• Fiona McIntosh: Voyager Author of the Month

    Fiona McIntosh was born and raised in Sussex in the UK, but also spent early childhood years in West Africa. She left a PR career in London to travel and settled in Australia in 1980. She has since roamed the world working for her own travel publishing company, which she runs with her husband. She lives in Adelaide with her husband and twin sons. Her website is at www.fionamcintosh.com.

    Her latest book, The Scrivener's Tale, is a stand-alone and takes us back to the world of Morgravia from her very first series, The Quickening:


    About The Scrivener's Tale:

    In the bookshops and cafes of present-day Paris, ex-psychologist Gabe Figaret is trying to put his shattered life back together. When another doctor, Reynard, asks him to help with a delusional female patient, Gabe is reluctant... until he meets her. At first Gabe thinks the woman, Angelina, is merely terrified of Reynard, but he quickly discovers she is not quite what she seems.

    As his relationship with Angelina deepens, Gabe's life in Paris becomes increasingly unstable. He senses a presence watching and following every move he makes, and yet he finds Angelina increasingly irresistible.

    When Angelina tells Gabe he must kill her and flee to a place she calls Morgravia, he is horrified. But then Angelina shows him that the cathedral he has dreamt about since childhood is real and exists in Morgravia.

    A special 10th Anniversary edition of her first fantasy book, Myrren's Gift, will be released in December!

     

     

July poll: your fave covers this month

We have four very different covers (click to enlarge) in the July new release titles – two epic fantasy, one urban fantasy and one space opera anthology, with very different feels. Which do you like best and why? It’s certainly very subjective!

Just for some further information – The Wounded Guardian cover was designed here in Australia (illustration by Les Petersen), White Witch, Black Curse was designed in the UKย  (photograph by Paul Rider), New Space Opera 2 was designed in the US (illustration by Stephen Martiniere), and The Dragon Keeper in the UK (illustration by Jackie Morris).

19 Responses

  1. You had a better-looking cover for White Witch, Black Curse before – why did you switch to the UK version? (Same basic look, just different model.)

    • Hi Tez,
      Not too sure myself, to be honest. We took the full finished book from our UK sister company, so went with their cover as is. What did the previous version look like (do you remember)? I thought that we were going with this one the whole time.

      What did you like better about the model in the other one?

      Thanks,
      Natalie

  2. Oh I see what you mean, sorry – the actual model in the series of covers. Good question, certainly, and I shall see if I can get one of our UK counterparts to answer it!

  3. I chose New Space Opera (along with 100% of the other two people to have voted so far ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) because I think the illustration is spectular. It really makes me want to pick up the book and have a good look at it, and is the sort of illustration I’d like to have blown up on my wall. I like the Dragon on Dragon Keeper too – but I prefer fantasy books not pared back to the minimalism covers that are becoming more popular, like the new Feist ones.

    • A fair point Kate – I think alot of people (myself included) like the spectacular full fantasy covers. And I agree with Kim below too – the big namers can go with minimalist covers – because they have an established audience, and I think one reason publishers do this is to try to appeal to the sort of audience that might -not- pick up the brighter covers – while still trying to have a beautiful image.
      I included links to the illustrators because I think it’s quite interesting to go and look at the other work these people do – Jackie Morris has some beautiful images of other animals on her website for example.
      Thanks for leaving your comments!
      Natalie

    • I’m glad you included the illustrators/photographer, Nat. It’s so interesting to see other examples of their work. For example this Les Petersen
      http://www.lespetersen.com.au/gallery/main_album/aer

      (His Duncan Lay cover reminds me of a tarot card…)

      And this Stephen Martiniere
      http://www.martiniere.com/imagepages/babel.htm I love Martiniere’s concept art.

      ๐Ÿ™‚ Kim

      • Both those artworks you pointed out are beautiful and quite apocalyptic to my eyes (the Petersen less so). I really love that Stephen Martiniere one – just beautiful … especially with the path …
        Nat

        PS. You’re right about the tarot card effect … I wonder if that was intentional, I shall find out.

  4. I love the dragon on Dragon Keeper too, and I agree with Kate–How lovely would it be to see that purple creature in context with the environment or another character?

    I think when your sir name is Hobb or Feist, you can go the minimalist road. Concept art is so engaging though–the fine details that tell a story in themselves.

    It’s exciting to see the new releases! Which to read first???

    ๐Ÿ™‚ Kim

  5. The Dragon Keeper is the one I’d stop and *look* at it if I saw these on a shelf in a shop, but not bother picking it up.

    I think the title (font, size, placemnt & colouring) on White Witch, Black Curse is quite awful. It doesn’t look like fiction either.

    The picture part of The Wounded Guardian seems to small in relation to the surrouding part. It might work better on the actual book, I guess

    • What sort of cover would make you pick a book up?
      I think it’s interesting you say that WWBC doesn’t look like fiction – because I feel like the cover places it firmly into the urban fantasy fiction genre – which does tend to go for the photo designed up rather than an illustration – or if an illo then a very realistic one. Do you think it’s a bit true crimey? There’s definitely a bit of crossover in those sorts of titles. Thanks for your feedback!

      • Usually I go for covers that suggest a story. Something that makes me think What? or Why? So usually a scene from a book. This one works though http://www.goodreads.com/book/photo/1062216.Passage (It was a library book but as soon as I saw the cover I had to read it right then.)

        The title on WWBC makes it look like a true crime or biography sort of book. Too blocky/in your face/attention grabbing. Too big!

    • Fair enough – and thanks for explaining. I think I’d tend to agree with you about wanting a story on the cover – one thing I think I’ll never lose. I can’t access the link you’ve sent – it takes me automatically to the goodreads login page ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
      Natalie

Leave a Reply

