• Fiona McIntosh: Voyager Author of the Month

    Fiona McIntosh was born and raised in Sussex in the UK, but also spent early childhood years in West Africa. She left a PR career in London to travel and settled in Australia in 1980. She has since roamed the world working for her own travel publishing company, which she runs with her husband. She lives in Adelaide with her husband and twin sons. Her website is at www.fionamcintosh.com.

    Her latest book, The Scrivener's Tale, is a stand-alone and takes us back to the world of Morgravia from her very first series, The Quickening:


    About The Scrivener's Tale:

    In the bookshops and cafes of present-day Paris, ex-psychologist Gabe Figaret is trying to put his shattered life back together. When another doctor, Reynard, asks him to help with a delusional female patient, Gabe is reluctant... until he meets her. At first Gabe thinks the woman, Angelina, is merely terrified of Reynard, but he quickly discovers she is not quite what she seems.

    As his relationship with Angelina deepens, Gabe's life in Paris becomes increasingly unstable. He senses a presence watching and following every move he makes, and yet he finds Angelina increasingly irresistible.

    When Angelina tells Gabe he must kill her and flee to a place she calls Morgravia, he is horrified. But then Angelina shows him that the cathedral he has dreamt about since childhood is real and exists in Morgravia.

    A special 10th Anniversary edition of her first fantasy book, Myrren's Gift, will be released in December!

     

     

Fallon Friday: Guns: The RULES. Yes. There are Rules.

I review movies for the ABC and I often give action movies 4 stars simply if they’d obviously hired a weapons consultant for the film who’d picked up a gun once or twice before, unlike Miami Vice where the object of the film was to see how many big holes they can blow in things. And people. Even when we weren’t using very big guns.

You see that’s my problem. I can’t stand movies where they do stupid or downright impossible things with firearms.

My problem with gun battles is that I’ve used guns. Quite a lot of them, actually. I have a cabinet full of medals I’ve won for target pistol shooting in my hall. I went pig shooting on my honeymoon. I know how to reload ammunition. I can make my own bullets. I can strip down an automatic weapon to its component parts to clean it (although I was never all the good at putting them back together again, I must confess … hehehehe). The reason we first bought a dishwasher was because it’s the best way to clean a stainless steel black powder pistol thoroughly.

And I’ve seen someone get shot. In my lounge room, actually. I even had to dig the bullet out of the floor for the cops.

So, movie makers (in fact, storytellers) of the world, if you’re going to give me gun fights, let’s establish a few ground rules:

  • If you are spraying bullets around, something you don’t want to hit, will be hit. Count on it.
  • Guns need to be reloaded when they run out of bullets if you intend to keep using them.
  • Elite target shooters are able to time releasing a shot between breaths and in some cases, between heartbeats, shooting from a very stable platform. Cop running down street, panting heavily, waving gun around shoots bad guy between the eyes? I don’t think so.
  • As for running gun battles from the backs of horses, carriages, cars, trains, planes, etc? See above comment re stable platforms and controlled heartbeats.
  • The shorter the barrel of the gun, the less accurate the weapon. Snub nose pistols are useless. A movement of mere millimetres at the end of the barrel translates into missing your target by a mile, the further away you get from the gun. It’s basic physics. Do the math.

And you can take it from me, people who get shot in the leg, do not get up again easily.

I know this for a fact. Until I threw out the rug a few years ago, I had the bloodstain on the carpet to prove it.

They certainly do not stagger to their feet, run down a flight of stairs, jump on their horse, ride fifty miles, win another gun battle, save the damsel in distress and have the energy left to “get jiggy wit it” afterwards.

I can vouch for that, too 🙂

Do not mess with Jennifer Fallon. Why? See above. But do read her books, the latest of which is The Palace of Impossible Dreams, book three of the Tide Lords quartet. The final book is due out in December.

And have a look at Jennifer’s blog. If you don’t … well, see above.

One Response

  1. You should see BBC’s PRIMEVIL. They are running around with AR16’s to shoot prehistoric monsters. So far the dinos are winning. An ld fashioned 30.06 would be more realistic for stopping power.

Leave a Reply

