• Fiona McIntosh: Voyager Author of the Month

    Fiona McIntosh was born and raised in Sussex in the UK, but also spent early childhood years in West Africa. She left a PR career in London to travel and settled in Australia in 1980. She has since roamed the world working for her own travel publishing company, which she runs with her husband. She lives in Adelaide with her husband and twin sons. Her website is at www.fionamcintosh.com.

    Her latest book, The Scrivener's Tale, is a stand-alone and takes us back to the world of Morgravia from her very first series, The Quickening:


    About The Scrivener's Tale:

    In the bookshops and cafes of present-day Paris, ex-psychologist Gabe Figaret is trying to put his shattered life back together. When another doctor, Reynard, asks him to help with a delusional female patient, Gabe is reluctant... until he meets her. At first Gabe thinks the woman, Angelina, is merely terrified of Reynard, but he quickly discovers she is not quite what she seems.

    As his relationship with Angelina deepens, Gabe's life in Paris becomes increasingly unstable. He senses a presence watching and following every move he makes, and yet he finds Angelina increasingly irresistible.

    When Angelina tells Gabe he must kill her and flee to a place she calls Morgravia, he is horrified. But then Angelina shows him that the cathedral he has dreamt about since childhood is real and exists in Morgravia.

    A special 10th Anniversary edition of her first fantasy book, Myrren's Gift, will be released in December!

     

     

Lost in Translation

Image of 'Naufragos' by Eugenio Recuenco depicting two characters calling to each other - but what they say may be lost in translation ...

Naufragos (Shipwrecked) by Eugenio Recuenco

With each new book release comes the season of the interviews. Suddenly, after writing for months in relative isolation, reviewing and reworking and proofing, the book is out and newspapers, magazines and pod casters want to hear about it. It’s an exciting time, the icing on the cake.

 I’ve had some fabulous interviews, from my very first in The Specusphere to a recent interview in The Fringe Magazine. But sometimes an interview can go a little hinky. I’m not sure how it happens but somewhere along the line, the words get lost in translation. You can hear the pen scratching away on the other end of the line, or the keyboard clicking, as the journalist tries to keep up with the flow but they don’t always get it down exact.

  ‘I never said that!’ is not such an uncommon phrase. As a matter of fact, there’s a new book by Oxford University Press with virtually the same title.  It’s a collection of misquotations, adaptations and fabrications ranging from Napoleon’s ‘Not tonight, Josephine’ to our beloved

‘Beam me up, Scotty.’ (not what Kirk said!) Misquotes can be a anything from funny to slanderous. Fortunately for me, it’s been mostly funny! Here are some random examples of questions I’ve been asked, my answers and what actually made it into print.

 Interviewer: You weave astrology and stars into your Earth/Gaela books. Where did you learn this?

 Kim: My father was an astrologer before me so it was part of my upbringing. I’ve been studying it all my life, both ancient forms and contemporary.

 The misquote Kim’s father was an astronomer and so is she.

 Interviewer: Where does your new book fit in the series?

 Kim: It’s the second book in the Quantum Encryption series. There’s one more to come before the conclusion . . .

 The misquote Road to the Soul is the final book in her first series, Quantum Entanglement.

 Interviewer: Have you thought of expanding into other genres?

 Kim: I write and read spec fic because I love it. It has all the landscapes of every great genre combined—historical fiction, crime, magical realism, adventure, romance, suspense, thriller, mystery  . . . Why would I ever want to write anything else?

 The misquote: We can expect to see Kim Falconer writing historical fiction in the near future. 

 And my current favourite (because how cool would it be if this were true)!

 Interviewer: Is there anything new in the works?

 Kim: Indeed, I’m plotting a new series right now! It’s just at the proposal stage so fingers crossed my publisher will love it as much as I do and offered a contract.

 The misquote: Kim has an ongoing contract with HarperCollins Publishing for whatever she can produce.  

 How about you? Ever been misquoted? Have some funny interview story to tell? What about tips to keep the story straight? Comments always welcome!

Kim Falconer is the author of the Quantum Enchantment and Quantum Encryption trilogies, set in the worlds of Gaela and Earth and exploring all manner of ideas, people and places. The latest in the series is Road to the Soul, which will be published 1 March. Visit Kim’s website and find out more about Kim and her books!

11 Responses

  1. Love this post – it’s hilarious! It would be very cool indeed if HC had you on retainer 🙂 – indeed had all Voyager authors on retainer!
    I am curious – were any of these written interviews or were they all face to face (for the questioning part) or on the phone?

    • Ha ha. Us Voyager authors are voting for that retainer!

      All these interviews were phone or face to face. Live to air is the most accurate, and the written ones. It’s great to have all the questions emailed to you so you can think before you speak. The others tend to be a lot more spontaneous though, even if misquoted!

      I did a phone interview for Inside the Author TV recently that will be edited for podcast. I’m so curious to see how that sounds. You can do a LOT in the editing suite they tell me!

  2. LOL!!! Yes, last one is definitely my favourite. And IMHO should come true. Voyager, are you listening?!

    😀

  3. Hehehe, that made me giggle after a not-so-fun morning. Thanks! 🙂

  4. Hehe.

    So how does one go about getting on of these retainer dealies =).

  5. Luckily no-one’s misquoted me yet as far as I know, but it’s only a matter of time! I’d probably find it frustrating rather than amusing, but then other people’s opinions of me are kind of scary to me…

    • It can be confronting and I think you have to get into a space of ‘care’ but don’t care. You know? I just say, ‘here I am. This is me. This is what I’m like today. I won’t always be the same. Do you want to dance?’

      Well, that’s not what I usually say to someone when we first meet, or when an interviewer asks a question. But the vibe is like that.

      There are things you can do to insure you aren’t misquoted. Like ‘ten tips for great interviews’. I’ll see if I can find them . . .

Leave a Reply

