• Fiona McIntosh: Voyager Author of the Month

    Fiona McIntosh was born and raised in Sussex in the UK, but also spent early childhood years in West Africa. She left a PR career in London to travel and settled in Australia in 1980. She has since roamed the world working for her own travel publishing company, which she runs with her husband. She lives in Adelaide with her husband and twin sons. Her website is at www.fionamcintosh.com.

    Her latest book, The Scrivener's Tale, is a stand-alone and takes us back to the world of Morgravia from her very first series, The Quickening:


    About The Scrivener's Tale:

    In the bookshops and cafes of present-day Paris, ex-psychologist Gabe Figaret is trying to put his shattered life back together. When another doctor, Reynard, asks him to help with a delusional female patient, Gabe is reluctant... until he meets her. At first Gabe thinks the woman, Angelina, is merely terrified of Reynard, but he quickly discovers she is not quite what she seems.

    As his relationship with Angelina deepens, Gabe's life in Paris becomes increasingly unstable. He senses a presence watching and following every move he makes, and yet he finds Angelina increasingly irresistible.

    When Angelina tells Gabe he must kill her and flee to a place she calls Morgravia, he is horrified. But then Angelina shows him that the cathedral he has dreamt about since childhood is real and exists in Morgravia.

    A special 10th Anniversary edition of her first fantasy book, Myrren's Gift, will be released in December!

     

     

Voyager 15

Here are the top fifteen bestselling Voyager books from 1995 until 2010. Spanning two centuries and now two decades, you’ll find the classics of fantasy below.

Which one is your favourite?
Which one did you read first?
Have you read them all, and if not, which one do you want to read next?
Do these fifteen deserve to be our top sellers of the last two decades?
Which books will be the top sellers over the next fifteen years?

Keep an eye on the Voyager 15 website for your chance to win all fifteen of these classics!

28 Responses

  1. “Which books will be the top sellers over the next fifteen years?”

    Mine! 😛

  2. I still remember when I first read “Magician” by Raymond E Feist…..it hit me like a bullet in the gut. The same with Robin Hobb’s “Royal Assassin” – I re-read that series at least once a year.

    • Me too – The Farseer (Assassins) trilogy is one of my favourites … and the fact that it continues over two more trilogies – and now the Rain Wild Chronicles duology is wonderful.
      Magician is just amazing – it doesn’t age – but I think I actually love the trilogy that Raymond Feist did with Janny Wurts more – the one that starts with Daughter of the Empire.
      Thanks for stopping by!

      • The Farseer trilogy is the one that I recommend to friends looking for fantasy, more than any other book. Well, besides the George R R Martin series *grin* It had been a long long time since I had got so caught up and invested in book characters before Fitz. Amazing series.

  3. I’ve only read three of them… but I own another two. Clearly I need to do more reading.

    I also love the Daughter of the Empire series 🙂

  4. I can read Magician over and over …

    I think Magician was one of my first, but I adore the Daughter of the Empire trilogy too! Mara and her political twists are a delectable memory.

    I’ve read most on the list. Currently reading Assassin’s Apprentice for the first time. At a guess, I’d say Royal Assassin is up next 🙂 And then Sara Douglas, somehow she’s ducked under my radar. Time to rectify.

  5. I’ve read all bar the later two Feist books.

    First was LOTR, naturally. Magician is the one I always recommend to people who have read LOTR and want something else.

    • Magician is a great read after LOTR. What do you recommend after Feist and the Father of Fantasy? Robin Hobb would be another good one in a similar league, I think, and closer to home in Australia Sara Douglass of course. One thing all these authors have in common is really epic world building and characters crossing through series when you least expect it …

      In the ‘new’ realm of fantasy – I think there’s some fascinating future epics … I know Kim Falconer is already working on her next trilogy with characters from the Quantum Enchantment trilogy. And we have an upcoming book called Legends of Australian Fantasy (out in June) in which eleven amazing Australian fantasy authors revisit old or new worlds in novellas … so Isobelle Carmody goes back to Obernewtyn, but in a different time to the series, and Cecilia Dart-Thornton revisits Erith …

  6. This is a great list but I’d love to see a top 15 series list.

    • We can certainly do that – any other top 15s you would like to see? We might do an Australian specific one too!

      • top 15 series would be great to see! and an australian only one too. What about the first 15 books Voyager published? Or the Top 15 favourites of the staff? (especially if some of the faves were of ones that maybe weren’t so well known, thus giving us something to search out!) Top 15 Favourite Characters? Top 15 Favourite Scenes? Top 15 Biggest Shocks When Reading? LOL

  7. I think what is surprising about the list is what is NOT there. Frankly, I’m astonished that Trudi Canavan didn’t make the cut. I am sure she is at the top of fantasy sell-outs in UK, and possibly US as well. I suspect that Karen Miller might be too.

    Is such a list then heavily weighted by the fact that all these books have been around since the first of those 15 years? I suspect that pretty much all of them have been selling for at least 10 years, and most of them even more?

    I think my favourite would be the Hobb.

    And I’m with Katie. In another 15 yrs I want my books up there!!

    Glenda

    • This particular list is bestsellers overall in the last 15 years, but we plan to do an Australian-only one, and ones that focus on different years to show the different skews.

      You’re certainly right that the length of time these books have been out has an effect on the sales – it’s just fun to see the different lists come up!

