• Fiona McIntosh: Voyager Author of the Month

    Fiona McIntosh was born and raised in Sussex in the UK, but also spent early childhood years in West Africa. She left a PR career in London to travel and settled in Australia in 1980. She has since roamed the world working for her own travel publishing company, which she runs with her husband. She lives in Adelaide with her husband and twin sons. Her website is at www.fionamcintosh.com.

    Her latest book, The Scrivener's Tale, is a stand-alone and takes us back to the world of Morgravia from her very first series, The Quickening:


    About The Scrivener's Tale:

    In the bookshops and cafes of present-day Paris, ex-psychologist Gabe Figaret is trying to put his shattered life back together. When another doctor, Reynard, asks him to help with a delusional female patient, Gabe is reluctant... until he meets her. At first Gabe thinks the woman, Angelina, is merely terrified of Reynard, but he quickly discovers she is not quite what she seems.

    As his relationship with Angelina deepens, Gabe's life in Paris becomes increasingly unstable. He senses a presence watching and following every move he makes, and yet he finds Angelina increasingly irresistible.

    When Angelina tells Gabe he must kill her and flee to a place she calls Morgravia, he is horrified. But then Angelina shows him that the cathedral he has dreamt about since childhood is real and exists in Morgravia.

    A special 10th Anniversary edition of her first fantasy book, Myrren's Gift, will be released in December!

     

     

Bring a Friend Giveaway

The Quantum series so far …

Win two Kim Falconer books of your choice, one for you and one for a friend!

With the second book in her latest trilogy, bestselling author Kim Falconer delivers another searing and imaginative journey of intimacy and adventure, magic and technology. Road to the Soul returns to the hidden world of Gaela, an agrarian based magical world where all things — animal, tree, stone, river and storm — are considered equal. Grounded in heavy research in magic and ancient astrology, her novels are fast making her a leading name in local fantasy.

This is the opportunity for you to win a book for yourself and introduce a friend to the world of speculative fiction! To win, tell us in the comments which of Kim’s books you would like for yourself and which for your friend, and why.

Please comment before 5pm on Tuesday 15 March (aka the Ides of March!).

You can choose from the Quantum Enchantment

 



 And the Quantum Encryption …

37 Responses

  1. I have never read any of Kim’s books but would LOVE to & my friend El would love to also.. she does book reviews on her blog 🙂 I think this would be up her alley! And MINE!

    • Hi Patti, don’t forget to tell us which books you’d want for you and El! I’d suggest getting The Spell of Rosette AND Path of the Stray – starting from two sides! Kim might have other ideas though!

      • I’m with the Captain, Patti. A Spell of Rosette and a Path of the Stray would be great starting points, though my son (alpha reader and cover artist for second series) is telling everyone to start with Road to the Soul! We had quite the discussion about it last night!

      • Oh yes! The Spell of Rosette & Path of the Stray!

  2. I would like to win Road to the Soul for my husband as he has Path of the Stray and loved it. It would be a great surprise for him to get this book. For myself I would like Kim’s first novel, The Spell of Rosette, as I am just discovering her work and would like to read her from the beginning. Thanks for considering my post. Regards, Jen Gale.

  3. I have read ALL your books (since going to your book signing in Syd @ galaxy books… where I was introduced to you after having read everything of Traci’s) & am wanting to read Road to the Soul (great title).. altho now in US & don’t have a kindle!! So would love that one & The Spell of Rosette, as I’ve given away my copy! Plus a copy of The Spell of Rosette to give my friend xo Thanks

    • Bianca! I remember you at the signing!! So pleased you’ve taken a fancy to the Earth/Gaela saga!

      Good luck in the draw. (If it were up to me I’d send everyone all my books! he he he)

      xxxKim

  4. Arrows of Time is next for me–I would love to get that, and The Spell of Rosette for my friend, Kate. I love everything Kim writes. From astrology to fantasy fiction, she is one of the best!!!!!!!

