• Fiona McIntosh: Voyager Author of the Month

    Fiona McIntosh was born and raised in Sussex in the UK, but also spent early childhood years in West Africa. She left a PR career in London to travel and settled in Australia in 1980. She has since roamed the world working for her own travel publishing company, which she runs with her husband. She lives in Adelaide with her husband and twin sons. Her website is at www.fionamcintosh.com.

    Her latest book, The Scrivener's Tale, is a stand-alone and takes us back to the world of Morgravia from her very first series, The Quickening:


    About The Scrivener's Tale:

    In the bookshops and cafes of present-day Paris, ex-psychologist Gabe Figaret is trying to put his shattered life back together. When another doctor, Reynard, asks him to help with a delusional female patient, Gabe is reluctant... until he meets her. At first Gabe thinks the woman, Angelina, is merely terrified of Reynard, but he quickly discovers she is not quite what she seems.

    As his relationship with Angelina deepens, Gabe's life in Paris becomes increasingly unstable. He senses a presence watching and following every move he makes, and yet he finds Angelina increasingly irresistible.

    When Angelina tells Gabe he must kill her and flee to a place she calls Morgravia, he is horrified. But then Angelina shows him that the cathedral he has dreamt about since childhood is real and exists in Morgravia.

    A special 10th Anniversary edition of her first fantasy book, Myrren's Gift, will be released in December!

     

     

Fallon Friday: Jennifer’s top five books (and they’re not all fantasy!)

I am often asked, what do I read, and my usual answer is: Are you kidding me? The only thing I get time to read these days is my own work, needing either proofing or editing.

 

Now, I could tell you my favourite books. I could even tell you the names of the, oh, 200-odd books I have in my “To Be Read” pile, and I can give you list of authors (rather than specific titles) you ought to try.

 

What I can’t tell you, is the last time I got to sit down and enjoy someone else’s work just for the fun of it.

 

Truth is, mostly what I read these days are non-fiction books for research. But I’m happy to tell you my top five favourite books.

 

Pillars of the Earth – Ken Follett

My children went hungry while I ignored them for three days so I could finish this book. Paid a fortune for a first edition hardcover a few years ago, too. I don’t read it, though. I save that for the second paperback copy I own. (The first paperback died of overuse)

 

To Kill a Mockingbird – Harper Lee

Oh, to be able to write about such grown-up things through the eyes of a child and still make it believable. I’d kill to be able to write this well.

 

Eye of the Tiger – Wilbur Smith

Pretty average adventure fare really, but Smith makes you fall in love with a wretched boat, of all things, and then *spoiler alert* he sinks it, halfway through the book. To this day, when I kill off a beloved character unexpectedly in my books, I think of it as “sinking the boat” and hope it has the same emotional, gut-wrenching impact on my readers.

 

Show Me a Hero – Patrick Alexander

This is a lesson in how to mess with a reader’s head. By the end of this book, you’ll be cheering for the bad guy, weeping in sympathy for the good guy when he does something unconscionably bad, and be a complete cynic about politics and protestors agitating for a better world.

 

The Handmaid’s Tale – Margaret Atwood

Sci-fi masquerading as mainstream literary fiction. Cleverly written, brilliant conceived and a very cool twist at the end. Loved every minute of it.

One Response

  1. Lists of favourite books aways fascinate me. I’ve read three of your five, and now I’m going to have to ad two more to my own ‘must read one day’ list. I like the way you explain the why of your affection for each book.

    I may leave the Follett book until my holidays, as I have a heavy reading load for uni.

Leave a Reply