    • Meant to add that I think global availability is probably another thing – everyone around the world has heard of these authors and titles – and they often make the A&R top 100 and other such lists because they are so well known!

      • I’m with Glenda and Katie! he he he Love to see my series on a list like this some day. It does make a difference if they are international or Aussie. I would think Traci Harding’ would be up there too.

        I’ve read all of David Eddings, Robin Hobb and of course LOTR. I have more to read of Feist and Sara Douglass. I think my fav is LOTR…and Eddings, and Hobb…oh they are all favourites in different ways!

        It’s fun to see these titles, and the special events for Voyager 15. Glenda, I so enjoyed reading your first book story. Has everyone seen it?

        Wonderful!

        🙂 Kim

  8. I can’t believe that, despite how long I’ve been reading fantasy, despite my heaving shelves and toppling book piles, all I can manage is a puny 6!
    Axis trilogy? Check. Farseer series? Check. Lord of the Rings? Yep.
    Somehow I never got around to trying Feist or Eddings, although I am reasonably certain I sneak-read chunks when I was writing for an FSF magazine. I’ll have to add them to the list. Because, you know, THAT’S not long enough already!

    I am surprised by how few names there are on the list but at the same time that’s an interesting snapshot of reading habits over the past 15 years. Would be really interesting to see how that has changed ie: the 15 top sellers 15 years ago versus the 15 now.

    • For Eddings initiation, I would recommend the Belgariad Series. It’s five volumes plus two extras–Polgara and Belgarath. Lengthy but very satisfying once it gets going.

      My favorite!

      🙂 Kim

  9. I must say I read all fifteen books shown above. The David and Leigh Eddings books is the most that started me seriously to want to write. I always read the Lord of the Rings like every year and I just got myself another edition for a cheap sale(second edition). Now I am on the search for the first edition.

    My favourite is Lord of the Rings and my first as well.

    I think that these fifteen are the best of the two decades. They deserve their place. I am happy with the pick at least there is Sara Douglas the earliest one I know for Australia and among the greats I like most. The only one Robin Hobb is the latest one I have read because a year ago I had heard of and a voyager online person who frequent the site recommended it and I like her/his work.

    Well I think these fifteen will still be the best in fifteen years to come. All I wait for is the other lists to come out and I could then say more.

    However, if I can predict the other lists, then these names I’ll pick; Jennifer Fallon, Karen Miller, Glenda Larke, Russell Kirkpatrick and these are just a few that I know of from the top of my mind. There are others but my mind is very much jumble to remember them.

  10. Yes, Traci! How could I forget her? And Jenny has always sold well too.

    I think Feist’s Magician will remain a classic forever. Eddings I think is a wonderful intro for young adults into the world of epic fantasy series. His books seems to fade quickly from most people’s radar – they were great at first, but then most people move on to more complex stories.

    Yes, I think Sara was the first of the modern Australian fantasy novels for adults, certainly the first that hit the big time on the international scene. We later Voyager authors owe her a lot – had she flopped, would Voyager Australia have been so successful and gone from strength to strength? 🙂

    • Yes, Jenny too–an she has her books in the states as well, and other countries?

      Good point on Eddings as an introduction. My son read over 15 Eddings titles from age 11 to 13. He very quickly moved on to Terry Goodkind, Hobbs and others. (He’s quite well versed in SF/F now and my highly valued critic/alpha reader)

      Sara has blazed the trail in so many ways!
      🙂

    • I find what you say about Eddings series quite interesting – I’ve never really thought of it as “young adult” before, but I think I can see that. I have very fond memories of the Belgariad and the characters (particularly Silk!), but I’ve found during MANY re-reads over the years, that it just wasn’t enthralling me as much as it once did. It felt a little too “simplistic” (for want of a better word). The ‘Polgara’ novel tho, I find that I CAN re-read that and still thoroughly enjoy it.

      As a beginning point for younger readers tho, yes, I think it’s definitely a good start – I was thrilled when my son went from being a stumbling non-reader to discovering the Deltora series and making a giant leap almost overnight to fluent reader, and came to me asking for more books and I gave him my Eddings books. Which he devoured and came back asking for more. LOL. He’s now as big a bookworm as I am.

  11. I’ve read (and own) all but The Redemption of Althalus.

    I think I read LoTR first, then either Magician or Battleaxe. But all of them are fantastic. I don’t think I could pick a favourite.

    It will be interesting to see a top 15 of Australian authors.

  12. JMarshall – perhaps Eddings is not so much YA, as a good entry point for anyone. After all, I was not a YA when I read and enjoyed the Belgariad (I came to fantasy as a genre late!). But I quickly moved on, before I’d even read all that Eddings had to offer.

  13. I’m like Jess. I have all but Redemption of Althalus.

    My only comment is that it is an amazing Achievement for Sara to have so many books in the top 15. I also can’t believe that there are so many books by Feist in the list. Don’t get me wrong, Magician has a place in my heart.

  14. When you started the whole voyager 15 it was advertised that Battleaxe buy Douglass would be released in hard cover- if this still the case and if so when?
    Thanks
    Paul

  15. Hi Paul,

    These gorgeous hardbacks will be available in September and sold exclusively through Dymocks – if you subscribe to their Booklover e- newsletter I’m sure they will announce when they hit the shelves.

Leave a Reply

