• Fiona McIntosh: Voyager Author of the Month

    Fiona McIntosh was born and raised in Sussex in the UK, but also spent early childhood years in West Africa. She left a PR career in London to travel and settled in Australia in 1980. She has since roamed the world working for her own travel publishing company, which she runs with her husband. She lives in Adelaide with her husband and twin sons. Her website is at www.fionamcintosh.com.

    Her latest book, The Scrivener's Tale, is a stand-alone and takes us back to the world of Morgravia from her very first series, The Quickening:


    About The Scrivener's Tale:

    In the bookshops and cafes of present-day Paris, ex-psychologist Gabe Figaret is trying to put his shattered life back together. When another doctor, Reynard, asks him to help with a delusional female patient, Gabe is reluctant... until he meets her. At first Gabe thinks the woman, Angelina, is merely terrified of Reynard, but he quickly discovers she is not quite what she seems.

    As his relationship with Angelina deepens, Gabe's life in Paris becomes increasingly unstable. He senses a presence watching and following every move he makes, and yet he finds Angelina increasingly irresistible.

    When Angelina tells Gabe he must kill her and flee to a place she calls Morgravia, he is horrified. But then Angelina shows him that the cathedral he has dreamt about since childhood is real and exists in Morgravia.

    A special 10th Anniversary edition of her first fantasy book, Myrren's Gift, will be released in December!

     

     

Sean Bean to play Eddard Stark

The news is out – thanks to George R.R. Martin’s Not a Blog:

Sean Bean is to play Lord Eddard Stark in the HBO series of A Game of Thrones. Bean played Boromir beautifully in Lord of the Rings.

Mark Addy of A Knight’s Tale will play Robert Baratheon

More casting news over at GRRM’s blog – and loads of excitement here and at Voyager world wide! They haven’t yet cast Daenerys, Cersei and Jaime, or the Winter is Coming brood (the Starks) … so you can still dream of your ideal cast!

6 Responses

  1. God I am disappointed. I always pictured Sean Bean as JAIME LANNISTER. How on Earth I am now going to get used on his honourable side? No, no, no. Definetely not. I know that Sean Bean can be anyone, but I am very very sad. I cried when I first read this. This is the craziest thing I’ve ever read. Next thing, Liv Tyler or Rose McGowen (not that I don’t like them, I love them, but not for this) will be Cersei and Diane Kruger will be Catelyn and we can all go to hell. Oh, and yes, Emma Watson’ll play Dany.

  2. I’m quite excited – for me Jaime has to be more slender and sinister (and slightly resemble whoever Cersei is) – and Sean Bean isn’t it! I think he’ll make a very noble if overly good-looking Eddard (plus I started off the books hating Jaime and I’m not sure I could hate SB). I really, really want whoever plays Cersei to be a good actor – not just someone chosen for their looks and NOT Angelina Jolie (not that she would do it). And ye gods – if any of the Harry Potter alumni are in this I might have to go around and start beheading people myself.
    No no no!
    But I think GRRM has it in hand – I don’t think he’d let them cast complete idiots *she said, right before they announced Miley Cyrus would be starring*. I’d like to see some unknowns in there who aren’t carrying around the luggage of some crap 90210 show.
    Is there anyone who you do want to see in there? Besides SB as JL I mean.

    • having just seen the new Harry Potter film – I think the kid (though is a little young – would need to be a bit older) who played Malfoy might make a good Jaime.

      I am not sold of Sean Bean yet – I would have to see him. But I agree – he seen a bit to stocky and maybe not broody enough.

      • Looks-wise he might be a good fit – although he’s very obviously sinister in the HP films.
        I wouldn’t mind someone who *looks* like Cillian Murphy as Bran …
        I am sold on Sean Bean!
        Thanks for your thoughts, Tracey!

  3. This is an insightful discussion! We all have such strong pictures in our mind of the characters we read that putting a ‘real’ human face (and body and personality) to them can be shocking. It’s disruptive enough to see a cover image or concept art that doesn’t fit our inner vision but film multiplies this experience a thousand-fold!

    As for Sean Bean, he’s an actor–one of those people with the magical gift of being whatever we want them to be. I trust he’ll bring his mojo to the character of Jamie and have us all eating out of his hand!

    🙂 Kim

Leave a Reply

