• Fiona McIntosh: Voyager Author of the Month

    Fiona McIntosh was born and raised in Sussex in the UK, but also spent early childhood years in West Africa. She left a PR career in London to travel and settled in Australia in 1980. She has since roamed the world working for her own travel publishing company, which she runs with her husband. She lives in Adelaide with her husband and twin sons. Her website is at www.fionamcintosh.com.

    Her latest book, The Scrivener's Tale, is a stand-alone and takes us back to the world of Morgravia from her very first series, The Quickening:


    About The Scrivener's Tale:

    In the bookshops and cafes of present-day Paris, ex-psychologist Gabe Figaret is trying to put his shattered life back together. When another doctor, Reynard, asks him to help with a delusional female patient, Gabe is reluctant... until he meets her. At first Gabe thinks the woman, Angelina, is merely terrified of Reynard, but he quickly discovers she is not quite what she seems.

    As his relationship with Angelina deepens, Gabe's life in Paris becomes increasingly unstable. He senses a presence watching and following every move he makes, and yet he finds Angelina increasingly irresistible.

    When Angelina tells Gabe he must kill her and flee to a place she calls Morgravia, he is horrified. But then Angelina shows him that the cathedral he has dreamt about since childhood is real and exists in Morgravia.

    A special 10th Anniversary edition of her first fantasy book, Myrren's Gift, will be released in December!

     

     

Fallon Friday: The never-written sequel to the Demon Child trilogy

I have blogged at some length on why there is no sequel yet to the Demon Child trilogy. The links are below and may offer you some insight.


The reasons I write about other worlds and don’t stay in the first world I created is as follows:

I’m not a big fan of never-ending stories set in the same world.

I find them limiting and believe that as a writer, my horizons are much broader than one world or one set of characters (their children, their children’s children, their children’s children’s children… ad nauseum).

Once the story is told, a writer can very quickly grow bored and this is always reflected in the quality of the work. The best analogy I can think of is working in the same office for 20 years. The faces may change over time and you may even give the place a coat of paint every now and then and update the furniture, but essentially, at the end of the day, you’ve still been plugging away at the same job for twenty years…

I love what I do and never want to wake up in the morning thinking… God, do I have<to go back to that world today?

Hats off to writers who can do this (and some have made squillions doing it very successfully), but it’s not my thing. The challenge for me is creating new worlds and new characters. Perhaps I have a short attention span, but once a story is told, I very quickly feel the need to move on.

I have many other stories to tell.

Hundreds … nay thousands of them. Medalon, the countries surrounding it and the people who live there are only one story of many trying to get out. My head will explode if I don’t let the other characters and worlds out to play.

The publishers aren’t all that interested…

Significantly (at least if I want to keep, well, eating), my publishers have shown no raving enthusiasm for any future stories set in this world. (What I mean is – nobody is ringing me with 7 figure offers for a sequel – at least not for this series… hehehe). The Powers That Be are much more interested in the new worlds I have created. This may seem odd, but look at it from their point of view. The six books of the Hythrun Chronicles, although very, very successful, still haven’t done as well as say… the Tide Lords series, which has been a mainstream bestseller and blown all my previous records out of the water.

If you want to change their minds about this, an email campaign that crashes their server might work, but if you do that, I never suggested it, okay? LOL.

I only write stories I’m passionate about

Lastly – and perhaps most importantly – although I get regular requests from fans for more stories set in this world, before I visit it again, I’d need to have a story so worth telling it keeps me up at night.
That hasn’t happened yet, so I’ll keep working on the stories that do, and see what happens in the future.

I’m not saying there won’t be a sequel, I’m just saying that all the above factors would have to change and the stars realign significantly for me to plunge into that pool again.

Jennifer Fallon’s next book, The Chaos Crystal, will be out in December. You can read an excerpt of it on her website.

Leave a Reply

