• Fiona McIntosh: Voyager Author of the Month

    Fiona McIntosh was born and raised in Sussex in the UK, but also spent early childhood years in West Africa. She left a PR career in London to travel and settled in Australia in 1980. She has since roamed the world working for her own travel publishing company, which she runs with her husband. She lives in Adelaide with her husband and twin sons. Her website is at www.fionamcintosh.com.

    Her latest book, The Scrivener's Tale, is a stand-alone and takes us back to the world of Morgravia from her very first series, The Quickening:


    About The Scrivener's Tale:

    In the bookshops and cafes of present-day Paris, ex-psychologist Gabe Figaret is trying to put his shattered life back together. When another doctor, Reynard, asks him to help with a delusional female patient, Gabe is reluctant... until he meets her. At first Gabe thinks the woman, Angelina, is merely terrified of Reynard, but he quickly discovers she is not quite what she seems.

    As his relationship with Angelina deepens, Gabe's life in Paris becomes increasingly unstable. He senses a presence watching and following every move he makes, and yet he finds Angelina increasingly irresistible.

    When Angelina tells Gabe he must kill her and flee to a place she calls Morgravia, he is horrified. But then Angelina shows him that the cathedral he has dreamt about since childhood is real and exists in Morgravia.

    A special 10th Anniversary edition of her first fantasy book, Myrren's Gift, will be released in December!

     

     

Your favourite cover this month?

Click on each cover to see it in a larger size.

rides-a-dread-legionRay Bradbury Stories V 2The Shadow QueenThe Gene Thieves

Post a comment and let us know why that cover is your favourite – and what you’d like to see more of in the future.

10 Responses

  1. I like the Ray Bradbury because it is simple and striking and fits the book. I’d prefer Gene Thieves if there was a bit of roughness to it somewhere. The Shadow Queen would work better for me without the figure or if it were painted – it reads too much as a photomanip for the sort of book it is. Rides a Dread Legion does nothing for me – even with a simpler stylisation of the horse, it would look like a Thomas Harris novel.

    • Hi tanaudel, thanks for your feedback – very good to know. When you say ‘roughness’ (on Gene Thieves) – could you be explain further? Do you mean for the images to be rougher looking and less polished? Very insightful answer at any rate and thank you for posting.
      I also like the Ray Bradbury, it is very striking and alluring and I like the strong colours used. My favourite this month though is The Gene Thieves – I thought the cover images gave a very good hint as to the contents of the book and I like the effect of line shining through the cover – again tying to its contents fo me.

  2. More often than not I’ll buy a book for it’s cover as much for the content so I appreciate this post.

    The cover for The Gene Theives and Rides a Dread Legion do nothing for me, they don’t grasp my imagination at all. Based on the cover alone, I wouldn’t buy either. I bought the Feist for the author, and the Gene Theory is on my list to buy based on reviews.

    I love the cover for The Shadow Queen – definitely my favourite here. Nothing wrong with a good photoshop in my opinion. Unfortunately I already have The Shadow Queen with a different cover, and this cover isn’t great enough for me to have two copies.

    The Ray Bradbury cover I have mixed feelings on. The art work is great, got the feeling for the era just right. The font used for Ray Bradbury though? The art work says 60’s SF. The font says…? Dunno, can’t put my finger on it, but it feels wrong somehow.

  3. Yes, Thomas Harris! Weird style lately with the Feist books.

    I voted for the Bradbury just because it’s the one I’d be more likely to pick up – very striking. The Anne Bishop is very pretty though and would probably be my second choice. I do really like the Gene Thieves as well, except for the stained glass window (if that’s what it is), I suppose it must tie in but seems a little busy.

  4. Oh gosh, I love the stained glass! We are all so different in our appreciation.

    I voted for The Shadow Queen–I love the desaturated colours in the background, her red red hair, the collie–it tells a story and I like that.

    Gene Thieves would be my second–to me the clone implications with the numinous (my reading of the stained glass) is an intriguing juxtaposition of ideas.

    I like the simplicity of Rides a Dread Legion. I think the only thing necessary for that cover though is Feist! If I was from another planet and didn’t know Feist, I might be drawn in deeper if the horse was in context.

    The name Bradbury of course says it all–a single known word is worth a thousand pictures! The illustration suits, though it’s not something I’d hang on my wall–a bit stark-old-school for me.

    These covers represent the sub-genres of Spec Fic the stories fall into and perhaps we are biased in that direction?

    But at least they aren’t poll dancers with unicorns in the background (Ask Jenny Fallon about that reference!)

    🙂 Kim

  5. Shadow Queen 🙂 I love covers with characters on!

    Also I’m really a fantasy girl all over, so a misty fantasy land with a female character would of course appeal to me most of all.

    The other version is VERY pretty too!

  6. ‘The shadow queen’ cover – says Mystery to me.

    The ‘gene theives’ suggest some religious connection.

    ‘Stories Vol 2’ looks a little out-of-space.

    But ‘Rides a Dread Legion’ cover says nothing about the story (that I wouldn’t get from “RIDES” in the title). I’m assuming there is some connection with riding horses?… which may or may not be exciting, some more detail (which could be conveyed in a cover design) would be needed for me to consider picking up the book (to read the back).

  7. I quite like the other version too – although it’s a litttttttle bit YA – whereas this one is a bit older and much darker …

    Hollywood – I think Gene Thieves hints at something to do with religion too – which, if I read the book summary right, is accurate – it’s about an issue that always puts the church up in arms – genetics and surrogacy!

  8. I know it’s not published yet, but it’s still one of yours:

    Kaaron Warren’s Slights cover is the freakiest cover I’ve ever seen! I love it!

Leave a Reply

