• Fiona McIntosh: Voyager Author of the Month

    Fiona McIntosh was born and raised in Sussex in the UK, but also spent early childhood years in West Africa. She left a PR career in London to travel and settled in Australia in 1980. She has since roamed the world working for her own travel publishing company, which she runs with her husband. She lives in Adelaide with her husband and twin sons. Her website is at www.fionamcintosh.com.

    Her latest book, The Scrivener's Tale, is a stand-alone and takes us back to the world of Morgravia from her very first series, The Quickening:


    About The Scrivener's Tale:

    In the bookshops and cafes of present-day Paris, ex-psychologist Gabe Figaret is trying to put his shattered life back together. When another doctor, Reynard, asks him to help with a delusional female patient, Gabe is reluctant... until he meets her. At first Gabe thinks the woman, Angelina, is merely terrified of Reynard, but he quickly discovers she is not quite what she seems.

    As his relationship with Angelina deepens, Gabe's life in Paris becomes increasingly unstable. He senses a presence watching and following every move he makes, and yet he finds Angelina increasingly irresistible.

    When Angelina tells Gabe he must kill her and flee to a place she calls Morgravia, he is horrified. But then Angelina shows him that the cathedral he has dreamt about since childhood is real and exists in Morgravia.

    A special 10th Anniversary edition of her first fantasy book, Myrren's Gift, will be released in December!

     

     

Sean swans through SwanCon

The ChangelingHere is an exclusive post from Sean Williams at SwanCon!

Swancon is in Perth. I have to keep reminding myself of this. The diverse accents of the international guests (Scottish, English and Canadian) go some way to explain my confusion, but it’s also because my mind is elsewhere. The wonderful Amanda is on a work trip in China, so I’ve been hearing about her adventures morning and night. Plus I’ve been receiving updates on the Philip K Dick Award, for which I was very fortunate to be nominated. Editing a novel set two million years from now probably isn’t helping, either.

As far as mindsets go, it’s a typical Swancon so far. 🙂

I arrived on the second day, which is always a tad disorienting. Friday night was a whirlwind of faces and happy meetings. It’s been five years since I was last over this way, and I’m stunned by how the kids have grown (and by the changes to Perth itself–but that’s a whole other story). Following peoples’ lives over the internet is no substitute for seeing the evidence in the flesh. My first event was a book launch: Ticonderoga’s beautiful “best of” collection, Magic Dirt, covering the highlights of my short story-writing years, which many people generously attended. Seeing volunteers from the audience mime the titles of randomly chosen stories was hilarious. Thanks to everyone for coming and supporting small press.

Saturday was a bit of a blur. The walls in the hotel are paper-thin, and cons are naturally exuberant affairs. 🙂 The day opened with another launch, but not my book this time–Pat McNamara’s amazing The Last Realm–followed by lunch with the legendary Stephanie Smith and Theresa Anns, plus some old and new friends away from the con. My panel at 2 on New Space Opera with Jonathan Strahan, Ken McLeod and Karl Schroeder passed in a haze (it’s times like these I regret not drinking coffee) and I barely managed to limp through a conversation afterwards before scurrying off to take a nap. Once upon a time, I would’ve breezed through days like this. Must be getting old.

5 o’clock was the moment I’d been waiting (and wanting to be awake) for: the HarperCollins launch of Karen Miller’s The Accidental Sorcerer and my The Changeling. A healthy crowd turned up to help us celebrate the existence of two different and challenging works for us. Mine’s a kids’ book set in the same world as my other fantasy novels, and it’s deeply rooted in my own emotional adventures as a child (particularly the things I was afraid of, so expect giant spiders). I was warmed to see so many familiar faces in the crowd. Moments like these area not just affirmations of individual books; nor is it really about individual writers and publishers. It’s about the community as a whole–and that’s why I love events like Swancon. They reinforce everything I like about this industry. The love is palpable.

Anyway, it was a wonderful moment. Thanks to everyone at HarperCollins for making it possible, from the writing all the way through to getting it onto the shelves. I’m flattered to be working with such talented people.

I’m writing this Sunday morning, with another fun day ahead. Last night’s big event (the Masquerade, at which I helped DJ for the stunningly costume-bedecked crowd) might be overshadowed by the announcement of the Ditmars tonight (another celebration of community for everyone involved). There will be more panels, more calls to China, more bonding. Somehow I have to fit in some more editing, but that’s okay. Adelaide seems a long way away at the moment, but in a very real way I’m right at home. 🙂

Sean Williams

Leave a Reply