  5. Arrows of Time is next for me, and I’d love to give Spell of Rosette to my friend, Kate H. I’ve loved Kim’s writing for going on 7 years now, hard to believe!!

  6. I would love to read any of Kim’s books to review on my website and my friend Rachel would love Road to the Soul for her website http://www.ficitionalfantasy.com

  7. I’ve recently finished The Spell fo Rosette and woudl love to read the Arrows of TIme and Strange Attractors. Then to introduce my friend Megan to Kim’s work it woudl be fantastic for her to read Path of the Stray and Road to the Soul 🙂

  8. Unfortunately I haven’t read any of Kim’s books but have been eyeing them off for some time. It’s just a matter of wants and needs and money – if I had money all my wants would be needs! Hehe.

    So I guess to start off I’d need The Spell of Rosette and for my friend – Path of the Stray. That way when we’re done we can swap and talk about them. Plus starting from the first book/s in a series is always handy…

  9. I am sorry to say I haven’t read any Kim Falconer but having read the blurbs they all sound fascinating. I would love to read Path of the Stray and for my friend Road to the Soul. Great titles by the way.

    I promise to review them when I am finished 🙂

    Regards

    Paula

  10. As I said on Twitter a little earlier today, “@VoyagerBooks @KimFalconer Holy crap! “The Spell of Rosette” sounds awesome! I’m gonna get my hands on that, winner or not!”

    With such distinctive covers, I’m sad to say that I’ve not seen Kim’s books on the shelves of my local bookstores. Still, not one to judge a book by its cover, I took a look at the blurb for The Spell of Rosette and was immediately taken.

    My best mate and I have similar tastes in books, as does my wife, so the two that I’d love to get would be the first two: The Spell of Rosette & Arrows of Time.

    Should I not “win” this comment contest, I’ll still be getting these books as soon as possible!

    Thanks to Voyager & Kim for coming to my attention this morning and delivering a ton of awesome reading to quench my thirst for words!

    • You made it here! Was great chatting with you on @twitter this morning! Your comment, ‘Holy crap . . .’, totally got my attention!

      🙂 Kim

      • Ha! That’s me: blunt and edgy with my onlineguage ;P

        Was really great talking to you too. I’m always online, so expect me to be stalking your tweet(foot)steps 😉

  11. Ooh, tough decision!

    Actually, not so tough – I love (and already own) ALL of Kim’s novels so I have two options that would make me do the shiny happy dance.

    Option 1 – a copy of Spell of Rosette for me, and another for a friend. That way I can introduce TWO friends to Kim’s marvellous worlds. Those friends will probably be Laura from my old day job, and my 13yo niece Olivia. I’d get to introduce a new generation!

    Option 2 – a copy of Spell of Rosette for Olivia and a raincheck on Book THREE of the Quantum Encryption series (don’t worry, I’ll remind you when the time comes LOL!)

    Good luck to everyone in the running 😉

    • I was wondering if anybody would put dibs on Journey by Night!

      Now I’m wondering if we actually still say ‘dibs’ . . .

      Love the idea of a new generation of readers. Will she be old enough for scenes like page 544 of POTS (s-e-x) or page 359 of RTTS . . . the laboratory in Orn? Maybe if it takes a year or so to get through the first series!

      🙂 Kim

      • Hehehe, hanging out now for JBN. Thank goodness I have lots to keep me going till then (including remainder of Aussiecon TBR pile – eek!)

        My niece has always been mature for her years (read “13 going on 35”). When Twilight first came out, her mother asked me why all her (the mum’s) friends were reading it and we had a good chat about how the only “bad boys” left were vamps. At which point Olivia rolled her eyes and said she hated Twilight because everyone in it is SO immature. And why are the girls so NEEDY?

        I think she was 11 at the time….

