• Fiona McIntosh: Voyager Author of the Month

    Fiona McIntosh was born and raised in Sussex in the UK, but also spent early childhood years in West Africa. She left a PR career in London to travel and settled in Australia in 1980. She has since roamed the world working for her own travel publishing company, which she runs with her husband. She lives in Adelaide with her husband and twin sons. Her website is at www.fionamcintosh.com.

    Her latest book, The Scrivener's Tale, is a stand-alone and takes us back to the world of Morgravia from her very first series, The Quickening:


    About The Scrivener's Tale:

    In the bookshops and cafes of present-day Paris, ex-psychologist Gabe Figaret is trying to put his shattered life back together. When another doctor, Reynard, asks him to help with a delusional female patient, Gabe is reluctant... until he meets her. At first Gabe thinks the woman, Angelina, is merely terrified of Reynard, but he quickly discovers she is not quite what she seems.

    As his relationship with Angelina deepens, Gabe's life in Paris becomes increasingly unstable. He senses a presence watching and following every move he makes, and yet he finds Angelina increasingly irresistible.

    When Angelina tells Gabe he must kill her and flee to a place she calls Morgravia, he is horrified. But then Angelina shows him that the cathedral he has dreamt about since childhood is real and exists in Morgravia.

    A special 10th Anniversary edition of her first fantasy book, Myrren's Gift, will be released in December!

     

     

The Infinity Gate: Darkglass Mountain Book Three

The Serpent BrideThe next book from Sara Douglass will be called The Infinity Gate, and not River Angels (which was the tentative title back in 08 when Sara blogged for us about her return to Tencendor). I’ve noticed many searchers for River Angels ending up at the Voyager blog so thought it might be nice to clear that up!

As many of you would be aware, Sara was diagnosed with cancer late last year and is currently undergoing treatment. If you’d like to do something for her, then you might consider joining the Rake Squad

On her website, Sara says, ‘I have a visualisation thing I do regularly. I visualise I live in a beautiful walled orchard. It has only six trees, but that’s enough for one person. There is emerald green grass and white daisies growing between the trees and stretching to the sandstone walls, and the sun shines down on the orchard with a soft, lovely light. But a gribbly black monster has taken up residence in one of the trees, and he’s casting down all kinds of black fungus-laden leaves about the place.Twisted Citadel

Each day I go in there and I rake all those black leaves up and then take them out to the incinerator through the cast iron gate in the wall and burn them to white ash. I can do that much, at least. I can’t do much about the gribbly black monster just yet, except poke him with my rake and curse him in words I can’t print here and tell him he’s not going to get my orchard, thank you very much, and wait for my tree surgeon (Penny the surgeon) to come on in and cut him out, but in the meantime raking up the fungus-laden leaves is important. I was explaining this to a distant friend and she said, “I’ll come in and rake, too!” and suddenly I have lots of people in there raking and manning the incinerator and the table of tea and cream puffs and whiskey (someone insisted on the whiskey) set up for the rakers by the raging incinerator.

So if you’d like to join the Rake Squad you have no idea how much I’d appreciate it. Those black leaves sometimes accumulate a little too quickly, and some days I am too sick and too down-hearted to go in and rake myself. I am unashamedly asking for a bit of help with the raking. You can send me an email just to let me know you’ll be in there raking occasionally – the Rake Squad could always use a few more rakers!’


44 Responses

  1. Thank you for posting this message from Sara. In the midst of all her turmoil, she is still ever gracious and engaging. She’s answering emails of support, and very much appreciative of each one.

    Thoughts are powerful things. Lets all send good ones her way!

  2. Lots more raking happening here Sara. It’s nice to see your humour is still intact, & that Penny Pearls didn’t go that far. Lots of hugs

    Joy

  3. Take a seat Sara, i would be very happy to take over some raking for you ! you have given me years of endless fantastic reading with your sagas, i love them all and i love you for writing them.
    take care and get well.

    Love Cherie from Q.L.D

  4. I will help you as a member of your “Rake Squad”, gathering up what has not been gathered and gladly disposing of them. The least that I can do for someone who repeatedly takes me on a journey to another world.

    Kylie xx
    Queensland

  5. Rake, Rake, Rake! I’m sure we will all rake all day every day if we can help keep the garden tidy for you. Thank you so much for your always engaging journeys and i forever look forward to more!

