• Fiona McIntosh: Voyager Author of the Month

    Fiona McIntosh was born and raised in Sussex in the UK, but also spent early childhood years in West Africa. She left a PR career in London to travel and settled in Australia in 1980. She has since roamed the world working for her own travel publishing company, which she runs with her husband. She lives in Adelaide with her husband and twin sons. Her website is at www.fionamcintosh.com.

    Her latest book, The Scrivener's Tale, is a stand-alone and takes us back to the world of Morgravia from her very first series, The Quickening:


    About The Scrivener's Tale:

    In the bookshops and cafes of present-day Paris, ex-psychologist Gabe Figaret is trying to put his shattered life back together. When another doctor, Reynard, asks him to help with a delusional female patient, Gabe is reluctant... until he meets her. At first Gabe thinks the woman, Angelina, is merely terrified of Reynard, but he quickly discovers she is not quite what she seems.

    As his relationship with Angelina deepens, Gabe's life in Paris becomes increasingly unstable. He senses a presence watching and following every move he makes, and yet he finds Angelina increasingly irresistible.

    When Angelina tells Gabe he must kill her and flee to a place she calls Morgravia, he is horrified. But then Angelina shows him that the cathedral he has dreamt about since childhood is real and exists in Morgravia.

    A special 10th Anniversary edition of her first fantasy book, Myrren's Gift, will be released in December!

     

     

Dalek-table Times at SwanCon for Bevan McGuiness

Bevan McGuiness
(pic of Bevan at left courtesy of Glenda Larke) 
It all started on Good Friday – what am I doing awake at 7 o’clock? There are so many ways this is wrong. Compounding the wrong – a shower and a shave. Wrong wrong wrong. I’ve been reading Science Fiction since I was ten (Tom Swift, Hugh Walters, Doc Smith), Fantasy since I was thirteen (Tolkien, of course), playing D&D since I was 17 and writing fantasy for something like twenty years and I have never before been to Swancon. (Shame, shame), but here I am, wending my weary way on Good Friday to the All Seasons in Perth for my first Convention. (According to Glenda Larke I have the ‘Swancon virgin’ neon light flashing on my forehead, which explains the strange looks I got from people as I walked back to my car.) What can I expect?
A scene out of Galaxy Quest?
Klingon costumes?
Light saber wielding Darth Vaders? How many yodas can fit in a hotel lobby?
With a smile and a sense of apprehension, I take my medication, grab my program and cruise off into the sunrise. (Did I mention I hate daylight saving?)
The Tardis in the foyer was a dead giveaway. Here I was amongst kindred spirits. The full size Dalek that arrived on Saturday – ‘what all Daleks want to grow up to be’ according to manic pixie – completed the fun.

And what fun it was.

Panels on cyberpunk, space opera, aliens, meeting other authors – Trudi Canavan, Glenda Larke, Karen Miller, Sean Williams, Juliet Marillier among others – meeting Stephanie Smith (finally! after years of telephone and email) and even being on a couple of panels myself followed in a kaleidoscopic experience.

The First WeaponThe best bits for me were meeting so many people, talking to fans of fantasy and science fiction, listening to fascinating conversations and getting lots of books signed. Yes I know, I’m sort of one of the authors now, happy to be on the Voyager list, but still I love to meet the people whose work I have enjoyed reading. And the convention guidelines – ‘no costumes means no costumes’ and this was the first convention I have been to with a ‘no weapons’ clause, except for replica weapons that must be ‘peace bonded at all times’.

Sigh. All the Education conferences and academic conferences I have been to and nary a costume in sight and how much more fun would they be with costumes? (not to mention the occasional weapon!!!)

And so, I headed off for my last day at Swancon, hoping for more fun – might catch some quidditch, maybe build a spaceship, and you never know, there might be a jedi knight lurking somewhere. I went to the Jedi Knight training bootcamp. And yes, more Jedi knights than you could poke a light saber at. Could anyone ask for more?

Bevan McGuiness

3 Responses

  1. Hi Mr. McGuiness:

    Any chance of your books coming out in America or the UK?

  2. Hi sbp

    if I have my way, they will most definitely be available in the Americas and UK – and after talking with Glenda Larke, in Russia too, apparently they have the coolest cover art, incorporating Star Trek at every available opportunity, I really want to see Ahanek as a Romulan!!!.

    At the moment all of the overseas publication stuff is in the hands of Harper Collins – so if you are keen, contact your friendly local publisher

    Bevan

  3. Oops! Did i say Ahanek?? I meant Shanek!!

Leave a Reply

