• Fiona McIntosh: Voyager Author of the Month

    Fiona McIntosh was born and raised in Sussex in the UK, but also spent early childhood years in West Africa. She left a PR career in London to travel and settled in Australia in 1980. She has since roamed the world working for her own travel publishing company, which she runs with her husband. She lives in Adelaide with her husband and twin sons. Her website is at www.fionamcintosh.com.

    Her latest book, The Scrivener's Tale, is a stand-alone and takes us back to the world of Morgravia from her very first series, The Quickening:


    About The Scrivener's Tale:

    In the bookshops and cafes of present-day Paris, ex-psychologist Gabe Figaret is trying to put his shattered life back together. When another doctor, Reynard, asks him to help with a delusional female patient, Gabe is reluctant... until he meets her. At first Gabe thinks the woman, Angelina, is merely terrified of Reynard, but he quickly discovers she is not quite what she seems.

    As his relationship with Angelina deepens, Gabe's life in Paris becomes increasingly unstable. He senses a presence watching and following every move he makes, and yet he finds Angelina increasingly irresistible.

    When Angelina tells Gabe he must kill her and flee to a place she calls Morgravia, he is horrified. But then Angelina shows him that the cathedral he has dreamt about since childhood is real and exists in Morgravia.

    A special 10th Anniversary edition of her first fantasy book, Myrren's Gift, will be released in December!

     

     

  • Advertisements

Profisize to winn a kopi ov Spellwright!

In February one of the most hotly anticipated new stars of fantasy delivers his first novel: Spellwright.

Blake Charlton has already attracted praise from some of the biggest names in fantasy fiction including Tad Williams, Robin Hobb and Kevin J. Anderson, for his highly original and engaging debut.

Set in a fantasy world where language holds extraordinary power, this book is perfect for fans of Robin Hobb and Tad Williams.

When language holds extraordinary power ... you want to get your spelling right!

In a world where words can come to life, an inability to spell can be a dangerous thing. And no one knows this better than apprentice wizard Nicodemus Weal.

Nicodemus is a cacographer, unable to reproduce even simple magical texts without ‘misspelling’ – a mistake which can have deadly consequences. He was supposed to be the Halcyon, a magic-user of unsurpassed power, destined to save the world; instead he is restricted to menial tasks, and mocked for his failure to live up to the prophecy.

But not everyone interprets prophecy in the same way. There are some factions who believe a cacographer such as Nicodemus could hold great power – power that might be used as easily for evil as for good. And when two of the wizards closest to Nicodemus are found dead, it becomes clear that some of those factions will stop at nothing to find the apprentice and bend him to their will…

’Nicodemus Weal is a protagonist that all of us can identify with. SPELLWRIGHT is a letter-perfect story: an absorbing read and recommended.’ Robin Hobb

Voyager is giving readers the chance to win one of five copies. For your chance to win simply answer the following question in 25 words or less:

What is your prophecy for 2010 and why? You can either email your answer to voyager@harpercollins.com.au (putting ‘Spellwright’ in the subject) or post a comment here.

Terms and conditions are here. The competition is only open to Australian residents.

 

Advertisements