• Fiona McIntosh: Voyager Author of the Month

    Fiona McIntosh was born and raised in Sussex in the UK, but also spent early childhood years in West Africa. She left a PR career in London to travel and settled in Australia in 1980. She has since roamed the world working for her own travel publishing company, which she runs with her husband. She lives in Adelaide with her husband and twin sons. Her website is at www.fionamcintosh.com.

    Her latest book, The Scrivener's Tale, is a stand-alone and takes us back to the world of Morgravia from her very first series, The Quickening:


    About The Scrivener's Tale:

    In the bookshops and cafes of present-day Paris, ex-psychologist Gabe Figaret is trying to put his shattered life back together. When another doctor, Reynard, asks him to help with a delusional female patient, Gabe is reluctant... until he meets her. At first Gabe thinks the woman, Angelina, is merely terrified of Reynard, but he quickly discovers she is not quite what she seems.

    As his relationship with Angelina deepens, Gabe's life in Paris becomes increasingly unstable. He senses a presence watching and following every move he makes, and yet he finds Angelina increasingly irresistible.

    When Angelina tells Gabe he must kill her and flee to a place she calls Morgravia, he is horrified. But then Angelina shows him that the cathedral he has dreamt about since childhood is real and exists in Morgravia.

    A special 10th Anniversary edition of her first fantasy book, Myrren's Gift, will be released in December!

     

     

MIND MELD: The Most Difficult Part of Being A Writer Is…

Karen Miller recently took part in a Mind Meld of authors answering the question ‘What’s the most difficult part of being a writer?’

You can find her answer (along with many others) here. It sounds like a rather fun thing to take part in so writers by all means post your answer below!

And don’t forget to visit the Feb Aust Spec Fic blog carnival (part one), hosted this month by Ticonderoga. And part two is now up (17/2).

7 Responses

  1. Turning stories into plots is the hardest thing for me. I never have more than the haziest idea of where a story is going, but I’ve learnt from bitter experience that it always takes a helluva long time to get there:-) That’s why I don’t write many short stories, and why, after twelve years of trying, I still don’t have even one novel doing the rounds:-(

  2. Satima, that’s a very interesting answer, thank you! So does this mean you start with a ‘scene’ or a moment or idea and then try to move your story along from there?

  3. Mondays! I’m up to 149,000 and trying to avoid writing on the weekends, just to give my head a break. So when I get back to it on Mondays it often feels like I’m pulling teeth, only to have them regrow.

  4. That sounds … unpleasant! But hopefully the regrowing is a good thing. Are you doing it alongside study or work?

  5. No, it’s my main focus at the moment. Apart from that I’m brushing up on my art skills and watercolour for another book that I want to illustrate.

  6. Doing ‘the edits’. . .

    It’s not difficult physically like digging ditches or difficult intellectually like understanding string theory but it’s difficult like holding the reins of 1000 galloping horses. Intense. Exciting. Grueling. Where the heck is the finish line!

    I’m ‘doing the edits’ right now, (can you tell?) meaning I am at the tail end of a 14 day turn around. I get my manuscript, Arrows of Time in this case, in hard copy format filled with questions, comments and correction from the copy editor (this already happened once with the structural editor). I comb through about 50 pages a day, reading each sentence aloud, considering the editor’s comments, cross checking with my own notes, making choices on every page, all day long. Nights too. I dream it.

    I just told friends I couldn’t go to the cinema with them tonight because I can’t hold another plot line or character in my thoughts while this is going on!

    And I best get back to it!
    🙂

  7. I beta read for an author, Kim, and when she’s “doing the edits” she’s all of a frazzle. It sounds like a really fraught experience:-)

    “Voyager”, I start with a character and situation. I know quite a bit about the character – name, age, occupation etc, and have a vague idea of the ending, but that’s all. I just have to start writing and keep going until the story starts to take shape, and I’m only just learning how to discipline my characters so they don’t keep inviting all their friends and relations to be in the story, too. One of my efforts wound up with no less than seventeen POV characters! (GRRM, eat your heart out!)

Leave a Reply

