• Fiona McIntosh: Voyager Author of the Month

    Fiona McIntosh was born and raised in Sussex in the UK, but also spent early childhood years in West Africa. She left a PR career in London to travel and settled in Australia in 1980. She has since roamed the world working for her own travel publishing company, which she runs with her husband. She lives in Adelaide with her husband and twin sons. Her website is at www.fionamcintosh.com.

    Her latest book, The Scrivener's Tale, is a stand-alone and takes us back to the world of Morgravia from her very first series, The Quickening:


    About The Scrivener's Tale:

    In the bookshops and cafes of present-day Paris, ex-psychologist Gabe Figaret is trying to put his shattered life back together. When another doctor, Reynard, asks him to help with a delusional female patient, Gabe is reluctant... until he meets her. At first Gabe thinks the woman, Angelina, is merely terrified of Reynard, but he quickly discovers she is not quite what she seems.

    As his relationship with Angelina deepens, Gabe's life in Paris becomes increasingly unstable. He senses a presence watching and following every move he makes, and yet he finds Angelina increasingly irresistible.

    When Angelina tells Gabe he must kill her and flee to a place she calls Morgravia, he is horrified. But then Angelina shows him that the cathedral he has dreamt about since childhood is real and exists in Morgravia.

    A special 10th Anniversary edition of her first fantasy book, Myrren's Gift, will be released in December!

     

     

Voyager authors at Conflux

So, here is where you can find Voyager authors – and the panel with Stephanie Smith, our Associate Publisher (and Head of the Kingdom) at Conflux in Canberra over the weekend:

Friday:
12:30pm – Workshop with Jack Dann – Keys to the Kingdom

Saturday:
10am – Panel Vampires: Keri Arthur, Tracey O’Hara, Jane Virgo (chair)
3:30pm – Panel Authors and Editors – Jim Minz, Stephanie Smith, Richard Harland, Robert Hood
5:30pm – Author in Residence: Duncan Lay

Sunday
9am – Kaffeeklatsch with Duncan Lay
11am – Panel – The Secrets of Writing Humour – Richard Harland(c), Duncan Lay, Val Toh
12:30pm Panel – Fantasy Literature Panel – Sabrina de Souza, Duncan Lay, KJ Taylor, Jenny Blackford(c)
1:30pm – Panel -Where to From Here? After The First Novel Richard Harland, KJ Taylor, Others TBA
3:30pm – Panel – Writing 101 (or “The Things I Wish Some Had Told Me When I Was Starting Out”)
Keri Arthur, Jim Minz, Nicole Murphy (c), KJ Taylor
6pm – Literary Beer with Jack Dann

Monday
12:30pm – Panel – Beating Writers Block – Jack Dann, Richard Harland, Karen Herkes
… simultaneous with …
Panel – Twitteratii – Alan Baxter, Rachel Kerr(c), Nicole Murphy
2pm – Panel Fictional History – Jack Dann, Richard Harland, Dave Luckett(c), Gillian Polack

Full program can be found here.

24 Responses

  1. You missed my Fantasy Literature panel at 12:30 on Sunday!

  2. Spotted a few of the Voyager authors at the Opening Ceremony. 🙂
    Good, light atmosphere on the first night, so looking forward to a great long weekend of specfic.

  3. Sounds wonderful, Tim. Please keep us ‘stay at homes’ in the loop!

  4. Cheers, Kim!
    Will do my best re: updates during event*, but will have a bit more time for substantial comments in days after it.
    Tim/Farnwyn

    *NB – I’ll be putting postcard-size updates on my facebook page.

  5. Thanks Tim,

    I thought I had you on Facebook but no….How do I find you? (I mean, there are a LOT of Tim Miller’s in the mix)

  6. Went, listened, did some talking and had fun, but decided to keep a fairly low profile. I wasn’t in the mood for big-noting myself! I was very pleased and excited to meet Duncan, and Tracy, and “Vertigo” in the flesh!

    See you all at Worldcon next year, everybody! I just sent in my membership payment. 🙂

    • Good to meet you at the Con, Katie, and I’m pleased I did get to the entertaining general panels session on fantasy fiction, that you were on with Duncan and Jenny B. as Chair.

      cheers, Tim/Farnwyn

      • Ah yes, that was a good panel. I had fun sharing my thoughts on fantasy. It’s totally true about what Jackie French said, by the way. She probably shouldn’t have said it in Stephanie’s hearing, though! 😀

      • Okay you guys have to tell us what Jackie French said. Seriously!

      • Yes you really do! Asap please!

      • I love love love Diary of a Wombat, btw. Brilliant! Especially the part where he (spoiler)attacks and defeats the doormat.

      • All right, then!
        At my launch she told me I’m too good for fantasy and should try writing something else. Stephanie heard her and looked a little concerned!

      • I had high hopes of writing a round-up, but it’s not going to happen. No time! However, I took a load of photos that I’ll endeavour to share before Conflux 7 (in 2011!) Maybe even before Aussiecon. Possibly even before the end of the month…

        It was brilliant (and surreal) to meet so many authors and wonderful people at Conflux. Can’t wait until the next one! Actually… correction… I’m totally exhausted. I can wait a little while – but I am looking forward to the next one!

        Great to meet you Tim and Katie (and Duncan, if he drops in). I was also there for your fantasy panel, Katie – very entertaining and fie to anyone who implies disdain at those who write fantasy!

      • Katie, I wonder if Doris Lessing would agree that any brilliant writer was ‘too good’ for F/SF 🙂

        I think the ‘too good’ is an old cliche losing momentum!

      • Vertigo,

        Thanks for the update and please post pics. Tweet them AND FB!

        And touche, (and fie!) on those archaic notions!

        🙂 Kim

    • OK, Jackie didn’t out-and-out say I’m “too good for fantasy”. What she actually said was that, in her opinion, I could write anything else I wanted to and therefore I shouldn’t pidgeonhole myself into one genre. I said if I ever had an idea for a book that wasn’t fantasy, I’d go for it. Until then, I have a world with too much potential for great stories to be abandoned just yet!

  7. I am too late to write a round-up but I have added a load of photos from conflux to http://www.facebook.com/BothersomeWords

    (apologies if that html code doesn’t work…)

  8. The link works grand! Thanks for posting 🙂

  9. No probs – enjoy!

    (NB: the thing with adding code is you can’t tell until after you have submitted your comment whether or not it’s going to work… hence the pre-emptive apology!)

Leave a Reply

