off. By the time the fourth came out I was dying to know what happened, and thrilled that it was such a huge book. I’ve read a lot of books I’ve loved since then, but I don’t think I’ve ever been so excited about one coming out!

    (alas, we’re all still waiting to find out how it all ends – hurry up Isobelle Carmody!)

    • I had a similar moment – I love the Obernewtyn series. I think I was even more excited when The Stone Key came out though, because I felt like Elspeth was finally going on ‘that’ journey.

    • Meaghan, you’ve won Son of a Witch. I’ve emailed you to find out your mailing address.
      Thanks!
      Natalie

      • Thanks Natalie – I completely forgot about this so it was a lovely surprise! And yes, The Stone Key was exciting too, they never seem to progress as far along Elspeth’s quest as I expect though, there’s a huge amount to pack into the next one if it’s actually meant to be the last this time! Can’t wait to see how she does it.

  3. I nominate: “Empire of Ivory” by Naomi Novik

    My most exciting book purchase was David Attenborough’s autobiography “Life On Air” a few years back. I was passing through Sydney’s Pitt Street when I saw a sign that he would shortly be signing copies at the book’s launch nearby. I bought a copy and raced to stand in line. I waited an hour and there he was! The queue moved slowly and I was due back at work… but I was on a mission. You see, David Attenborough is my husband’s favourite nature commentator and I knew this would be a gift he’d appreciate for years to come. When he asked me what name to write in the book, I gave him my hubbie’s name, welcomed him to Australia and stretched my hand out to shake his. He was a little surprised by the gesture but then smiled back and shook it. I’ve never forgotten that moment, and my husband was overjoyed with his gift. He’s not a reader by any stretch of the imagination but he said he’d read it straight away. Did he? Of course not, but it’s the thought that counts.

  4. It’s hard to pick just one exciting book purchase (because don’t they all feel that way, especially when you first walk out of the bookstore clutching that shiny new addition to your library?), but one that stands out for me is “Darkfall” by Isobelle Carmody. Having read and thoroughly enjoyed her Obernewtyn Chronicles, I was excited to get my hands on as her other YA works but was disappointed that releases were so far between. As this was a time before I had the internet (1997), you could imagine how I felt trawling through bookstores looking for her latest book, harassing sales assistants with questions about release dates. Then I found “Darkfall” by accident in the place I least expected it: the adult fiction section. I couldn’t believe it when I saw her name on the spine of the novel! I grabbed it quickly off the shelves and made a beeline for the counter, dodging the looks of fellow book-buyers wondering what a nine-year-old was doing in this section. I bought “Darkfall” with the satisfaction that only comes after discovering a long-sought treasure.

    I think it was so exciting because of the thrill that comes from the wait, the search and knowing that at the end of it I would have more delicious reading. You can guess how beyond excited I am for the final books in the Legendsong Saga and Obernewtyn Chronicles (both forthcoming).

    Oh, and I almost forgot the book nomination. Hmm… “A Blight of Mages” by Karen Miller.

    • Me too – Darkfall and Darksong are my favourite Isobelle Carmody books, despite reading the Obernewtyn Chronicles first. I feel like the final Legendsong book will be hard to read, because it will be the end of our time in that world …

      • Oh, I agree! I’m excited since it’s been so long, but sad to see it end.

        (Also, sorry about the double post above! Is there any way to delete the first one? How embarrassing.)

  5. At the Gates of Darkness by Raymond Feist

    As a kid, my mother only let us buy one book from the bookshop, and thats how I discovered fantasy, and Raymond Feists Magician, it was the biggest book I could find at the time, and it was exciting because it was my first introduction into fantasy,

  6. A Blight of Mages by Karen Miller

    Anne Rice is one of my favourite authors to read and also my writing role model. Recently she’s been getting rid of most of her possessions as she is going to a writer’s retreat and part of those possessions were her personal library.

    I was on FaceBook when I saw it and thought the possibility of owning any of them was slim to none, but I clicked on the link for the hell of it anyway and ended up buying three of her books!

    Might sound nuts, but when I got them in the mail I was so overwhelmed I almost threw up lol.

  7. Gosh – I couldn’t really decide between any of those titles – anyone one of them would be great.

    My most exciting book purchase was also one of my very first – a high school teacher decided to encourage my emerging interest in science fiction by lending me his copy of Dune by Frank Herbert. It was simply so amazing, that my minimal allowance went towards getting a copy for myself, to lose myself once more in that amazing universe.

  8. A Blight of Mages by Karen Miller

    Most exciting book I ever bought was Being of the Field by Traci Harding, one of my favourite Aussie authors. The reason this book is my most exciting purchase is because I got mentioned in the acknowledgements.

  9. A Blight of Mages – Karen Miller.

    My most exciting book purchase was over a year in the making. Several years ago I came across a book that I wanted to read ‘Trioedd Ynys Prydein’ a translation of the Welsh Triads (3rd edition). I heard about it and went searching libraries, Australia wide, but couldn’t find a single copy. So I decided to order it. I did, via the then local bookshop and waited and waited and waited and waited and finally it arrived after a year of patient waiting and i had it in my hot little hands. It now sits amongst my most important books in my study since it still relates to the books I am currently writing. Oh, and I had to wait so long since it was a new edition and hadn’t been published. That said, all book purchases are exciting.

  10. A Blight of Mages – Karen Miller

    Most exciting book purchase… All Clear by Connie Willis, because it was the second half of a story and I had no closure on the first half and my mind was leaking overlapping WWII time travel plotlines for months.

  11. At the Gates of Darkness please. My most exciting book purchase was with my sister when she was in prep, being 6 years older than her, I knew that it would be a decider on whether she’d be a book lover like me or hate them. Luckily I made the right choice and now she lives and breathes them! The first book purchase is like a pair of good heels!

  12. I would love A Blight of Mages – Karen Miller.
    My most exciting book purchase was Lord Foul’s Bane by Stephen Donaldson. I grew up in Beecroft, Sydney, where we had an amazing children’s bookshop – and in Year 7 that was still where I was buying my books. Then another girl in my English class did a book report on Lord Foul’s Bane and it sounded great. I ventured into an grown-up’s bookshop (adult bookshop sounds a bit iffy, doesn’t it!) for the first time and found that there was this whole world beyond John Christopher and Enid Blyton. My eyes were opened. And I still love and regularly re-read Lord Foul’s Bane.

    • Hi Natalie2, great answer – and yes, adult bookshop does sound iffy!
      We’ve chosen you as the winner of A Blight of Mages. Sending you an email now about your mailing address.
      Thanks,
      Natalie

  13. A Blight of Mages by Karen Miller,
    Most exciting purchase? My first book purchase with my fully fledged paycheck. Let’s just say I went way over budget.

Leave a Reply