  6. As always with your writing Sara (if you happen to be reading this one day), the Rake Squad transported me in time and place, the least I could do is help with the raking. I might even bring a leaf blower, if it isn’t too loud and disruptive, just to help out as best I can 🙂

    Thank you Sara for the years of frantic page-turning you have put me through, my thoughts (and rakes) are with you.

    Carmen, QLD.

  7. Sara, you’re awesome! I happened upon The Serpent Bride in hardback just before leaving on vacation. Was thrilled when I noted you’d tied in Maxil and Axis to the story. My daughter read the Hanging Wall and did a report on it in school this past year and will read the Darkglass series after me. Can’t wait to read The Twisted Citadel and The Infinity Gate. I’m hooked! And then Threshold, as I didn’t know till looking for the release date of Infinity Gate that it is pre-history for the Darkglass series. Awesome!

    Pushing healing thoughts toward you and am happy to put in some time raking leaves in your orchard and weeding around the daisies. And a little poke to keep the little black monster out of the way. Take care and best wishes from another loyal reader.

  8. When is infinity gate released in australia?

  9. Sara,I have stumbled upon your wonderful book by pure chance (boy am I glad for that).You are a wonderful writer with brilliant mind. Reading your books takes me on a wonderful journey with beautiful characters in every page.
    And yes it would be a great honour to join your “Rake Squad” and I will be doing my best to keep your beautiful garden tidy for you.
    Wish you all the best and get well soon.

  10. Sara, I’ve been reading your books now for ages, and am really enjoying the Darkglass Mountain series at present. I will also help rake your garden – even on the not so nice days. I hope you are getting better by the day, and will soon be able to continue your writing, which helps lift the spirits of those of us not blessed with your talent.
    Love and best wishes to you,
    Chris

  11. Hi Sara –

    Sending lots of rakers from here in the US, including my mil who just finished excising her very own monster…. with all of us together hopefully we can chase that beast right out of the garden and keep it from ever coming back!!!

  12. Hi there. Can you please tell me when The Infinity Gate is due to be released? Latest info I had said June 1, but I am not able to find it anywhere. Thanks

    • Hi Glen,
      At present it’s scheduled to come out next year around May. It has been delayed as Sara has been unwell, so that date isn’t 100% certain though.
      Best,
      Natalie

  13. hi Sara, i’m so sorry about your illness…i just chanced upon it because i was googling the release date for Infinity Gate- i LOVE the first 2 books and my mind hasn’t been able to rest since. I did pick up a few other books to take my mind off but i just need to know how the story ends- i’m such a huge fan and i’m so sorry for what you’re going through but you have touched my life and i thank you so much!

  14. Hi Sara,
    Your writing is an ispiration to me as I have decided to take up writing myself, I would love to join your Rake Squad. As I can see I am not the only person you have touched with your magical tales as you already have quite a few loyal Rakers wanting to help you in any way they can. We are all behind you!!

  15. Hello Sara,
    Thankyou for everything you have given us, your fellow ‘raking readers’, who are constantly captivated by your amazingly magikal stories! The least I can do is a little raking and alot of poking (I’m good at that!) while enjoying the mythical happyness you have provided. I have followed the characters since “Battle Axe” and cant wait to open the “Twisted Citadel.” Thanking you in advance for “Infinity Gate”. I cant wait to show these books to my children when they are grown! This is the most AMAZING story EVER!!!!

  16. I just got the email about this blog site and so had to pop in and then saw the link to The Infinity Gate. I’ll have you know I am currently typing this comment with my keyboard precariously balanced on top of the pile of pages of the edit of the book! Won’t be long now. (ha ha ha) But May of next year looks OK for release unless one of the cats eats the edit (always possible).

    Thank you to all present and past rakers. 🙂 I am currently in remission but at that stage where I panic at every twinge. I hope I get past this soon.

  17. Hi Sara,it would give me the greatest of pleasure to join your “Rake Squad”. I have read all of your works and have loved them all, so if I can rake for you and it is some help, no worries at all. Heads Up.

  18. Hi Sara,
    Congratulations on getting to remission! I’ve loved reading your books (won’t start the DM series until you’ve finished writing them all, need to lock myself away so I can read them all in a row without interupption…), and enjoy catching up on the goings on at Nonsuch.

