• Fiona McIntosh: Voyager Author of the Month

    Fiona McIntosh was born and raised in Sussex in the UK, but also spent early childhood years in West Africa. She left a PR career in London to travel and settled in Australia in 1980. She has since roamed the world working for her own travel publishing company, which she runs with her husband. She lives in Adelaide with her husband and twin sons. Her website is at www.fionamcintosh.com.

    Her latest book, The Scrivener's Tale, is a stand-alone and takes us back to the world of Morgravia from her very first series, The Quickening:


    About The Scrivener's Tale:

    In the bookshops and cafes of present-day Paris, ex-psychologist Gabe Figaret is trying to put his shattered life back together. When another doctor, Reynard, asks him to help with a delusional female patient, Gabe is reluctant... until he meets her. At first Gabe thinks the woman, Angelina, is merely terrified of Reynard, but he quickly discovers she is not quite what she seems.

    As his relationship with Angelina deepens, Gabe's life in Paris becomes increasingly unstable. He senses a presence watching and following every move he makes, and yet he finds Angelina increasingly irresistible.

    When Angelina tells Gabe he must kill her and flee to a place she calls Morgravia, he is horrified. But then Angelina shows him that the cathedral he has dreamt about since childhood is real and exists in Morgravia.

    A special 10th Anniversary edition of her first fantasy book, Myrren's Gift, will be released in December!

     

     

Judging the Aurealis Awards – Lynne Green

As the Aurealis Awards are coming up in just two weekend’s time – Saturday 24 January, to be precise – I thought it might be nice to hear something from one of the judges. Lynne is one of my colleagues from the Fantasy Short Story judging panel as well as a writer herself (her full bio is at the end of this post) and she kindly agreed to write about the judging for that category. Fear not, nothing is revealed … you’ll have to wait two weeks for that!

How do you become a judge? For anything?

I stumbled into judging through my university studies. One of my lecturers was a judge for the Aurealis Awards, and she suggested that being a judge was good for your own writing. You got to see everything in one area, and so would have a very good idea of what was current in that genre. As well, you were able to see what was good and bad in other people’s work, which would make you more critical of your own prose.

So, I offered to be a judge. I wasn’t expecting to be accepted, as I hadn’t been a judge before. It was exciting – and flattering – to discover I was considered knowledgeable enough to be selected for a judging panel. This year, there was even more competition for places on the judging panels. It is an honour to be selected.

Being a judge means several things, both good and bad at the same time. It means you get to read a lot, and you don’t have to pay for the privilege. Doesn’t that sound like heaven? However, you have to read everything, and by a certain date. You can’t skip the bad and the awful, as they deserve as much consideration as the well-written and original stories. Every item means a lot to their author, particularly if they have thought enough of it to nominate it for an Aurealis.

You have to read critically, which is very different for reading for enjoyment. Sometimes, it gets to the point that you can’t turn off that little critic, and even sitting down to read for entertainment becomes an exercise in grammar, voice, verisimilitude, plot, characterisation and setting, and everything else you have to consider when reading a piece for the judging. Even watching television can flip the switch, and you’ll be picking plot holes in your favourite movie without realising it. That is when it is time to give it a rest for a day or two.

As a judge, you can’t favour your favourite types of writing. If you recognise a friend, you have to switch off that recognition. I’m always scared that I will go harder on anyone I know, so that I won’t be accused of favouritism.

I’ve enjoyed the challenge of reading work that I may never have read otherwise. My breadth and depth of knowledge has been tested. I’m amazed at how original, innovative and exciting, how talented, Australian authors are.

While I am reading my way through the nominations, I fill out a spreadsheet. This spreadsheet is supplied by the convenor of the judging panel, and contains a list of the virtues we are to consider for judging. This way, nobody gets lost among the many fine entries, and great stuff I read at the start of the year isn’t forgotten before the end of the year. I reread all the best entries, while trying to study for my end-of-year exams.

