• Fiona McIntosh: Voyager Author of the Month

    Fiona McIntosh was born and raised in Sussex in the UK, but also spent early childhood years in West Africa. She left a PR career in London to travel and settled in Australia in 1980. She has since roamed the world working for her own travel publishing company, which she runs with her husband. She lives in Adelaide with her husband and twin sons. Her website is at www.fionamcintosh.com.

    Her latest book, The Scrivener's Tale, is a stand-alone and takes us back to the world of Morgravia from her very first series, The Quickening:


    About The Scrivener's Tale:

    In the bookshops and cafes of present-day Paris, ex-psychologist Gabe Figaret is trying to put his shattered life back together. When another doctor, Reynard, asks him to help with a delusional female patient, Gabe is reluctant... until he meets her. At first Gabe thinks the woman, Angelina, is merely terrified of Reynard, but he quickly discovers she is not quite what she seems.

    As his relationship with Angelina deepens, Gabe's life in Paris becomes increasingly unstable. He senses a presence watching and following every move he makes, and yet he finds Angelina increasingly irresistible.

    When Angelina tells Gabe he must kill her and flee to a place she calls Morgravia, he is horrified. But then Angelina shows him that the cathedral he has dreamt about since childhood is real and exists in Morgravia.

    A special 10th Anniversary edition of her first fantasy book, Myrren's Gift, will be released in December!

     

     

Hip hip hooray: hardbacks for Voyager’s birthday!

Finally we can share with you the five beautiful hardbacks we are releasing for Voyager’s 15th Birthday. Raymond Feist’s Magician, Robin Hobb’s Assassin’s Apprentice, Sara Douglass’ Battleaxe, George R R Martin’s A Game of Thrones and Kylie Chan’s White Tiger have all been reworked into amazing Collector’s Editions. Here they are, in all their glory!

The five special edition Voyager 15 Collector’s Editions

Beautiful hardbacks, embellished covers, a ribbon marker and a new introduction to Voyager from Publishing Director Jane Johnson – a must have for any Voyager fan.

They are available EXCLUSIVELY at Dymocks now at the great price of $32.99. Go and check them out for yourself!

P.S. As you all know Kylie Chan and George R R Martin are appearing at WorldCon – why not take your Collector’s Edition along to get signed?

Do you love Voyager? Are you looking forward to WorldCon? Have you invited all your friends to join our Facebook fan page? Let us know by commenting below and we’ll randomly pick a lucky winner who will receive a complete set of our 15th Birthday Hardbacks! (Australian residents only). Competition ends on 30 Sept 2010.

THIS COMPETITION IS NOW CLOSED.

50 Responses

  1. The hardbacks look beautiful! I can’t wait for WorldCon – it’ll be my first proper convention, and it’s going to be so. freakin’. awesome.

    Happy Birthday!

  2. I’m looking forward to WorldCon–it’ll be my first big convention, so no doubt an opportunity to meet all manner of interesting people. Although I’m a little bemused by the dress guidelines that specifically recommend against pointy things and nudity. Oh dear!

  3. OOoo So pretty! And you’ve picked some of the best Voyager books for this! If only I were in Australia… the things I’d do to get my little mitts on Robin Hobb in hardcover 🙂

    Happy Birthday & have a great con!

  4. Oooh. Hardcover Magician *swoons* Magician was the book that hooked me on fantasy (ahem, and now it slightly dominates my life!). So purty…

    Happy birthday! Looking forward to the weekend, and the party, although we’ll be fashionably late (and hopefully sporting fabulous Ditmar accessories!) 🙂

    Oh, and Facebooking accomplished 🙂

  5. Those look awesome!
    Inner-bibliophile is raging…

  6. Oh! They all look amazing (and read amazing as well of course)
    I wish I could go to Worldcon – alas! I will have to remain on the other side of the country being jealous of everyone there…

  7. Counting down to Worldcon, have been going through the program and making up a list of Do Not Miss sessions. What a great selection of hardcovers – love these books!

  8. Wow, these are absolutely beautiful. I was just admiring Assassin’s Apprentice in the bookstore the other day!

    I can’t wait for WorldCon either. So exciting!

  9. Why does so much sf&f goodness come at once? If worldcin wasn’t enough, now anniversary Douglass and Martin? There’s some kind of secret society behind it all, mark my words.

  10. Oh how I wish I was going to Worldcon. I’d have packed a little wheelie suitcase full of all the books whose authors would be there just in case I got the chance to get them signed. One day…

    But Happy Birthday Voyager – those hardcovers look sooo pretty! 😀

  11. Oh they are so awesome. Would love to win this prize!

  12. The hardcovers look awesome! WorldCon sounds awesome

  13. Awesome-looking books!

    I am SOOOOO looking forward to Worldcon! I went when it was in Melbourne in 1985, my first Con experience and it hooked me on Cons forever. This year will be the year my teenage daughters get to experience Worldcon too – I can’t wait to see their faces as they learn how ‘not alone’ they are as Fantasy and Science Fiction reading teens.

  14. Wow. They all look wonderful. Why stop at five?

  15. Such beautiful editions. x

  16. Wow, a fantastic choice of books to put in hardcover. WorldCon is my very first con experience and I’ll be looking forward to seeing fellow fantasy/sci-fi readers around!

