• Fiona McIntosh: Voyager Author of the Month

    Fiona McIntosh was born and raised in Sussex in the UK, but also spent early childhood years in West Africa. She left a PR career in London to travel and settled in Australia in 1980. She has since roamed the world working for her own travel publishing company, which she runs with her husband. She lives in Adelaide with her husband and twin sons. Her website is at www.fionamcintosh.com.

    Her latest book, The Scrivener's Tale, is a stand-alone and takes us back to the world of Morgravia from her very first series, The Quickening:


    About The Scrivener's Tale:

    In the bookshops and cafes of present-day Paris, ex-psychologist Gabe Figaret is trying to put his shattered life back together. When another doctor, Reynard, asks him to help with a delusional female patient, Gabe is reluctant... until he meets her. At first Gabe thinks the woman, Angelina, is merely terrified of Reynard, but he quickly discovers she is not quite what she seems.

    As his relationship with Angelina deepens, Gabe's life in Paris becomes increasingly unstable. He senses a presence watching and following every move he makes, and yet he finds Angelina increasingly irresistible.

    When Angelina tells Gabe he must kill her and flee to a place she calls Morgravia, he is horrified. But then Angelina shows him that the cathedral he has dreamt about since childhood is real and exists in Morgravia.

    A special 10th Anniversary edition of her first fantasy book, Myrren's Gift, will be released in December!

     

     

Lighting the dark: Anne Bishop on The Shadow Queen

CLICK HERE TO WIN AN ANNE BISHOP BOOK PACK!

Can she rise above the disappointed expectations of others?

Can Cassidy rise above the disappointed expectations of others to be a true Queen?

I have no clever explanation for how a place like the Realms came to be, or how a beautiful shell named Daemon Sadi took on the weight of personality and personal history to become a living, breathing man on the page. That’s magic, a kind of alchemy that happens when the mind and the Muse meet in the land of Story.

It’s a slow magic. Sometimes it takes months, even years, for a shell to become more than a name vaguely connected to a story idea.

Take Theran and Cassidy. Their shells have been around since I wrote *The Invisible Ring.* Then, all I knew about them was that Theran was a descendant of Jared and Lia, and Cassidy had red hair and hazel eyes.

That’s all I knew about them for years. So I explored other worlds, wrote other stories. I circled back to them from time to time, and each time I had a sense of them gaining a little weight, a little substance. And then one day they were ready to have their story told.

But I didn’t know them. We were acquaintances at that point. I knew the wants and needs that compelled them to take this journey, but I didn’t *know* them until I met them on the page and began to tell their story. That’s when I learned that they weren’t who I thought they were, and the story I was telling was so much more than the simple idea I’d started with years ago.

When I begin a story, I promise the characters that I will tell their story without judgment–that I will let them be who and what they really are. I record their struggles, their failures and, hopefully, their triumphs. As I meet them on the page day after day, they become more than the list of details that had shaped the initial shell. They become people who make me laugh, make me cry, make me angry, make me cheer. They take me outside of myself, and by doing so, let me explore another facet of the heart.

And isn’t that what Story is all about?

So here are Theran and Cassidy–shells who came to life on the page. May they walk through your heart as they walk through mine.

Anne Bishop

The Shadow Queen
by Anne Bishop is now out across Australia.

Anne Bishop is the author of the Black Jewels trilogy, the Ephemera duology and the Tir Alainn trilogy, as well as numerous books set in the world of the Black Jewels.

4 Responses

  1. Thank you, Anne, for the beautiful introduction to Theran and Cassidy, and to your writing process.

    I found an excerpt on your site and I’m looking forward to getting my hands on the book!

    Gorgeous cover art too.

    🙂 Kim

    • I really love that cover too – and I grow more intrigued by the day at the world shared by writers, of the muse, and the alchemy and fusion of worlds meeting words – just beautiful!

  2. – Thank you for the insight – it was reflected in the fine crafting of the story.

  3. The only thing I can think of to say is, “Thank whatever deity I have any right to pray to that you exist.” I feel like my inner world has been turned upside-down many times over since I read the first book in the Black Jewels trilogy.

    I really look forward to reading this book (although I can’t say I anticipate hunting for it).

    Thanks for your insight – it’s vastly illuminating. The cover art is simply amazing too.

Leave a Reply

