• Fiona McIntosh: Voyager Author of the Month

    Fiona McIntosh was born and raised in Sussex in the UK, but also spent early childhood years in West Africa. She left a PR career in London to travel and settled in Australia in 1980. She has since roamed the world working for her own travel publishing company, which she runs with her husband. She lives in Adelaide with her husband and twin sons. Her website is at www.fionamcintosh.com.

    Her latest book, The Scrivener's Tale, is a stand-alone and takes us back to the world of Morgravia from her very first series, The Quickening:


    About The Scrivener's Tale:

    In the bookshops and cafes of present-day Paris, ex-psychologist Gabe Figaret is trying to put his shattered life back together. When another doctor, Reynard, asks him to help with a delusional female patient, Gabe is reluctant... until he meets her. At first Gabe thinks the woman, Angelina, is merely terrified of Reynard, but he quickly discovers she is not quite what she seems.

    As his relationship with Angelina deepens, Gabe's life in Paris becomes increasingly unstable. He senses a presence watching and following every move he makes, and yet he finds Angelina increasingly irresistible.

    When Angelina tells Gabe he must kill her and flee to a place she calls Morgravia, he is horrified. But then Angelina shows him that the cathedral he has dreamt about since childhood is real and exists in Morgravia.

    A special 10th Anniversary edition of her first fantasy book, Myrren's Gift, will be released in December!

     

     

What do you think of this cover?

Image of A Game of Thrones tv tie-in edition
A Game of Thrones TV tie-in edition

[click for whole cover at larger size]

We love it! It’s the tv-tie in cover to go with the HBO show, showing Sean Bean as Eddard Stark, and it is spectacular!

20 Responses

  1. Holy crap, Sean Bean!?

    I’ve had this series on my short list to read for a while 🙂 This has just pushed it up the list.

  2. I avoid TV/Movie tie in covers. Luckily enough I already have this series. If I didn’t, I’d avoid this.

  3. I understand the need to promote the new series/movie, but they generally annoy me. I don’t buy books based on popularity and promoting a book like this feels too much like that for me.

    • I get that, Skaldi. Sometimes if feels like the overlap of the film series onto the original books isn’t in keeping with the spirit of the story or is a promotional device. Harry Potter lunch box?. In this case, I love Sean Bean and the expression they captured of him on that throne made of weapons, and the raven, (of course I’m a sucker for these birds) feels very powerful to me. Very brooding. I’ve only just started reading the series.

      But your comments got me thinking. True Blood, another novel series to HBO, has very different poster and DVD art than the books. I’m wonder if the books will be re-released with new covers. I actually like the HBO art better. Have you seen the newest poster? Eric and Sookie but subtle! I would like this as a book cover.

      Bottom line, I’d read Harris, or Martin, or any favourite author without cover art at all! (Actually, I do on my kindle!) but I feel drawn to some art more than others when shopping! It’s such a personal thing.

      Ideally it would be like LibraryThing where you get to put your preferred cover on the book! Maybe that’s the next step in eReaders!

      🙂

      • I like the HBO art too – I don’t find the original covers that imaginative, although they are striking and do hold the series look together.
        But I suspect I like the HBO art for another reason 😉

      • Yep, me too. Same reason 🙂

        And also the art is more sophisticated. I think it’s a better match to the story. I wonder how much creative input Harris has in the covers?

    • I don’t really understand what you mean, here, to be honest. Because I think any book cover is intended to appeal to as wide an audience as possible to increase sales of the book. And the idea behind the tv tie-in is that viewers may recognise the book and realise it inspired the tv series and buy it.
      By popularity do you mean you don’t buy books just because they are in the bestseller list or heavily promoted through other means like ad campaigns?

  4. Not bad!

    Does anyone know if the series is going to air here in Australia?

    Anyone at all?

    • ‘According to Conan Stevens,it will be coming to Australia — a possible July air date on Showcase, a premium channel which can be found on the Foxtel, Optus, and Austar television platforms.’

      Sounds promising! 🙂

      • Of course, paid TV. Boo.

        Hopefully Showcase streams their TV shows on their website. (I’m glad channel ten does this for Glee!!) Otherwise I’ll have to wait super impatiently to get it on DVD.

      • I’m with Jess – I don’t have Pay TV and refuse to get it as I don’t believe it’s worth the investment.

        Still, I do look forward to experiencing this – if the show is received poorly, I can still read George’s books and get the REAL story 😉

      • We have heard both May and July … so fingers crossed. I guess on the good side for those of us who have read the books, no spoilers haha.
        I doubt Showcase will stream it because it’s a Pay TV channel – at least not without you having a Foxtel account and password to login. If only! 🙂

  5. The books are brilliant–I have read them all as well as entering into all kinds of speculations as to what may/may not happen as the story plays out. No cover will ever beat the very first US Steven Yuell (sp?) cover for me, with Jon Snow, I believe, riding through the wintry landscape (Winter, after all, is coming!) But I think this cover both captures the feeling of the book and the character of Ned Stark very well. Great casting.

  6. Don’t know the epic yet msyelf, but purely as a design for a throne, the one in picture looks pretty damn imposing!
    For me, the raven really increases the starkness of the scene.

    Cheers, Tim/’Farnwyn’

  7. Does anyone here know if the whole series will be released in the new slip cased edition or just the first novel?

  8. http://www.dymocks.com.au/ImageHandler.ashx?w=200&q=9780007876440
    My hard copy of Game of thrones with the ISBN 9780007876440 on its attribution page is copyright to Robin Hobb 1995. Could you tell me why please? It was purchased at dymocks in Ringwood, Melbourne, Australia

Leave a Reply

