• Fiona McIntosh: Voyager Author of the Month

    Fiona McIntosh was born and raised in Sussex in the UK, but also spent early childhood years in West Africa. She left a PR career in London to travel and settled in Australia in 1980. She has since roamed the world working for her own travel publishing company, which she runs with her husband. She lives in Adelaide with her husband and twin sons. Her website is at www.fionamcintosh.com.

    Her latest book, The Scrivener's Tale, is a stand-alone and takes us back to the world of Morgravia from her very first series, The Quickening:


    About The Scrivener's Tale:

    In the bookshops and cafes of present-day Paris, ex-psychologist Gabe Figaret is trying to put his shattered life back together. When another doctor, Reynard, asks him to help with a delusional female patient, Gabe is reluctant... until he meets her. At first Gabe thinks the woman, Angelina, is merely terrified of Reynard, but he quickly discovers she is not quite what she seems.

    As his relationship with Angelina deepens, Gabe's life in Paris becomes increasingly unstable. He senses a presence watching and following every move he makes, and yet he finds Angelina increasingly irresistible.

    When Angelina tells Gabe he must kill her and flee to a place she calls Morgravia, he is horrified. But then Angelina shows him that the cathedral he has dreamt about since childhood is real and exists in Morgravia.

    A special 10th Anniversary edition of her first fantasy book, Myrren's Gift, will be released in December!

     

     

Fallon Friday: Naming the characters

Jennifer Fallon writes on how she found the names for her characters.

I am often asked where I find names for all may various characters. Usually, they’re just lying about the house, waiting for someone to pick them up. In some cases, though, they have a definite origin…

Amyrantha

Tide Lords

From the word “amaranthine” meaning unfading or everlasting.

Arkady

Tide Lords

First saw the name years ago in an article about the artist Brett Whiteley. It’s Russian, and the name of his daughter. Saved it up until I found a character it fitted

Belagren

Second Sons

Named after someone I really, really disliked. Actually, it only rhymes with their name, now. It was suggested I change it from the actual name because HC didn’t want to get sued:)

Cayal

Tide Lords

Named after a male model friend who, last I heard, was working for the Discovery Channel in London. I loved his name and told him I was planning to steal it. He didn’t mind:)

Dacendaran

Demon Child

My eldest daughter, when she was about 14, told me if she ever had a son, she was going to call him Dace. I liked the name so much I stole it off her and added another couple of syllables to make it meet the Harshini naming convention. The real live Dace was born 8 months before Medalon was first published.

Declan Hawkes

Tide Lords

His real name is Mr Perky. The name Declan came from a baby book and was picked by Stephanie Smith.

Harshini

Demon Child

Name of one of my closest friends. It’s Hindu for “always smiling”

Kentravyon

Tide Lords

Kid by the name of Kentravion went to pre-school with my grandson.

Maralyce

Tide Lords

Named after someone I signed a book for at a signing in Sale, Vic. Her mother emailed me and told me off after the book came out, because I spelt the name wrong because her daughter’s name was Maralice. Once again… nothing amazing… I just liked the name.

Marqel

Second Sons

Named after a paramedic I met once, although her name was spelt “Marcel” although it was pronounced the same. I just liked the name.

Medalon

Demon Child

I was sitting in my dining room trying to come up with a name for the country where R’shiel lived. I found myself staring at the trophy cabinet full of all the kids’ medals. Medal… Medal…on… Medalon.

Stellan

Tide Lords

Because they wouldn’t let me call him Peter.

Syrolee

Tide Lords

I think this one was a racehorse.

Wrayan

Hythrun Chronicles

There is someone named Wray in the credits of the Stargate SG1 DVDs. I stole the name and modified it because it looked better with two syllables.

My favorite story about names, though, comes from when I was writing Harshini, and found myself faced with having to name the other 7 warlords of Hythria. In keeping with the whole predator/weapon theme, I ask my son (who was about 15 at the time) and his friends to come up with some names for me. The result after several intense hours of discussion?

Lord Snapping-Turtle-Kitchen-Knife, and Lord Guinea-Pig-Baretta-32. Seriously

Not surprisingly, those names didn’t make it into the book 🙂

Jennifer Fallon

2 Responses

  1. But they’re great names!
    And almost made me laugh as hard as the reason for Stellan.

  2. Hi
    Many thanks for the insights on the character names. It’s a great mix of everyday ‘stuff’, daydreaming and a bit of good old mutation work by your imagination, to get them to fit storytelling demands. It’s also fun to read.:)

    OK, so I agree Lord Guinea-Pig-Baretta-32 wasn’t a suitable match for your earn-your-living-by-it book, but it’s so wacky in a good way that I think it deserves a place in a story of its own. As a product of group brainstorming, it’s so much more fun than a resolution to be discussed by a committee. 🙂

    cheers
    ‘Farnwyn’

Leave a Reply