    Keep fighting the good fight, there’s thousands of people behind you here in Oz, and heaps more all around the planet, every one of them holding a rake and a smile 🙂

  19. Hi Sara,

    Hope each day finds you growing stronger towards a totally cancer free you! Love to join the Rake Squad, if just for moral support.

    Thank you for spinning such a fabulous world of imagination ~ I think the Axis Saga is my cherished favorite, but there is the Troy Game, and the Crucible Series, I love them all.

    Know your readers and fans have you in thought and prayer! Going to grab my rake and begin over here in the corner! Cheering you on from Virginia, USA!

  20. I will join the rake squad, for no one deserves to be alone. Ms Sara, you are the only author I curse for comsuming so much of my life and praise for how much of my life you regenerate.

  21. Hi Sara

    May I join with all your devoted followers/readers in becoming a member of your ‘rake squad’. We have a big job to do in raking your garden to free it from the ‘nasties’! Since I first started reading your books I have become addicted and they have become part of my special library of books all of which are read again and again and again. You have that special quality that transports the reader into another time and place and many late hours have been spent devouring every word. Keep strong and my prayers are with you and I look forward with eager anticipation for the Infinity Gate to appear on our shelves. With love and hugs, Olwen.

  22. Dear Sara, I’d be honored to be invited to join the ranks of your “Rake Squad”! It is the very least I could do to give back a fraction of the joy you’ve given me as my guide on all of these fabulous and amazing adventures over the years. My prayers and well wished are with you. –Jo

  23. G’day Sara,

    My children, Brian and Amy and I love your books, they are so engrossing that it is very difficult to put them down until finished – whatever time that might be! I will join that rake squad as well, the more the merrier! Hold on and stay strong, Sara, our prayers and best wishes are with you.
    love and hugs, Maz

  24. Hi there Sara
    I love gardening and getting rid of those infected leaves for you will be my honour and payment for all the hours of enjoyment and escape you have given me over ther years
    Merle

  25. Wow Sara so sorry to hear you have been unwell, i have a rake i can bring to your cause! Thankyou so much for all the friends i have found in the chaacters in your books! If Axis hasnt been taken ill have him! I stared reading your battleaxe trilogy, and have read ever other book you have written since. I have not picked up any book without your name on it for about 3 years now. I have finally caugh up to you. I cannot wait for the Infinity Gate, i am lost without one of you books to read! So relax, write and i will rake, weed, ferilise and bring you iced tea!

    Thanks again, loads of hugs and well wishes coming your way
    Vitoria xoxoxo

  26. Wow Sara so sorry to hear you have been unwell, i have a rake i can bring to your cause! Thankyou so much for all the friends i have found in the chaacters in your books! If Axis hasnt been taken ill have him! I stared reading your battleaxe trilogy, and have read every other book you have written since. I have not picked up any book without your name on it for about 3 years now. I have finally caught up to you. I cannot wait for the Infinity Gate, i am lost without one of you books to read! So relax, write and i will rake, weed, ferilise and bring you iced tea!

    Thanks again, loads of hugs and well wishes coming your way
    Vitoria xoxoxo

  27. I cannot thank you enough for the many hours I have been transported to other times and worlds I too will be there raking like mad and also asking the Ceator and the Achangels to help heal you with monsters like that you need all the help you can get and these are the best of the lot .
    Carole Qld

  28. I would be glad to rake for you Sarah! I along with my twin sister have recently finished chemo so I wish you all the best and the quickest recovery known to man 🙂

  29. Dear Sara,
    Hope your remission and recovery continue for you, gracefully. My thoughts and prayers are with you.

    I grew up raking walnuts into rows in our family orchard, so hopefully I am qualified to rake up the nasty leaves and poke the sharp end of my rake where it belongs.

    I’ve raced through your books and have truely enjoyed them. Thank you,
    Lisa Mort, Folsom, California

  30. Hi Sarah, I have read all your books and love them. I am n the same boat as you and have spent the last 4 months in hospital having been really through the mill with major operation. Now that I have found out what you are going through I will add my prayers to all the others as I have lots of people prating for me. I would like to join the rake squad and when I have been through my Kemo I will be able to rake more leaves. Keep being positive as I am trying to do. Arohanui (Love) Kea Kaha (Stay Strong).