At this point, the real judging occurs. Everyone on your panel suggests a shortlist. Now, I have been very lucky with my panels. The teamwork needed to come up with a shortlist has always been superb. Often, the same titles will appear on everyone’s suggested shortlist, though not in the same order.

And there is the shortlist. So…who wins? This year, the spreadsheet system was priceless. Each judge’s nominations were tallied, with each nomination weighted for where it fell in the individual shortlists. The story that received the most points was the outright winner.

This is a very fair system. By having a panel of judges, it cuts down on possibility of subjective choices. I must admit, knowing that the other judges had chosen the same stories as I favoured was a relief. It meant that I had been making consistent choices, which can be hard when you are reading over a period of months.
I always tried to spend one day a week working on my readings and updating the spreadsheet. Towards the end of the judging period, I wasn’t as diligent as I had been (due to university commitments), and I had to make up the work in larger time blocks. If I am selected to be a judge next year, I will again put aside a set amount of time each week. Letting the readings build up might be a tragic mistake…particularly near the end of the judging period when the scattered showers of nominations became a deluge.

Even though being a judge is time consuming, it is very rewarding. At the end of the year, I always sit back and feel I’ve made a real contribution to the writing community. Who knows, maybe we’ve been lucky enough to encourage some talented people, and reward them for their efforts with the recognition they deserve.

Lynne Green writes under her own name, as the Voyager Science Queen, and under the pen name of Lynne Lumsden Green for everything else. Though she already has a B. Sc. in zoology, she is currently studying Creative Writing at the University of the Sunshine Coast. Her long term goal is to become a respected writer and academic in the fields of Fantasy, Popular Science Fact, and Science Fiction. Her favourite authors are Diana Wynne Jones, Isaac Asimov, Neil Gaiman, and all of the Voyager authors, with Terry Pratchett as her personal hero. Recently, Lynne has had some quiet success with her short stories, and hopes this will lead to her ultimate domination the world.

See the Aurealis shortlist

Learn more about the Aurealis Awards

There are still tickets available for the ceremony, which is in Brisbane on Saturday evening, 24 January – it’s a good excuse for a long weekend break, as it’s also the Australia Day long weekend so Monday is a public holiday! AND The State Library of Queensland has a fantastic expo on video gaming called GAME ON.

4 Responses

  1. How auspicious that the Aurealis Awards are held on the shadow of the eclipse! Was that planned or a synchronicity? It will be an amazing night. I hope you can blog from there, Nat, and keep us up to date! Scoop the press!

    Lynne, the judging is so interesting, and so rigorous a process. I like hearing there is a spreadsheet and early entries don’t get lost in the shuffle. Were there any judges who favored a book that no one else did? How was that handled?

    Also Lynne, I very much enjoyed your discussion of herbivorous spiders. Would it be possible to have a comment facility on the Voyager Science Queen page? I think it would generate a lot of interesting dialog.

    Great Post 🙂

  2. I think it is a synchronicity, as they are always held at this time of year, but who knows … I think it’s going to be a marvellous night and I hope everyone nominated realises how hard to was to whittle out a list from so many fine pieces.

    I think while judging we did have some out of the blue titles, and we then went back and reread any such titles to see if we had missed something the first time around, but in the end we tried to make it an overall consensus and I think we were all pretty satisfied with the outcome. Well I was! The only thing I wished, and I think we all did for the most part, was that we could have added even more stories to the shortlist or had a highly commended list to fully reflect all the works that caught our attention …

    I am hoping Lynne will blog from the awards or straight after 😀 – and Voyager author Karen Miller is also judging one of the categories, so it would be great to hear from her too! And I will be adding my piece as well.

    And I will see what we can do about a comment facility on the Voyager Science Queen page … 🙂

    Nat

  3. While we all wait for a ‘on location blog’ from Nat, you can see the list of award winners here: Congratulations all!

    🙂 Kim

  4. […] old friends and acquaintances and make new ones and put faces to Facebook profiles. I got to meet Lynne Green in person, after a few minutes where we sort of hedged around trying to work out if we were the […]

Leave a Reply

