• Fiona McIntosh: Voyager Author of the Month

    Fiona McIntosh was born and raised in Sussex in the UK, but also spent early childhood years in West Africa. She left a PR career in London to travel and settled in Australia in 1980. She has since roamed the world working for her own travel publishing company, which she runs with her husband. She lives in Adelaide with her husband and twin sons. Her website is at www.fionamcintosh.com.

    Her latest book, The Scrivener's Tale, is a stand-alone and takes us back to the world of Morgravia from her very first series, The Quickening:

    About The Scrivener's Tale:

    In the bookshops and cafes of present-day Paris, ex-psychologist Gabe Figaret is trying to put his shattered life back together. When another doctor, Reynard, asks him to help with a delusional female patient, Gabe is reluctant... until he meets her. At first Gabe thinks the woman, Angelina, is merely terrified of Reynard, but he quickly discovers she is not quite what she seems.

    As his relationship with Angelina deepens, Gabe's life in Paris becomes increasingly unstable. He senses a presence watching and following every move he makes, and yet he finds Angelina increasingly irresistible.

    When Angelina tells Gabe he must kill her and flee to a place she calls Morgravia, he is horrified. But then Angelina shows him that the cathedral he has dreamt about since childhood is real and exists in Morgravia.

    A special 10th Anniversary edition of her first fantasy book, Myrren's Gift, will be released in December!



Denmark to enter the world of Percheron

Click here for an excerpt from OdalisqueIn exciting news, the Percheron trilogy has not been sold into Denmark, meaning that the series will now be available in seven languages, possibly with more to come later this year. You can read the series in French, German, Dutch, Polish, Czech, Russian and of course Danish, not to mention English. The three books that make up the Percheron trilogy are: Odalisque, Emissary and Goddess.

Author Fiona McIntosh has recently returned from a research trip into Cyprus, Greece and Turkey, amassing material that will be revealed in books 2 and 3 of her new series, Valisar. The first book of the series, Royal Exile, will be published worldwide by Harper Voyager in September this year.

For the lucky people in Shakespeare-A-Go-Go land, aka Britain, Fiona will be touring in 2009 – so keep an eye out for more info on that, later in the year. In the mean time, be prepared for some wonderful writing from Fiona on this blog, as she discusses the inspiration behind Valisar, the way she writes, her travel and research to get the world in this latest series right, and much, much more.

Click on the image of Odalisque to read an excerpt.


A Successful First Voyager Book Club

Click here to visit Karen Miller's websiteLast night we had the first ever meeting of the Voyager Book Club, and a rousing success it was!

We had the luck to actually have the author of the first book present, K E Mills, author of The Accidental Sorcerer. We started off by discussing the upcoming books in the Rogue Agent trilogy – which might give you an idea of how much everyone enjoyed The Accidental Sorcerer, as we would all like to read more.

We discuss all manner of things, from the main themes of the book (for example, the way almost all of the characters are in disguise, one way or another), to what constitutes actual ‘evil’, to the best actors to play key roles in a film version of the book!

If you’re interested in taking part in further book club sessions, please visit the message board at Voyager Online.

Thank you to Nyssa from http://aboygoesonajourney.com for providing us with a chat room to have the discussion.

AlannaFor those of you interested in reading more from K E Mills, her first series (written as Karen Miller) is called Kingmaker Kingbreaker and starts with The Innocent Mage (I couldn’t resist putting up the Spanish publication image) and ends with Innocence Lost. Her second series, The Godspeaker trilogy, begins with Empress of Mijak, continues with The Riven Kingdom and concludes with Hammer of God (which is out in June).

Visit Karen’s website for more information, or go to Voyager Online.