        Suspect I’ll be giving her Rosette for Xmas regardless! And as for the s-e-x, she probably knows more about it than I do…. 😉

  12. I’d love to at least give you a copy of my book of poemshapes, compettion aside here…

    I would, though, love to be the recipient of two copies of your current book, “Road to the Soul” as you’d have garnered all your experience till now – into it ~ and because I’d like v. much to share something substantive with friend (mutual?), Cat, a Byron healer & lover of books so relevant – & who also cares for several cats. (An avid reader, she has probably read your previous works & I know she’d relate to this one – as would I!)
    The closest I’ve been able to be to ‘earth magic’ influences here in Byron – these days – has been my attendance at workshops (?!) held by Lucy Cavendish. She’s 10 yrs younger…………………..

    • Lucy is a beautiful soul 🙂 You’re very lucky to attend her workshops – I only get to see her when she comes down for the Melbourne Mind Body Spirit Festivals 🙂

  13. I would love road to the soul cause i havent got it yet and really waiting till i can get it to read it as i have read the rest. My friend would like spell of rosette as she is really interested in them after i told her wat they are about

  14. Lucy’s pretty ‘spesh’, yes. We hold monthly circles -(at the back of Scott Alexander’s ‘Animal Dreaming’ shop in Jonson St.) which attract mainly women healers- from various areas. There may only be one or two more before she leaves on another trip to Britain to view sacred sites with her Mum & daughter & a couple of friends.
    My book, Sea Moon, is on the shelf at Scott’s shop. If you’d like a copy, I’ll simply take one into the shop so he can place it there (in it’s holder of 10) after you’ve collected one… yip?
    It occured to me (while lying sleepless in these wee hrs) that maybe a copy of your first book of the trilogy might be preferable, in that I could then absorb myself into ‘that world’ at its inception… & if Cat’s read it, I could give it to Lucy. 🙂

  15. Another give away? Awesome!

    I would get “Arrows of Time” for my brother because he’s moving towards the science fiction side of the speculative spectrum, but I think this would feed his love of science and incorporates both fantasy and SF. Plus it’s got bards (his no-longer secret obsession).

    For myself I would get “The Spell of the Rosette” because of the term ‘techno-witch’. Who doesn’t want to find out more about that?

  16. Another give away? Awesome!

    I would get “Arrows of Time” for my brother because he’s moving towards the science fiction side of the speculative spectrum. I think this would feed his love of science *and* incorporates fantasy and SF (plus it’s got bards – his no-longer-secret obsession).

    For myself I would get “The Spell of the Rosette” because of the term ‘techno-witch’. Who doesn’t want to find out more about that?

  17. I am a fellow Aussie and BIG fan of Kim’s work! She is infact, my newest favourite author. She surpasses my wildest fantasy dreams. Her characters and worlds leave me in sheer awe.
    I would LOVE “Road to the Soul” As I own all of Kim’s other books! I just finished “Path of the Stray” earlier this year and really want to know what happens next! For my best friend, sister and fellow fantasy buff, I would love “The Spell of Rosette” to introduce her to an amazing author that I just KNOW for a fact she will fall head over heels for!
    99% of our bookshelves are filled with Australian authors as we support our locals and Aussies just happen to kick butt on the international fantasy scene as well! I’d definitely place Kim Falconer up there with Terry Brooks and in my eyes, he is an absolute LEGEND! 🙂

  18. I have a friend who is a true SF fiend that I would love to introduce Kim’s series to – not many people have heard of the Quantum series in Sweden (I’m the only one I know :-)) so I’m hoping The Path of the Stray will be a new and fresh experience for her (This is the best book to start with IMHO).

    For myself, I’d like A Road to the Soul since it is the only one I haven’t read yet. I am so, so grateful that I hung out over at the good vibe coach blog when Jeanette Maw sang its praises!

  19. […] and chatting away to folks as I do, when I noticed that Voyager Books (@voyagerbooks) was running a giveaway competition for an author by the name of Kim Falconer […]

  20. Just thought I should stop by and say thanks to the Voyager folks. The book arrived yesterday and so far looks great! =)

  21. I know Laneth =) – congrats on first prize. Sounds like you’ll be spreading the love around – hope your goodies are waiting for you.

    Who runs a competition these days and just quietly throws in extra prizes like that? Nice work VO and Kim.

Leave a Reply

