• Fiona McIntosh: Voyager Author of the Month

    Fiona McIntosh was born and raised in Sussex in the UK, but also spent early childhood years in West Africa. She left a PR career in London to travel and settled in Australia in 1980. She has since roamed the world working for her own travel publishing company, which she runs with her husband. She lives in Adelaide with her husband and twin sons. Her website is at www.fionamcintosh.com.

    Her latest book, The Scrivener's Tale, is a stand-alone and takes us back to the world of Morgravia from her very first series, The Quickening:


    About The Scrivener's Tale:

    In the bookshops and cafes of present-day Paris, ex-psychologist Gabe Figaret is trying to put his shattered life back together. When another doctor, Reynard, asks him to help with a delusional female patient, Gabe is reluctant... until he meets her. At first Gabe thinks the woman, Angelina, is merely terrified of Reynard, but he quickly discovers she is not quite what she seems.

    As his relationship with Angelina deepens, Gabe's life in Paris becomes increasingly unstable. He senses a presence watching and following every move he makes, and yet he finds Angelina increasingly irresistible.

    When Angelina tells Gabe he must kill her and flee to a place she calls Morgravia, he is horrified. But then Angelina shows him that the cathedral he has dreamt about since childhood is real and exists in Morgravia.

    A special 10th Anniversary edition of her first fantasy book, Myrren's Gift, will be released in December!

     

     

Kylie Chan wraps up Gen Con

The media reported it as ‘A Massive Gathering of Geeks’ and had photos of people dressed as Star Wars imperial storm troopers and Star Trek Klingons. But for me, GenCon was more a gathering of people with imagination who want to live outside the everyday – even if it is for a short time.

The main focus of the con was for role-playing gamers, trying out the games on show. For me, it was a marvellous opportunity to meet other writers, and the people who’ve enjoyed my work.

I spent a lot of time with other Australian authors – Marianne de Pierres and Sean Williams who’ve both produced magnificent space operas recently and who were approachable, good humoured, and a lot of fun. Ian Irvine shared some of his ideas for new novels – and was cornered by many fans of his existing work. Matt Farrer shared his experiences as a writer based on a gaming universe – Warhammer 40k – and it was great fun to compare notes with him, as my son was very much into Warhammer during his teen years. (‘He played as Necrons? Cool! Those dudes are nasty!)

Queenie Chan gave me a copy of her delicious Gothic light horror manga ‘The Dreaming’, full of atmospheric images of the Australian bush as a quiet lurking menace.

For the first time, I was up the front at some seminar panels. Fortunately Sean, Marianne, Ian, and Matt were willing to help my (often tongue-tied) novice butt, but by the second or third seminar I was able to give ambitious writers of spec fic some good advice and tips on the number one topic, How To Get Published.

I wandered around, drooling on manga and anime, wishing I could buy the entire contents of the Pulp Fiction stand, and watching bemused as the Klingons ran their jail. Fans of my stories asked me all sorts of questions about them, the first and most common one being ‘When is Book Four Coming Out??!!!’

I wished I’d reserved a place in the ‘Jedi Training’ which was a bunch of people learning how to properly wield a Light Sabre. I enjoyed the roars of despair from the gamers as they lost an important point. I laughed hysterically at the entire Cosplay cast who did a “Caramell Dansen” up on the main stage. And the two young ladies dressed as Inuyasha and Sesshomaru who were carrying a sign saying ‘Will Yaoi for Pocky’ (I nearly caused a riot when I mentioned Kagome). I giggled to myself when Matt said ‘I can has…?’ in perfect lolcat during one of the seminars.

In short, it was a gathering of people like me, who are into the new, the weird, and the interesting. I had a blast and at the end, one of the organisers thanked me and said ‘You will be coming next year, won’t you?’

Damn straight I’ll be there next year. That was the first GenCon, and now they’ve shown that they can pull it off, I’m sure that next year will be better than ever.

Visit Kylie Chan’s website.

Leave a Reply

