• Fiona McIntosh: Voyager Author of the Month

    Fiona McIntosh was born and raised in Sussex in the UK, but also spent early childhood years in West Africa. She left a PR career in London to travel and settled in Australia in 1980. She has since roamed the world working for her own travel publishing company, which she runs with her husband. She lives in Adelaide with her husband and twin sons. Her website is at www.fionamcintosh.com.

    Her latest book, The Scrivener's Tale, is a stand-alone and takes us back to the world of Morgravia from her very first series, The Quickening:


    About The Scrivener's Tale:

    In the bookshops and cafes of present-day Paris, ex-psychologist Gabe Figaret is trying to put his shattered life back together. When another doctor, Reynard, asks him to help with a delusional female patient, Gabe is reluctant... until he meets her. At first Gabe thinks the woman, Angelina, is merely terrified of Reynard, but he quickly discovers she is not quite what she seems.

    As his relationship with Angelina deepens, Gabe's life in Paris becomes increasingly unstable. He senses a presence watching and following every move he makes, and yet he finds Angelina increasingly irresistible.

    When Angelina tells Gabe he must kill her and flee to a place she calls Morgravia, he is horrified. But then Angelina shows him that the cathedral he has dreamt about since childhood is real and exists in Morgravia.

    A special 10th Anniversary edition of her first fantasy book, Myrren's Gift, will be released in December!

     

     

Fallon Friday: Music that Inspired the Tide Lords

Every time I do an interview, someone invariably asks what inspires me. My rather glib answer is usually: “I am inspired by everything, because that way, everything is tax deductible”. *grin*

In the case of the Tide Lords, however, there are a few other non-deductible of sources of inspiration I can pinpoint, and some of them are songs.

I was reminded of this when I discovered Meat Loaf’s 1977 overwrought Bat Out of Hell album in my iTunes files and found myself singing along with the epic (did Meat Loaf do anything other than epic?) Paradise by the Dashboard Light, which the Amazon staff reviewer refers to as a “breathless nookie-quest”.

Nookie-quests not withstanding, the lyrics from the very end of that rather long and really quite absurd song, always struck a chord with me…

I couldn’t take it any longer, lord I was crazed
And when the feeling came upon me like a tidal wave
I started swearing to my God and on my mother’s grave
That I would love you to the end of time
I swore that I would love you to the end of time!

So now I’m praying for the end of time, to hurry up and arrive
’Cause if I gotta spend another minute with you
I don’t think that I can really survive
I’ll never break my promise or forget my vow
But God only knows what I can do right now
I’m praying for the end of time
It’s all that I can do
Praying for the end of time, so I can end my time with you

I always thought the idea of being stuck with someone you can’t stand until the end of time because of a thoughtless promise was, besides being quite a scary notion, fodder for a really interesting plot.

As a consequence, much of the series deals with the shifting relationships between my immortals and how they deal with the idea of being stuck with each other until the end of time.

And I’m pretty sure that means my remastered copy of Bat out of Hell is now tax deductible, too:)

Find out more about the Tide Lords series at Jennifer Fallon’s website and read her blog. Jennifer Fallon is the author of thirteen novels published by Voyager plus she writes Stargate tie-ins with Sonny Whitelaw. She’s now at work on her next series.

One Response

  1. There is two things I like about this post, one is your love of that song, Jenny and the other is your books. Plus the incentive that everything is taxable is a real laugh out loud moment.

Leave a Reply

