• Fiona McIntosh: Voyager Author of the Month

    Fiona McIntosh was born and raised in Sussex in the UK, but also spent early childhood years in West Africa. She left a PR career in London to travel and settled in Australia in 1980. She has since roamed the world working for her own travel publishing company, which she runs with her husband. She lives in Adelaide with her husband and twin sons. Her website is at www.fionamcintosh.com.

    Her latest book, The Scrivener's Tale, is a stand-alone and takes us back to the world of Morgravia from her very first series, The Quickening:


    About The Scrivener's Tale:

    In the bookshops and cafes of present-day Paris, ex-psychologist Gabe Figaret is trying to put his shattered life back together. When another doctor, Reynard, asks him to help with a delusional female patient, Gabe is reluctant... until he meets her. At first Gabe thinks the woman, Angelina, is merely terrified of Reynard, but he quickly discovers she is not quite what she seems.

    As his relationship with Angelina deepens, Gabe's life in Paris becomes increasingly unstable. He senses a presence watching and following every move he makes, and yet he finds Angelina increasingly irresistible.

    When Angelina tells Gabe he must kill her and flee to a place she calls Morgravia, he is horrified. But then Angelina shows him that the cathedral he has dreamt about since childhood is real and exists in Morgravia.

    A special 10th Anniversary edition of her first fantasy book, Myrren's Gift, will be released in December!

     

     

Fallon Friday: Managing the creative process

I think some people have a romantic notion of writers… that the only way to produce a creative work is to hire a gorgeous little cottage on the west coast of Ireland, drink copious amounts of seriously good scotch and let with story flow.

 

I wish!

 

But I have finished The Chaos Crystal, book 4 of the Tide Lords series. All that is left now is for my beta readers to come back and tell me how brilliant I am if there are any typos or plot holes I missed, so I can send it in.

 

So I’m sure you’re wondering how I manage the creative process (well, even if you aren’t, I’m going to tell you).

 

Did I hire a cottage somewhere gorgeous? No, I renovated one house and moved to another. Three days before the book was finished, I thought I’d have to move again, but this turned out just be fate playing prank on me.

 

So, I hear you ask (at least I’m assuming that’s who the voice in my head is) what sort of things did you surround yourself with to facilitate the production of this 160K word creative epic?

 

Well…

 

·      I worked full time for a goodly portion of the writing (well, I turned up to the office every day… working?… not so much.)

·      I worked on my Masters Thesis

·      I renovated a house

·      I moved house

·      I helped nurse a kitten with 2 broken legs back to health

·      I reviewed about 30 movies

·      I drove to Melbourne and back (6000 km round trip)

·      My son got married.

·      I was shortlisted for an Aurealis award

·      I had a book launch with John Rhys Davies

·      I attended three Supanova conventions

·      I babysat my grandson everyday after school

·      I wrote 60,000 words of a new series

·      I hugged the Hulk

·      I walked two 50kg dogs for an hour a day

·      Spent five days as the jury foreman on a rape trial

·      I wrote 3 short stories

·      I blogged every day

·      I delivered 4 workshops on writing and world building

·      I did a screen-writing course

·      I had a stories published in the Andromeda Spaceways Inflight Magazine and the Official Stargate Magazine

·      1 wrote a 40 page film treatment which nobody will let me call Attack of the Killer Drop Bears

·      And I didn’t lose or gain a single pound in all that time

 

 

Go figure…

 

Jennifer Fallon

 

As a beta reader, I can tell you that Jenny’s creative process is definitely working! The Chaos Crystal is amazing … and worth waiting for when it comes out in December and ends the Tide Lords quartet (or ‘Fallon Four’ as we in Voyager Headquarters are calling it).


In the mean time, click here to visit Jennifer Fallon’s website.

Leave a Reply