  31. Hi Sara Hope you are getting better by the day. I have just been rushed back in hospital for a few days but am right again now waiting for next treatment. I am really looking forward to your new book. Keep raking and I will keep praying and raking for you. Arohanui Graham. Our family dropped the double s when they came to NZ in 1866

  32. I have been reading your books for years now and only just got the net up and running. I was very sad to hear of your illness. I send you heaps of rakes and hope you get better real soon. I love your Darkglass Mountain books and can’t wait for the next book. All the best.

  33. Dear Sara

    I will also be visiting your orchard, raking those black leaves up, poking the gribbly black monster and sending your tree surgeon much positive energy that she may successfully evict the monster from its perch. Looking forward to your next book and many more adventures in Tencendor!

    Love and light,
    Joanna
    (British Columbia, Canada)

  34. I stumbled apon the Axxis TRI,and thought they were great….THAT was until i read the Wayfarer Redemption. I laughed,cried and went through every test with Axis,Azure,Faraday-shed more then a few tears foe her.also Dragonstar……Wolfstar was a charecter od pure genius.Thank you Sara. i am just about to read the dark glass mountain book three. Sara thank you for hours of fun,,, love Andrew.xx

  35. Hi sarah,i too have been raking for a long time, it is a jouney that somehow builds determination and strength, god bless you and the goddess too !!
    keep your chin up and stay focused hope to be able to read your new book soon.
    PS. are they ever going to make the axis etc books into a movie it would be better than tolkien
    deepest peace and brightest blessing Meg.

  36. Hey Sarah,
    bendigo had 20mls last nite….woohoo. 20 acres near eppalock but avid gardener. My uncle Jim Willis catalogued and named many Vic and Aust plants back in the day.He used to do ink drawings of his finds and I have a present for you that no one else in Aust has but I dont know where to send.Hubby had a coupleof brain tumours 18 yrs ago so we know the fight. He used to sit and listen to Jon Farnham sing You’ll Never Walk Alone..very inspirational. Positive vibes across the waters. We all owe u hours of enjoyment. Love and mwahs

  37. I hope you are doing better. I was so sorry to hear about your illness. I’ll rake for you until every little nasty leaf is gone. I love your books. I’m still working my way through them, but you have a loyal fan for life. I can’t wait til book 3 of the Darkglass Mountain series. I’m sitting on pins and needles waiting to see what happens next. Take as much time as you need. My prayers and heart are with you.

  38. Hi Sara
    I thought I had put it all behind me (bowel cancer) until two recent scares and it all comes rushing back. I now have to put it all back in order again but will go on.Every pain is scary
    Gay

  39. Hi Sara,
    I have just stumbled upon this while looking for the release date of The Infinity Gate. I have read every single one of your marvelous fantasies and am deeply moved by each of them. Your ability to weave such fanciful places and characters and to then imbue them with such very human emotions, attributes and flaws never fails to engage me totally. I am afraid I become something of a hermit when I have one of your books in my hands. I am totally transported!
    I will willingly join the Rake Squad, and I wish you well as you struggle with your illness. We will tend the garden with, and for, you.
    Connie – in Nova Scotia, Canada

  40. LIKE ALL THE WONDERFUL CHARACTERS IN YOUR BOOKS,LIGHT WILL OVERCOME DARKNESS.GO TO THAT BRIGHT
    SHINING BRIGHTNESS WITHIN YOURSELF AND BELIEVE THAT
    YOU ARE IN SOME MAGICAL PLACE TO HEAL YOURSELF.
    YOU BRING SO MUCH PLEASURE TO SO MANY PEOPLE AND WITH EVERYONE BEING THERE FOR YOU I KNOW YOU WILL
    BE POSITIVE AND STRONG. TAKE CARE AND AM LOOKING WITH GREAT ANTICIPATION TO ” THE INFINITY GATE “.
    DOROTHY GOLD COAST

  41. Hi Sara,
    I had no idea you have been unwell – like many of your readers I have discovered it from searching for infinity gate. I am currently re reading the first two books in the series and I am enjoying them just as much and falling in love with the characters as I did on the first read all over again!
    Sending my thoughts and healing energy to you whilst helping you rake.

    Amanda
    Brisbane

Leave a Reply

