• Fiona McIntosh: Voyager Author of the Month

    Fiona McIntosh was born and raised in Sussex in the UK, but also spent early childhood years in West Africa. She left a PR career in London to travel and settled in Australia in 1980. She has since roamed the world working for her own travel publishing company, which she runs with her husband. She lives in Adelaide with her husband and twin sons. Her website is at www.fionamcintosh.com.

    Her latest book, The Scrivener's Tale, is a stand-alone and takes us back to the world of Morgravia from her very first series, The Quickening:


    About The Scrivener's Tale:

    In the bookshops and cafes of present-day Paris, ex-psychologist Gabe Figaret is trying to put his shattered life back together. When another doctor, Reynard, asks him to help with a delusional female patient, Gabe is reluctant... until he meets her. At first Gabe thinks the woman, Angelina, is merely terrified of Reynard, but he quickly discovers she is not quite what she seems.

    As his relationship with Angelina deepens, Gabe's life in Paris becomes increasingly unstable. He senses a presence watching and following every move he makes, and yet he finds Angelina increasingly irresistible.

    When Angelina tells Gabe he must kill her and flee to a place she calls Morgravia, he is horrified. But then Angelina shows him that the cathedral he has dreamt about since childhood is real and exists in Morgravia.

    A special 10th Anniversary edition of her first fantasy book, Myrren's Gift, will be released in December!

     

     

One choice decides … everything

Pass initiation. Do not fail…

 

ONE CHOICE DECIDES YOUR FRIENDS, DEFINES YOUR BELIEFS AND DETERMINES YOUR LOYALTIES … FOREVER.

In sixteen-year-old Beatrice’s world, society is divided into five factions – Abnegation (the selfless), Candor (the honest), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent) – each dedicated to the cultivation of a particular virtue, in the attempt to form a “perfect society.” At the age of sixteen, teens must choose the faction to which they will devote their lives.

Everyone’s talking about this book and it hasn’t even hit the shelves yet! This is the opportunity for you to win one of the advance reading copies which are in hot demand – we only have one left!  To win, tell us which faction you think you would choose, and why.

Remember that for all a faction’s good points, there are bad. Being selfless is one thing, always having to say yes is another. Honesty seems like the right thing, until you insult someone with your true thoughts. Bravery is to be commended, unless it is misinterpreted and becomes foolhardy posturing. Peace only goes so far … standing back to do nothing will not keep the peace. And intelligence and knowledge can be used for evil as well as good.

Competition now closed. Congratulations to Zena Shapter, who won the copy of Divergent. If you didn’t win, don’t worry, finished copies of Divergent will be out on 1 May 2011.

32 Responses

  1. I’m definitely going with the divergent faction. I’m way to multifaceted for one group only. Some people say it’s a short attention span. I’m thinking more ‘curious-exploratory’.

    Wow, this book looks fascinating! Love the cover. When is the release date?

  2. The Erudite Faction – with knowledge anything can be achieved. There is an explanation for everything after all knowledge is power.

  3. I would have to choose Amity. The idea of peace is always an attractive one. It was a hard choice!

  4. Erudite – Too much knowledge is dangerous and powerful and how thrilling is that!!

  5. would like to think I would fall into the…. Dauntless (the brave), Being a strong personality would translate into this group…….This story sounds Fantastic! Can’t wait.
    veltara(at)yahoo(dot)com

  6. Candor, I’ve always said if you can handle what I say to your face, you never have to worry about what I say behind your back.

    Which sounds quite noble, really *vbg*

  7. Erudite. I LIKE that knowledge can be used for evil as well as good. Overlordship here I come.

  8. Variety is the spice of life, so I’d be a divergent. I like individuality and believe we’re all good at something, enjoy co-operation and wouldn’t mind being thought of as unpredictably dangerous and an unknown entity.

    • In the book, being a Divergent is something you keep under wraps. If they knew … you’d be the one in danger 🙂 But I think most of us at Voyager HQ have agreed we’d be Divergents!

  9. I’d choose Candor, because I’m more honest than I am selfless, brave, peaceful or intelligent 😉

  10. I would choose Amity.. I have been a peace keeper all my life..

  11. I’d choose ‘Candor’ and at the risk of being seen as a smarty-pants, I’d like to note a misspeling: “ONCE CHOICE DECIDES YOUR FRIENDS, DEFINES…” – I think it’s supposed to be: “ONE’S CHOICE…” (I just can’t stand it)

    But, the book sounds terrific! Will be keeping an eye out! Cheers!

  12. Have to be Divergent. The book sounds really interesting.

    • Forgot to say why, whoops. Too busy writing.

      Why? I rarely fitted into groups, have always been…divergent. Just seems to fit.

  13. The Erudite Faction…knowledge is a gift to enlighten the soul.

  14. I’d choose Amity. Everyone deserves peace.

  15. I’m a bit of a peacemaker, so I’d probably be born into AMITY. However, if I could, I’d choose DAUNTLESS because ‘bravery’ sounds so much more fun. Not only that, but being brave could apply to every action in life, overlapping between all the different groups.

    We’re brave when we try to learn something new and increase our intelligence. Honesty and selflessness requires bravery. And helping two opposing sides to understand their differences requires you to be brave enough to empathize and communicate.

    I love this idea!!! Of course I expect there’s no overlapping in the book! Congratulations on a great concept.

  16. I would have to choose Abnegation – though Divergent was a close second. Always having to say yes seems like it would make life interesting. Almost like in those stories of cursed princes 😉 They always have a happy ending, right?

    The novel sounds amazing. And if Nat liked it, I know I will too! She hasn’t lead me wrong yet 🙂

  17. I am DYING to read this book! I’ve been stalking every review site for months waiting for people to post their thoughts. Then they did. And I became more crazed as I realised how flipping good it is *sigh*

    If I were in that situation, I’m pretty sure I’d go the Divergent route. Because no one trait can dictate the actions of this brave (and mildly psychotic), peaceful, intelligent mind of mine. However, when lured in by temptation – as I am right now – with a shiny copy of Divergent flaunting it’s sexiness at me… I would go with Erudite.

    Why? Intelligence is the only thing that will stop me from storming the Harper Collins office and leaving it’s employees in a distraught craze as I steal every last copy of Divergent they have to offer. Instead, using my super-intelligence, I’ll just intercept the next shipment of HC books and hold them for ransom until I get my ARC. Buahahaha….. ahem, I think I best wrap up my comment now.

    Thanks so much for the amazing giveaway!!

  18. I’m going to go with Erudite. Knowledge isn’t good or evil, people are. I’m all for knowledge for its own sake. It also seems to be the most morally ambiguous of the factions, and I like me some grey areas.

  19. Even though I would want to be a bit of all them, Dauntless is what I would choose. I am probably going to regret this pick after reading the book. But because it sounds more adventureous and like it would require lots of saving the world!

    Can’t wait for this book! Thank you for the giveaway

  20. The Erudite Faction would be my choice. The ability to learn can conquer all. I would LOOOOOOOVE to read this book!

  21. Oh no! I did not see the part about the contest being only for Australians. Darn!

  22. Will we be finding out the lucky winner or will they just be emailed?

    If it’s not me, I promise I won’t incapacitate them….. much. Oh fine, I’ll be gentle 😉

Leave a Reply