  17. They look fantastic. What a great choice of books for reworked covers. Would love to win this prize. I’m Aussie and proud! 🙂

  18. I love Voyager and I am super stoked for world con!

    Interesting choice of books and using the normal covers in hardcover format certainly looks different.

    (and yes, I live downunder)

  19. I wish there was a special edition of one of mine! I shall add it to my list of things to look forward to when I become a “name”.

    (I got to meet Simon Winchester yesterday. He’s a fascinating guy; I got his autograph for my collection!).

  20. Love all the books that you publish but to actually make them in hardcover? and all the authors i love too…thx

  21. I can’t believe it’s been 5 years since Voyager’s 10th birthday, which incidentally was the reason I actually got to my first con. I doubt I would have really discovered cons if it wasn’t for that birthday party – which I found out about through Voyager Online.

    I am looking forward to Worldcon so much that I’m going in early tomorrow to help out at pre-registration 😉

  22. Happy Birthday, Voyager!

    I love your books and publishing them in hardcover makes them even more lovable.

  23. What beautiful editions! I’ll look out for them in the Worldcon dealers’ room!

  24. Love those hardcover editions.

    Congratulations Voyager!

  25. *sigh*

    I would love to be at worldcon, but alas I’m not, instead I’m at home, plotting the downfall of a nation.

    The collection looks great!

  26. I think I am in love!

  27. Love them too! Beautiful..just beautiful!

  28. yay voyager. would love these books as much as i love voyager 🙂

  29. Hrm well I have no Facebook friends but I did reviiew “White Tiger” on my site. Does that count? 😉

  30. When e-books are becoming more and more popular and prevalent, it’s lovely to see that the art of making truly beautiful physical books has not been abandoned.

  31. OMG what a beautiful collection! Saw them briefly at Worldcon, and they’re even more beautiful in the flesh – delicious. 🙂

  32. Front and centre at AussieCon 4’s Dealer room, how could anyone miss them?

    What a magnificent collection!

    If only my pockets ran deeper…

  33. Love them! So beautiful, an asset to anyone’s bookshelf.

  34. These hardbacks look so good!

  35. I love Voyager because they publish the best books in the world! Those books are beautiful.

  36. You have chosen my favourite authors and books (except I haven’t read Kylie Chan’s one yet)!! I was at WorldCon4 – my first – and it was fabulous!! Managed to meet George RR Martin – pity Raymond Feist, Robin Hobb and Sara Douglass weren’t there – would have made decade. I am an avid reader and collector and have LOADS of Voyager 1st edn books from great authors and would love to add these to my ‘library’. Keep publishing great novels. Happy Birthday!!

  37. *DROOL* It’s the automatic response of a booklover! I work in a bookstore and still can’t get enough- it’s not healthy for the paycheck but thisis one addiction I refuse to kick. I’m a massive Sara Douglass fan and I see ‘BattleAxe’ in that pic…

    These are fantastic- Voyager is awesome! Happy Birthday 😀

  38. I LOVE Voyager Online and let everyone know via Facebook! Your books are amazing and take readers to another place thanks to the fantastic array of Author’s. Alas WorldCon I cannot attend, but this gorgeous volume of books would cheer me up no end!

  39. Please, please, please don’t put out a full collector’s set of George R R Martin’s A Song Of Ice And Fire series or Robin Hobb’s Farseer, Liveship or Rainwild series, or I will have to buy them all!

  40. Wow… it would be so hard to decide which book to read first. Voyager books are all so good.

  41. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!
    Congratulations too – the books are beautiful! Hard to beat a good hardback. Didn’t make it to WorldCon but was jealous of everyone that did.

    Keep up the good work Voyager, love your work!

  42. You can not beat the look and feel of a hardback book, and what a great price!

  43. The books look awesome. Thanks for 15 years of great reading and hope you have many more to come. Happy Birthday Voyager!!

  44. Hi:
    The hardcover prizes look beautiful and have some wonderful writers amongst them. My question is why does Australia continue to produce such outstanding SF/Fantasy writers. I’ve just discovered Duncan Lay, but he isn’t the first of the writers you’ve published. Any thoughts? Sorry I can’t win your prize since I’m in Canada.

  45. I read Magician when I was 15, and Assassin’s Apprentice a few years later … the others have always been on my ‘To Read’ list …
    Just in time for christmas, they’re now on my “wish List’ 🙂
    Thank you for wonderful authors, wonderful stories and wonderful moments. Happy Birthday!

  46. They look great and I must admit I saw one the other day that my friend had and in real life they look even better!Thankfully, my friend is quite an bookworm and although some of the books he reads I don’t much like he is the one who put me on to Raymond E. Feist AND Kylie Chan.Both were great books / series and Kylie’s Book 6 hopefully will be out real soon as I have read and reread books 1-5!This is a great way to celibrate your birthday (hardcovers) and we get the presents. Happy Birthday!!

  47. Great series, read them before. Hope I can grab a copy to give to my hubby!

  48. Happy birthday Voyager! Great competition to celebrate – haven’t gotten time to read the series yet, the overdue books seem to always catch up with me. Would love to win!

  49. I love hardbacks! I can bring them anywhere, without worrying that they’ll bend. This will be great for my trip to America later this year, won’t need to worry about anything. Please enter me and HAPPY BIRTHDAY 🙂

  50. Great choice of titles to make into the special edition hardbacks, Voyager! I love all those books, especially ‘Magician’! I have a collection of different editions going on… I could use another addition 😉

Leave a Reply

